We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lummus Park Beach

Lummus Park Beach
Ocean Drive, Miami, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Beaches, Parks
Activities: People-watching, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Lummus Park Beach is a popular park & beach area in the South Beach neighborhood. It runs along Ocean Drive from about 6th to 14th streets.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a very nice beach, close to all places of attraction in South Beach, but not so busy, a lot of chairs and umbrellas to rent ($15.00 I believe). Water is turquoise and beautiful. On the days we were there, the water was shallow (below your waist-line) up to a distance of 60 feet away from the shore. Bathrooms and showers are conveniently located along the sidewalk.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    76
    18
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice beach , wonderful turqoise ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very nice beach, some places crowded
Rentals of chairs, umbrellas, etc quite expensive
Nice option is to buy a beach bag pr picnic at David's Cafe,

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Family Vacay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

It is very busy and not a family type area. There are a lot of posh type hotels and restaurants and hi end shopping. If you are single and looking for that - then it's the perfect place to visit - families - not so much. We were very disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“love it. very every time we go..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

lots to see and do. lots of food and hotels along the streets of 5th to 14th street. I love the thing that says Miami Beach and has the date on it. People usually stop there and take pics like we did. The beach is mostly full of people, visitors. There are men out there selling coconuts.. I brought one lol. it was good.Rent segways and bikes. Go on roller skates through the streets. We park and go to lummus park all the time. park and stay over in that area all day. the food is pretty expensive.. My husband and I have attended a roof top party at the Clevelander. that area is POPPIN at night. it comes alive in the night time. great place

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Lots of activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very bustling. If you're staying in the area, you could pack a pair of sneakers and run here every morning. Places to run and rent bikes. There are some volleyball nets set up too. Right along Ocean Drive, so you could hang out in the park and on the beach then had over across the street for some lunch and happy hour specials.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lummus Park Beach also viewed

 

Been to Lummus Park Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lummus Park Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.