We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right off the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Seminole, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel right off the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is very nice. It is on the water and has a nice restaurant in the bottom floor. Parking is expensive and internet is not free unless you are an elite rewards member. Otherwise this property is nice and the staff is very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    144
    32
    12
    9
See reviews for
150
227
43
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've stayed at most of the Marriott chains in downtown Miami and this is very good. Definite notch up from the downtown JW. The hotel will sneak up on you when you arrive as it is right on the corner of 3rd and Biscayne and the signage is poor. The location is good however as you are 5 minutes from the highway. The finishings are great the bed was super comfortable. The view from the room was great unless you look down and see the foundation under construction next to the hotel. Housekeeping was a bit erratic but the "at your service" desk was on the ball if things were missing or not provided.

As a leisure option I would stay here, for business it would be back to the JW Downtown or the Marriott on Biscayne, which while not great is a reasonable business hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the elevator. Great as this hotel is you can hear the hum and whine of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Making the move to Brickell in Miami this weekend.. we orginally stayed here back in May 2013. Beautiful hotel with views to die for. Clean. Comfortable beds. Spacious Room. Great Service. Visiting again this weekend. Will recommend to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is quite beautiful and our view from the 21st floor was pretty, though somewhat obstructed. Due to the location of this hotel, this view will be as good as it gets I think. The room was quite spacious and beautifully decorated. Everything was spotless. We did use the pool (tough to get sun, again due to the location) which was lovely. Hot tub seemed exceptionally small for a hotel of this size, but since it was slow during our visit this didn't matter. I loved the oversized lounge chairs and read out there for a few hours. The basketball court comes with a hefty price to use, though they did kindly allow my 14 year old son use the court for about 10 minutes without charge. The gym was superb - everything you need is there. We had breakfast at the concierge level and found it to be excellent, though we did have to wait both mornings for coffee to be refilled. The service overall was outstanding. Everyone made you feel welcome and special. My only real complaint was that we were very close to the elevator and the zooming noise all night was a bit much. I would ask for a room further away next time.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators as they make a zooming noise all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Both the WiFi in the rooms and the gym are included in the cost of the room. The gym was huge with fabulous views of Miami and plenty of equipment. It is open 24 hours.

I have only good things to say about the hotel: My room was very large with a real working desk. The bathroom amenities (shampoo, etc.) were of very good quality. The elevators were incredibly fast. The staff was helpful and efficient.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Was in Town for a Coast Guard function. Stayed two nights and Loved it, Clean, plenty of dining choices in the Hotel (of which I did not have a chance to try). Staff were great. I arrived early in the AM and was checking with the Front Desk if I could leave my Luggage with them so I could walk around the City. Angelo was very helpful and then said he would get me a room as quick as he could. (I did NOT expect getting one, and I only wanted to leave my luggage) He said he would call me when one is ready. About 1 hour later as I was walking around and enjoying the sights, he called and had one ready! Nice!!
The room was beautiful, big screen TV, (didn't use it much! lol) Bathroom was CLEAN with a Shower and a FULL Tub, TV in the Bathroom mirror was cool!.
My interaction with staff during my stay was top notch. Got on elevator that contained TWO managers and was asked what THEy could do do make my stay better.
Staff from Valet Parking on up I was impressed with.

Hotel contains a Outdoor Pool and Whirlpool Spa on the 19th floor, Also a Bowling Alley, Golf Lessons and on the 20th floor is the Gym and Spa. Again CLEAN. everywhere

My only complaint is the price of Valet Parking 36 dollars a night!! But I believe its off Hotel Property so they have to pay a Garage

Room Tip: Water view rooms very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
702 helpful votes 702 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights while visiting family. Overall, was not particularly impressed and would not return.

Pros:
- good housekeeping staff - room was made up and turned down on time, with pillow chocolates.
- good 24 hour gym with a nice selection of machines, cold towels, water, and fruit and average lockers.
- tried out their spa (the massage was average), relaxing sitting area with fruit and water, as well as several kinds of hot tea
- enjoyed their dry sauna (also 24 hour, though I only used it during normal hours).
- good pool + hot tub (though no drinks, etc. service of any kind)

Cons:
- on checkout, one of the promotions that applied to part of our stay did not show up in their system and I had to show proof (my original booking) and even email it to the front desk person helping me. When I booked the hotel, I did so directly with the property and the person I spoke with said that the $50 daily credit could be applied to anything on the total bill. Lo and behold, at checkout I was told that each day's $50 could be applied only to that day's charges (*ex-room), so that if on one of the days my only extra charge was the $36 valet fee, I essentially lost the remaining $14. Eventually this was sorted out, but after a back-and-forth way longer than what I would have expected for a property such as JW Marriott Marquis.

- our room (3220) was near one of their "service" rooms and not far from the elevators. It was noisy and difficult to sleep at night. There was no real "view" despite being on a high floor.

- the actual design of the room was inconvenient - with a transparent bathroom door (though you could not see inside for example, it was impossible for one person to use the restroom at night without the light disturbing the other. For the same reason, not convenient to have a totally open/door-less toilet within the bathroom.

- would have been nice to have a normal mini-fridge rather than a sensor-equipped fully stocked minibar full of useless and really expensive items.

- breakfast (not included in the rate) was a total let-down. The "full buffet" for $25 pp had what you'd expect to see at a much lower grade hotel - a bunch of grocery store case looking breads and pastries, a very limited selection of yogurts and fruit, some hot dishes. Definitely not worth the price (and neither is the $16 pp "continental" version of same). We had breakfast at the hotel once, just because we were tired (having flown in from Europe) and did not feel like looking around in the area. We ordered a-la carte. The food was fine (though some of the raspberries in my yogurt had mold), but way too pricey for what it was.

- valet parking is $36 a day and our rental was damaged near the key-hole. Not saying this was done by one of the valets, but we didn't really leave the vehicle anywhere else for any real length of time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.