We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Rosa - Dishonest Restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Rosa

La Rosa
4041 NW 7th st, Miami, FL
305-541-1715
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 3,717 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“La Rosa - Dishonest Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were in Miami for one night before a cruise and decided to go the La Rosa which was near our hotel.

While the food was good, we presented a "restaurant.com" certificate, which they accepted. The bill they gave us was correct, we gave them our credit card, and they came back with two separate charges put to our credit card, one of which was ours ( correct amount) and another which was another customer's bill for another amount. They admit that they screwed up and said "don't worry we voided it out". Immediately I called our credit card company who said that they should issue a refund. The restaurant refused to do so. Now I have to go through the process of disputing the unauthorized bill with my credit card company. The bogus amount they charged to our credit card was very close to the amount of the Restaurant.com certificate. I think that they really did not want to honor the certificate and found a "creative way" to turn it to their advantage. Very dishonest!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    61
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow, great Cuban food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our cab driver recommended this place to us, and we were not dissapointed! Fantastic food, great service, great athmosphere. I'd defintely eat there again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angier, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Authentic Cuban food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We didn't get a chance to eat Cuban down in Key West so we found one in Miami the last day of our trip. I had fried pork chunks with yellow rice and a salad. My husband had lamb in wine sauce. Every thing looked great! My food was awesome! The only downfall was since we were a big party, we got sat at the big table next to the piano, which was being played beautifully by a wonderful lady! But it was so loud, we couldn't hear each other at all. Other than that, place was awesome! And the piano was very charming, as was the performer!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Cuban Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Dropped by for lunch and had a delicious shredded beef house special. The food here is authentic and tasty. Service is average and not particularly noteworthy.

The lunch items and specials are a great deal. Haven't been there for dinner so I can't comment on the main menu items but they are significantly more expensive entrees usually ranging in the $22 to $37 range.

Worth a stop by if you are looking for some authentic traditional Cuban food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not sure where this rating comes from.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were all over Miami and wanted some great Cuban food so we picked the highest rated on TA. Very nice environment but everything else was average. Even the service that started out great, at the end left us waiting for a check.
I had a Cuban sandwich that was warm not hot (cheese was not melted) also a black beans and rice mix that was dry. My fiance had Palimillo steak that was huge but very tough.
I will say the lemonade was great but this place was average at best.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rosa also viewed

 

Been to La Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.