We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Spirit

Caribbean Spirit
401 Biscayne Blvd, Bayside Market Place and Marina, Miami, FL 33142 (Downtown)
305-744-1355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 234 Activities in Miami
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome aboard the Caribbean Spirit offering public sailing cruises and private yacht charters for individuals, small & large private & corporate groups aboard South Florida’s newest most spacious and comfortable fleet of catamarans. Sail Parasail Jetski Watersports 1/2 day Adventure pass.
Tustin, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I so wanted to like this excursion but to be honest, it was just meh. Expected the Catamaran pictured on the website,but we got a "power catamaran" (read no sail). We then pulled up to a filthy, trash ridden, little island with a catepillar tractor on it. I seriously was doubting our decision to take this trip. We moved to a little better spot to wait for the jet skis to arrive. Still lots of trash and next to a parking lot.

My two young adult sons really enjoyed their jet ski time which helped improve the mood. We did try the paddle boards and kayaks but the atmosphere was pretty dirty and not what we expected, and we wondered about the waters' cleanliness.

We did get to spend a bit of time on a pretty little island where we ate the lunch we had brought. For the $ and based on other similar experiences (Sebago in Key West), I expected more. And charging $1 for a bottle of water seemed odd, when soda was free- they did provide a free cooler with tap water and cups.

Lastly we didn't appreciate that the boat driver smoked throughout the excursion. We tried to make the most of it, enjoyed the view of the Miami skyline, and the jet skis. Definitely could use much improvement for the price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    16
    5
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Day on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hats off to the crew. Cody, Kai, and shorty are the best. What a nice experience to have that group of dolphins come right up next to the boat and swim with us. Can't wait to do this trip again.

THANKS AGAIN
Greg Martin

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Catamaran ride on the Spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

7//6 went out on my first Catamaran. Was SCARED cause a few weeks early went drift fishing and got sea sick. WELL!!!! NO seasick and HAD a BLAST!!!. Crew is extremely friendly and helpful. Left the docks and the sails went up beautiful to be gliding alond. When we parked to snorkel didn't get a noodle to float with and guess I looked sad cause one of the crew asked what was wrong. I told him no noodle to float on and said he had some hid out so I got a noddle and floated away. You can either jump off the boat or take the steps down into the water. Crew set up a trampoline and mats to play on and they supply the mask and snorkel if you don't have one. One crew member had long dreadlocks that looked so cool when the sails were up blowing in the breeze. There were a few kids running (which parents should have stopped) on board (but I was a kid years ago). Went with a group so got a discount. This catamaran is amazing, crew terrific and the view of Miami from the water Awesome, Beautiful doesn't do it justice. I've lived in Miami since 1950 and this was a BIG FIRST FOR ME...and IT WILL NOT BE THE LAST time I go out with the Spirit. Waters were choppy so snorkeling was ugh but that's mother nature. Again get some sun tan lotion, your bathing suit, bring some sandwiches (lot of people has sub way cause its right by the boat). They supply soda, peanuts & pretzels and you can purchase wine/beer. After the safety lecture grab a sit up front it fills up fast. 2 bathrooms just in case...AGAIN..book this catamaran and let me know I'll go again with you. I HAD SO MUCH FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Writing this review 2 days later and still have a smile on my face..IT WAS A BLAST!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I went on the cruise driving up from the keys on our honeymoon a few days ago. IT WAS SO MUCH FUN AND WORTH IT!!!! The cruise felt like a private charter treated like luxury by the WONDERFUL crew - Diego, Cody and Terry (Sorry Captain if I spelled your name wrong!). THANK YOU SO MUCH taking us out, taking pictures and being so relaxing and nice. We will do it again next time we are in the area!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disorganized”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The boat trip was ok but we had to wait over an hour for the jet skis to arrive at the boat for us to ride them..then we had to wait for the other guests to ride since they only had 1 jet ski available...the first island we went to was filthy with garbage and broken glass everywhere...also for the amount of money you pay they could have offered better snacks on board rather than a tub of peanuts and pretzels..there was no water trampoline park as advertised

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Spirit also viewed

 

Been to Caribbean Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.