We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 131 hotels in Miami
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Outstanding hotel with exceptional service. The room we stayed in (standard 1 king bed) was large and very clean. The bathrooms were also top notch and we especially enjoyed the large bathtubs. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in downtown Miami.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    489
    112
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
118
178
35
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chappaqua, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

excellent rooms, very nice staff, perfect location.
its an easy stay and lovely hotel.

i might suggest getting one more couch in the lobby

had dinner in Daniel restaurant...also nice.
bar very nice as well

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Our stay at the JW Marriott Marquis was for just one night preceding a Caribbean Cruise. Unfortunately our room was not ready upon our arrival at noon. Because of the inconvenience, they offered to upgrade our room to one on the 31st floor and overlooking the bay. This upgrade would take even longer, however we were assured that it would be worth our wait, and it was. The room and view was amazing and the service of everyone that we encountered was top notch. That weekend the hotel was hosting both the Dallas Mavericks basketball team and the Brazilian National Soccer team. As a result there was quite a bit of commotion in the lobby, by fans seeking autographs. The location of the hotel was convenient to the cruise port, just a short cab ride away and we were within walking distance to a number of nice restaurants. We had a chance to bowl the "Virtual Bowling", which was quite a fun experience. This was not Wii bowling mind you, but regulation bowling balls thrown down an actual alley. Keep in mind this alley is only about one third as long as it should be, with the balance of the route of the ball being followed on a virtual alley (TV screen). We also had a chance to use the pool area. While a bit small for a hotel of this caliber, the pool had a stainless steel bottom and was clean and nicely heated on a windy, cooler Miami Saturday. This hotel definitely caters more toward the business class, however our stay was most comfortable, with us having plenty to keep ourselves occupied!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

First for you travel pros, platinum level, or just quick getaway type folks this place was excellent. I will admit my wife and I have been the Ritz and other Marriot properties in the area, including the other JW not too far down the road. This property had it all except a beach, but we knew that. The 15 min ride form the MIA cost us $30 which is the average cost with tip. We personally enjoyed the car service the hotel recommends (posted on their website ) Mario was our driver, ($40 including tip) and the SUV was immaculate.We arrived early and without any hesitation we were checked in, our room was ready and so was the upgrade. Suite 3726 has only a partial view of Biscayne Bay, but nevertheless the view was great. My only issue with the room was my wife taking an hour in the bathroom because the mirror had a television imbedded in it. However, I found the 24 hour access to the club and gym more than an adequate place to burn time (good equipment) , ether pool is on the 19th floor and you will be on display for the masses. The staff throughout our entire 48 hour jaunt where very attentive. Insider tips : Angelo is knows everything about anywhere. Raul makes the best cosmos in the casual dining on the premises. There are great paths for a nice 3 mile run, and within a seven minute walk there are 20 places to eat including Starbucks , lastly for you expresso and coffee fanatics, Lilly's is on the premises and is served in the club lounge as well. We really enjoyed this place and the attention to detail in the decor gave a very modern yet elegant feel. We have some friends heading next week because of our rantings...Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 3726, is a spacious corner suite, bright and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This is an extraordinary hotel. The rooms are some of the best I've ever stayed in--more of a contemporary Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. Love the television in the bathroom and the huge flat screen tv in the room. The concierge lounge is the best I've been to with just outstanding food selections, particularly in the evening. The Daniel Boulud bistro is just excellent. I look forward to returning to this outstanding hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I was absolutely amazed by this hotel, having stayed in a variety of Marriott's previously, this hotel has possibly topped my books, if not my now overall preferential hotel... my 3 night stay was incredible, perfection was an understatement.

General Hotel: Initially, the JW appears a business orientated hotel, although it is indeed categorised as a business hotel, it is still a perfectly enjoyable place to sat for families. I find that the typical business hotel is o definitely better standards than your ordinary leisure hotel.
We stayed for 3 nights as a celebration for mine and my husband's wedding anniversary, with our 10 year old sun. As it was such a special occasion, we booked ourselves into a Junior Suite, and that was possibly the most intelligent choice I have made in a while! What an outstanding room! Views that overlooked the surrounding areas and also boasted the most spectacular sights of Biscayne Bay, it was amazing to watch the sunset whilst relaxing in the 'sitting room'
The room was furnished with an unbelievably large plasma television, Ipod Docking station, huge desk and very comfortable seating. Bedroom also have a rather large TV, as well as the bathroom, that had one embedded into the mirror, I was flabbergasted!

Breakfast was delicious as well as all the other fine delicacy's offered throughout the day, parking wasn't extortionate in comparison to competing hotels. Staff were consistently excellent, all well mannered and a pleasure to have a conversation with, their politeness was extremely uplifting in the mornings.

The pool was perfect for my 2 children (husband included!), they seemed to spend the majority of the time entertaining themselves in the pool, it also partially overlooked the Bay so was a very pleasing sight.

I honestly find it incredibly challenging to find any negatives about the hotel, i would advise taking approximately 10 minutes to spare, as a waiting time for receiving your car, due to incoming guests and outgoing, the concierge service were particularly busy at this time. (2pm)

Room Tip: Request a high room for the spectacular views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I arrived at the JW Marriott Marquis and it was absolutely chaos. Obama was in town and there was a Veterans Day Parade about to start so the Marriott was very busy! As soon as we pulled in the valet person was right there to help us. Checking in was smooth as could be and we ended up being upgraded to the 33rd floor which was spectacular. The room itself was beautiful, everything was so modern! The bathroom was a delight as you can take a shower and watch tv in your vanity mirror, yes I said vanity mirror! We stood there the night before our cruise and would definitely be there again!

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor as the views are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel
Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Venere, Otel, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.