We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended, but watch out for elevator noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Miami
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“recommended, but watch out for elevator noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Pros: Nice, new hotel with nice views of water to south or city to north. Large rooms, new carpet, TV in bathroom mirror ... I liked most everything about my room, in fact. Super polite staff. Easy to get to from airport - take MetroRail ($2) to Government Central and MetroMover (free) to Knight Center. But you're staying at a Marriott Marquis, so saving $70 on the taxi from the airport probably isn't an issue.

Cons: Elevator noise. My room was half way down the hall between the elevator and the far end of the hotel and - OMG - the whirring sound of the elevator was constant. Even with my heavy-duty ear plugs, which effectively blocked the sound of the TV in the room next door and the gal gabbing on the phone for hours on end, also next door. Neighborhood around the hotel is sometimes posh (around) highrise apartments, sometimes seedy (most everywhere else). But it's downtown Miami, so what do you expect? ;-)

Room Tip: All the way down the hall, as far from the elevators as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    161
    35
    13
    12
See reviews for
174
252
46
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is nice, but is NOT JW quality. I've been to almost every JW Hotel in the US, and a few over sea's, and I LOVE them all. This one came up short.

The Cons:
I was here for 3 days on business during game 1 and 2 of the Heat Finals (I'm a bulls fan!). So i knew the hotel was going to be busy, but that is no excuse to wait for over an hour for my car to get pulled up.

Later that day pulled up to valet and tipped him 100 bucks and asked him to make my car a priority when I request it again later that night. So again when I requested my car I waited over 30 minutes for it to pull up.

I left some items in the car the next day, I asked to have it pulled up so i can retrieve them, after waiting for so long i asked if i can get them delivered to the room, i stayed up for over and hour and made 2 phone calls and was assured it would be right up. My items never came... I am not to mad about my stolen/lost items for could buy them again, I'm more upset about the fact that i lost sleep and time waiting up for my items.

The next day i called valet an hour in advance and when i went down it was parked on the side for me.

TIP: if you want your car, make sure you call way in advance.

Concierge was horrible, they could not answer ANY of my questions. My wife wanted to catch some sun while in the hotel pool, but because of the way the hotel is positioned the sun only shines over the pool for 3 hours a day. When i asked when the sun will be over the pool, his response was "its very cloudy out today, and there wont be any sun." I re-framed my question and asked "when is the sun going to be directly over the hotel," he responded by saying, "At this time of the year the sun does not shine bright, its a bad forecast this weekend." We eventually got our answer as i walked up to the pool and looked at the sun myself to see when it would rise over the hotel.

Also there are WAY to many "managers" working the front desk, everyone i spoke with said they were the managers.

TIP: The answer to my question is between 11:30-3pm the sun is directly over the hotel, best time to take a dip in the pool

We stayed in one night and ordered room service, I ordered the Steak and my wife ordered the Pork Chop, it was the WORST meal i EVER had! I mean WTF! i wanted to go down stairs and they my plate at the chef... who the F cooks like that!??? at a JW? really??

PROS: They DO try to be as polite as possible which i enjoyed.

Sarina at the front desk was amazing! We LOVED her, she took care of everything she could, and made our stay more enjoyable. If it wasn't for her we would have ended our stay sooner. She was polite and friendly and i am pleased to have met her. She helped give us a free meal for the hotel (Valet) losing our stuff. What was gone from the car was well over the cost of the food, but it was nice for her to do that.

Also,

Marisol the guest service/room service attendant was GREAT! She was always willing to send up what ever we needed, and always had a smile on her face. One time their wasnt any mouth wash so she ventured off to find us some! she is the BEST!


Over all stay at the hotel for the views and location, but done expect much else.

Room Tip: To have a great vacation, stay at another hotel. Unless you do not plan on asking for anything, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have stayed at hotels all over the country and the world, and this is ahnds down one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. When you pull up, you are greeted by friendly hotel staff who will gladly take your bags and assist you. The front desk agent was exceedingly polite and was able to answer all our questions. The elevators and lobby are exquisite and the elevator ride is smooth, and also has CNN to watch on your possible long way up (41 floors). The rooms are huge. The overpriced minibar is a true scam, which was the only downside. BEWARE: The snacks are on a pressure plate, so don't pick anything up or you will be charged! The beds are cozy and comfortable and have big, clean sheets. The room is modern, sleek and state-of-the-art. It comes with personal computer, a 70 inch flatscreen TV, a TV in the bathroom and an espresso machine. There is an inroom safe, robes, and a scale, to make you feel right at home. To quote Seinfeld, "Theres a phone in the john here!" This hotel is pretty expensive, but if you can, stay here. It is worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the first time at the Marriott Marquis in downtown Miami. The checkin procedure was fast and very efficient. The room was well appointed and ample, with a large sitting area and a confortable desk, it included free wireless internet. We stayed at "concierge level room" with a beautiful view of Miami River and the Bay. The room included the use of the concierge level lounge which provided a complementary full buffet breakfast in the morning and between 5:00 and 7:30 pm hot and cold d'ouvres and beverages.
The ground floor has a Daniel Boloud restaurant which is quite good.

Room Tip: Get a concierge level room with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Not on water, but great for business. Very well appointed. Staff extremely helpful. Room clean and well appointed. Would clearly return if on another business trip. Pool extremely nice -- room service delivers to pool -- a little slow but worth the wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night prior to embarkation on a Regent Seven Seas cruise but was hugely impressed. Room was palatial and the bathroom incredible. Breakfast was superb - of British quality rather than the sometimes indifferent American offering. Staff at all levels could not have been more helpful. If we are ever in Miami again, this is where we will stay - hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. I stayed there for 4 nights while attending a conference.
Staff: very friendly and helpful
Room: I was upgraded to a suite which featured a nice living area and desk with computer and separate bedroom. It was modern and spacious. The bathroom was huge with double sinks and separate bath and shower. There was even a TV seamlessly embedded into the bathroom mirror!
Internet: Complimentary! This was a nice surprise as so many hotels charge extra.
Spa and gym facilities: I didn't use any of the spa services, but the gym was great. They even have a 2-lane bowling alley!
Conference facilities: My only complaint is that the rooms were freezing cold. Everyone was wearing scarves, sweaters and jackets.
Overall, this is a very well-appointed, clean and comfortable hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#5 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.