We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel, exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 129 hotels in Miami
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel, exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you need to go to Downtown Miami, don t hesistate staying here. Much above usual business hotel standard, v attentive service and friendly staff, efficient check in-out. The room was a corner room high up in the sky, v spacious, great views over the bay. Elegant decor, large bathroom, sep shower, TV in bath. Bed was amazingly comfortable. Coffee bar in house plus several other restaurants. A bit tricky to find even with GPS, there is another JW around the corner, so you want to be clear with your taxi driver. 15min drive to SoBe. Walking distance to AA Arena. Will come back (and no longer bother about the Mandarin)

Room Tip: corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    581
    134
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
144
217
41
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I hate hotels but JW Marriott Marquiss was absolutely beautiful. It was clean and the staff was amazing. I didn't expect to workout on the this trip but when dragged to the gym, I wasn't disappointed. The gym is beautiful. They offer refrigerated and regular towels, detox water, headphones, and fruit.Awesome!

My only issue is with valet. Although they were over the top nice, their communication could have been better. For $36/ day I would expect speedier service. Make sure you call them atleast 20 mins before you want to leave. Also we were there on a night weekend when they were having marathon, it kind of shut the valet down. The bridge is a big factor in how fast your car comes, if it;s up, expect an addittional 20 minute delay.

Don't at dinner here, too expensive for subpar food!

I will recommend the JW to everyone I talk to!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great staff made a wonderful stay in the beautiful city of Miami.... Next time I take a trip out ill be sure to chose here with comfortable bed making me sleep like a baby I would recommend this hotel to everyone


Thanks guys

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed here for work. Was given a bay view room with two beds. I usually get a king with a city view. Great view of the bay but room was a little worn. I guess the bay view is very popular. This hotel is super and has many incredible amenities like a basketball court, great pool, a db bistro in the lobby, an espresso machine in the room, high end soaps, high design decor, etc. so to see that the shower knob fell off was surprising and disappointing. An overall great stay but having set such high standards in the past, the smallest disappointment stood out.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel and the hotel staff were very friendly. However, we stayed for five days and this hotel is not designed for stays more than 2-3 days- we had three drawers that were only a foot wide (at best) to store our items- needless to say we had to leave our luggage out everywhere. No place to stow this either. The beds were quite comfortable and everything was quite clean.

I would avoid the hotel café- food was okay', very overpriced and mandatory 18% gratuity on all checks - poor service on both visits. The bar is very nice downstairs but we were there the week of New Year's and they closed at 11pm! There were 20+ people in the bar when 'last call' was given at 10:45 and we were asked to leave...???

Room Tip: Be aware on east facing upper level floors- found it unnerving that an apartment in the neighboring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavio M, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Miami, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Whyneeded,

Thank you for your descriptive and thoughtful feedback. It’s always great to hear what guests think about their experiences while here and it also helps us to improve upon the service we provide. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and we are already looking into what exactly happened and how we can further enhance those areas to better suit our guests. I hope future travel plans bring you back to our seaside city and that we can show you just how your comments have made a difference in the services we provide. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to further discuss, or to let me know when you make your way back to the JW Marriott Marquis Miami. Until then, be well!

Flavio Mello
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I am rarely speechless, but Marriott got it right with the Marquis Miami. Wow, wow. I travel quite a bit for work and prefer Marriott in general. But this Marquis deserves this title which is reserved for a high end Marriott. The New York City Marriott Marquis pales in comparison and any manager working in NYC who visits the Miami version of the Marquis brand would consider a serious overall of their sister property. So, this Marquis is relatively new and is therefore not worn or dirt; on the contrary, it sparkles. From the moment we arrived, the front desk folks welcomed us with open arms and put us into an extraordinary room with an incredible view of the city. We did have a suite, so the office area in the room as well as the expansive bathroom were just stunning. The food was high quality as was the room service. Even the small touches built into this hotel are of high quality: there is a small red light that you can turn on which can be seen in the hallway outside of your door which is a message to the staff to not knock under any circumstances. I mean, that's great, as I have been disturbed in countless hotels over the years even with the 'do not disturb' sign prominently displayed on the outside doorknob. This is the highest of quality Marriott hotel and I am already looking forward to our return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is usually my goto hotel when I have to stay in Miami. The last two trips I have been a bit disappointed.

Check in and check out is easy as usual. Getting help with you bags is sometimes a bit difficult. But I figure that this is due to inadequate staff at the time.

Room service is timely and food is good, not great.

Staff are always friendly and very helpful.

My main issue is with the linen. My sheets on the last trip had small holes and the towels are worn. Housekeeping needs to inspect the linens, if I am paying over 400US per night, I do not wish for my linen to be worn and with holes.

I would probably still stay there on my next trip to give it one more try, however if there is no improvement I may just move across the road to the Epic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavio M, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Miami, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear AsheleB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. I’m very sorry you experienced these inconveniences. Your comments are invaluable to us so we may continue to provide you with a great experience.

Please contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Waiting for your next visit,

Flavio Mello
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.