We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 129 hotels in Miami
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quality business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel reminds me of Trump - the television in the bathroom. The TV set in the room is pretty large too, probably at least 55". Room is very spacious and the desk the contemporary - shaped like a jelly bean. They have the cool Cisco IP phones too. I had complimentary wifi as part of my room and it was adequate for streaming. Bath products are in-house brand and use lavender. Separate glass shower from bath tub; warning - shower door does leak onto the floor. Towels are not that plush though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    590
    137
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
146
217
42
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is good for business and pleasure (although better for the former). Room: Great "office" space in the rooms to work from the hotel, and great bathroom to relax.
Property: Very nice, sober, great location. The only negative is the valet entrance since you have cars coming in from a direct right turn right on the entry. The other downturn is that since they are building a lot in the area, there is a lot of traffic in the morning, so plan ahead if you have a meeting.
Staff: Omnipresent (and sometimes overwhelming, as when you are helped by 10 people in the valet to get out of the car), helpful, friendly. They will not say "no" to your requests.

Room Tip: As others have said, corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Here's a trick folks. Park at the Hyatt Regency lot directly across the street. Employees of the Wells Fargo building also park there so it's not a Hyatt only lot. $19 overnight and the JW with its $38 valet is literally across the street.

Other than that the JW is great. I'm here at the Epic tonight for a tiny bit less than the JW but it's NOT the same. The JW has rich marble and stone surfaces everywhere and not just in the lobby but in the guest bedrooms too. The JW has sexy marble and brass in the elevator and the Epic has trendy, inexpensive, backlit glass. The veneers on the nightstands and refrigerator housing are fine furniture grade. The rich carpets in the hallways, and the deeply recessed overhead cans in the rooms are really upper crust. A real wow factor in the room besides the floor to ceiling windows was the giant fixture the 50" TV was mounted on and just to the right of that the executive desk with an EXPENSIVE LED lamp. One of the first rules of interior design is having a bigger number of lower lights making an ambient glow. It's expensive to do. For instance this Epic room has one lamp between the two double beds and one lamp by the TV and another reading lamp by the chair. Three total and the one by the chair gives off horrid white light. The JW had four lights on the two nightstands, another floor lamp, an LED lamp on the desk, and three overhead cans. And if you're thinking that costs MONEY, you're correct. The price of room service was really very reasonable and didn't have an offensive number of tack ons which is good because the $12.50 pistachios in the room were tempting.

ALSO FREE INTERNET. AS IT SHOULD BE IN A GODDAMNED BUSINESS HOTEL!

Overall this place really is reminiscent of the finish quality of the Wynn. There's a difference between a nice hotel like the Epic and a really luxurious experience like the JW. This place is playing on the level of the Four seasons or Setai. It leaves Marriott bayshore, Hyatt Regency, Epic, even Mandarin Oriental in the dust. If you were wondering if I work in interior design- yes I do. I pick places apart with a deep neuroses as well as a fairly extensive background in what different surfaces, finishes and fixtures cost. SO many places try to pull fast ones and achieve first class results with less expensive stuff that's lit. But there's simply no substitute for the real thing. GO JW for pulling no punches.

Room Tip: obviously if you can get a corner the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Quick 3 day weekend. We stayed here since it was rated #1 on Trip Advisor. The hotel is fairly new and the atmosphere is great. Parking will cost you an arm and a leg but that was to be expected with any of the hotels we looked at in Miami. Our room was as clean as could be and in good repair. I've always had good luck with any Marriott hotel I've stayed in and this experience was no different. The breakfast available to hotel guests is expansive. Worth the $. The hotel is huge but the layout of the property is easy to follow. The staff was helpful but not overbearing. My fiancé and I enjoyed our trip and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here both before and after our recent cruise. Although there were a few minor things I would change (like the very loud A/C in our first room and only 2 bath towels per room), we had two great stays.

Each time we received a complimentary upgrade. The corner room with views of the Bay and River were great. We actually preferred the corner room over the beautiful and very large suite.

The hotel is beautiful and we had great service. I know we would have only had to ask for extra towels and they would have been there, but it wasn't enough of an annoyance to do so. Everyone was very helpful.

Although the lighting level was nice for looking out over the city and water at night and was romantic, if I had been staying for business, I would have wanted much more light than what was available in either room.

We had access to the concierge lounge. I didn't think the evening snacks were as nice as some other locations where I have stayed, but the breakfast was nice.

If possible get a corner water facing room. Otherwise, and waterfront room would be nice.

Room Tip: Get a corner room or at least water facing on a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary and we're definitely going back! Javier at the front desk was so nice and upgraded us to a beautiful city/ocean view room. Staff are very welcoming and nice. Bellman Omaoury (I think that's how it's spelled) was very helpful and insightful when it came to questions. They also surprised us with a "happy anniversary" card and chocolates which was a sweet surprise. Attention to small details matter and the JW Marquis does exactly that. Very comfortable and modern design. Only thing that's missing is a balcony to that amazing view.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Extremely clean, almost brand new. Comfy bed, personal computers in room, rooftop hottub was perfect for colder Miami afternoons, gym has FULL set of weights, spa waxing & facials were affordable and the best I've had in the area.
Only thing is room service food is disappointing, and all the good nearby restaurants are a $50 cab ride away

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#2 Family Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.