We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Experience - Best Sushi In Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zuma

Zuma
270 Biscayne Boulevard Way, (Epic Hotel), Miami, FL 33131
+1 305-577-0277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zuma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 3,717 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: zuma, located in the heart of downtown miami, brings chef rainer becker’s internationally acclaimed style of modern japenese cuisine to America. already renowned in london, hong kong, istanbul, and dubai, zuma miami offers a sophisticated cuisine philosophy of flavorsome, modern Japanese dishes in a fun and vibrant environment inspired by the informal dining style called izakaya. the menu is comprehensive and alluring. dishes are authentic but not traditional with bold, intense flavors and an emphasis on simple presentation acquired through quality ingredients. izakaya style means that dishes are designed to be shared at the table.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“New Year's Experience - Best Sushi In Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Made a reservation for new years in November, as I heard that this place fills up fast! We were contacted by the staff and had to fill out a form for the special new years event. There were two dining options, before or after 8pm - the latter being more expensive of the two, and there was an option to stay for the new years event as well. We decided to choose the later seating as well as stay for the new years event. We were staying at the hotel which was probably why we were even more excited to go to this restaurant. Arrived on time, had a picture taken of us but unfortunately we never received it or found out how to get hold of it. Our table wasn't ready when we got there, so we had to wait around 25 minutes to be seated. The staff made up for it though as our waiter Louis was very helpful and made the night extremely enjoyable and memorable. Service was excellent and the quality of food was top-notch. During our dessert, we were approached by one of the staff members and was asked if we could give up our table as they were waiting for us to finish to let another group sit. They offered us tickets to the new years event, but I informed them that we already paid for them when we made the reservation so there was a slight communication issue. Not to worry, as they offered to give us a ton of free drink tickets. We were almost finished anyway so I wasn't stressed and took up the offer. Overall, it was a great and memorable experience, our waiter made our night truly enjoyable! I would have given a service rating of Excellent, but due to the wait time and us having to be rushed a rating of "Very Good" will have to suffice. We will be coming back to Miami this December for new years, but we will probably try some place else for a new years event. We will definitely make a reservation for this restaurant on one of the nights we are here though!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    959
    276
    85
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SC
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“It is “The Best Sushi Place in Miami””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It is very hard to get a reservation, so try weeks in advance, especially for a weekend dinner.
You will find the highest quality food prepared in an exceptional manner presented in artfully decorated way.
My recommendation, for the first time there: try the small plates such as the cold items and the skewers. Must try fresh Sashimi/sushi such as fatty Tuna, and the specials for the day. One or two Maki Rolls are also recommended; my favorites were the Unagi Maki and the Spider roll.
Note: They will offer you the Edamame; it is not on-house, they will charge you $6… skip it (nothing special about it).
Sake wine, is preferred over the regular/grape wine… you will find selection that hard to find somewhere else.
Ambience…. Very noisy and very “Energetic”… Put on your best show off cloths (brand-names), your top jewelry and drive yourself with your best car (sport car preferred)…. It is a place to see and to be seen (It is Miami, after all). But if you are like us, going there for the food; ignore everybody and enjoy the best Miami can offer….. It is The Best Sushi Place in Miami.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pricey but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Located on the first floor of the Epic hotel on Biscayne Blvd, Zuma does not fail to immediately allure you through it's textured wood door opened by not you but by a friendly doorman. As soon as you walk inside, you enter a noisy bar and dining room. Make reservations and unless you want to not hear the person next to you speak, sit outside on the terrace. The next thing that you encounter is a menu of expensive but delicious food. At the very top of the first page are the tasting menus, a sample of their most favored dishes. The entire table must take from this though, not just for certain people. The best option is the classic tasting menu, then asking to add some other things that call your attention. Definitely add the caterpillar roll and the lobster tempura (foodgasm here). Enjoy!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becket, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A special treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A friend and I went to Zuma for lunch to celebrate our birthdays. The food, presentation, atmosphere and service were all outstanding. The Epic Hotel appears to be the new "in place" where the young, beautiful and wealthy are hanging out. There were also quite a number of business lunches on a Friday afternoon.

Our waitress explained the menu which included a business lunch special (with 2 price options) as well as the regular menu. The regular menu is the same at lunch and dinner, and I'd suggest going for lunch since it really wasn't very noisy and the bar was essentially empty.

We decided to skip the business lunch and share a number of items from the regular menu. Think of it as Japanese tapas. The food and presentation were incredible, but I have to admit that the portions were pretty small considering the price. My friend also ordered a non-alcoholic drink which was quite creative and tasty, but at $8 it was very pricey.

Our waitress and the other staff totally amazed us with their professionalism and expertise. Be careful when your check comes since they automatically added 20% onto the total. We realized this because it said "additional" under the total on our credit card receipts. However, we chose to add a bit more since we thought it was well deserved!

The people watching and open kitchen added to our enjoyment. It was also great fun to look around and see what other people were eating. Dining at Zuma is certainly an experience which we totally enjoyed. Lunch came to around $45 per person which is more that we would usually consider, but for a special occasion, we were so happy that we did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lermoos, Austria
1 review
“Good, but not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

After being a patron to Zuma Dubai and Istanbul this one does not live up to the promise.

Location is stunning and busy

Food is great, however after tasting some of the signature dishes they are not what as good as I have enjoyed in Dubai, black cod came cold-luke warm.

Service was unattentive and we have been rushed through. Some items were forgotten and we had to ask twice to refill our glasses of wine.

All in all it was ok, not more not less.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.