We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily a 6-star hotel in the heart of Miami!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Easily a 6-star hotel in the heart of Miami!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at hotels all over the country and the world, and this is ahnds down one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. When you pull up, you are greeted by friendly hotel staff who will gladly take your bags and assist you. The front desk agent was exceedingly polite and was able to answer all our questions. The elevators and lobby are exquisite and the elevator ride is smooth, and also has CNN to watch on your possible long way up (41 floors). The rooms are huge. The overpriced minibar is a true scam, which was the only downside. BEWARE: The snacks are on a pressure plate, so don't pick anything up or you will be charged! The beds are cozy and comfortable and have big, clean sheets. The room is modern, sleek and state-of-the-art. It comes with personal computer, a 70 inch flatscreen TV, a TV in the bathroom and an espresso machine. There is an inroom safe, robes, and a scale, to make you feel right at home. To quote Seinfeld, "Theres a phone in the john here!" This hotel is pretty expensive, but if you can, stay here. It is worth every penny!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    199
    44
    17
    13
See reviews for
215
311
54
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the first time at the Marriott Marquis in downtown Miami. The checkin procedure was fast and very efficient. The room was well appointed and ample, with a large sitting area and a confortable desk, it included free wireless internet. We stayed at "concierge level room" with a beautiful view of Miami River and the Bay. The room included the use of the concierge level lounge which provided a complementary full buffet breakfast in the morning and between 5:00 and 7:30 pm hot and cold d'ouvres and beverages.
The ground floor has a Daniel Boloud restaurant which is quite good.

Room Tip: Get a concierge level room with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Not on water, but great for business. Very well appointed. Staff extremely helpful. Room clean and well appointed. Would clearly return if on another business trip. Pool extremely nice -- room service delivers to pool -- a little slow but worth the wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night prior to embarkation on a Regent Seven Seas cruise but was hugely impressed. Room was palatial and the bathroom incredible. Breakfast was superb - of British quality rather than the sometimes indifferent American offering. Staff at all levels could not have been more helpful. If we are ever in Miami again, this is where we will stay - hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. I stayed there for 4 nights while attending a conference.
Staff: very friendly and helpful
Room: I was upgraded to a suite which featured a nice living area and desk with computer and separate bedroom. It was modern and spacious. The bathroom was huge with double sinks and separate bath and shower. There was even a TV seamlessly embedded into the bathroom mirror!
Internet: Complimentary! This was a nice surprise as so many hotels charge extra.
Spa and gym facilities: I didn't use any of the spa services, but the gym was great. They even have a 2-lane bowling alley!
Conference facilities: My only complaint is that the rooms were freezing cold. Everyone was wearing scarves, sweaters and jackets.
Overall, this is a very well-appointed, clean and comfortable hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Note: I am writing this review directly after checkout. After reading all the rave reviews about the Marriot Marquis Miami, my husband and I decided to stay one night during a quick visit to Miami; We stayed the night of June 2nd and checked out June 3rd. I will start by saying that we felt very welcomed upon our arrival. As we exited the car and entered the hotel, everyone said hello and opened the car and lobby doors. The front desk staff was friendly and check in was very efficient. We were placed in beautiful king room on the 41st floor (very top floor), that had high ceilings. Although the room was beautiful, we reserved and paid extra for a room with a view of the bay. After notifying the front desk of their mistake, they quickly changed our room to a room on the 37th floor-room 3723. Felipe, the bellman, was very accommodating and helped move our items to the new room and showed us how to use the modern espresso machine.

The one negative experience during our stay, aside from having to change rooms, was the fact that we booked a concierge level room that included access to the concierge lounge, but the front desk clerk did not want to allow us access to the lounge. He offered to add it to our room rate for an additional $50+ dollars per night. Luckily, I had a printout of my confirmation information and showed the front desk representative the rate rules. Even after showing him my confirmation information, instead of apologizing, he acted as though he was doing us a favor by allowing us to access the lounge. We booked our room directly through the Marriott’s website at a rate of $344.00 per night. One other minor incident was that we were incorrectly charged $7.00 for a bottle of water that we did not drink; Motaz at the front desk removed the charge without reservation. I would be remiss not to mention how customer friendly Motaz was. On several occasions he asked if everything was okay with our stay and was overall friendly and professional. We got a special treat during checkout b/c the Indiana Pacers were checking in and we got to see the entire team.

Minus the minor mishaps, the friendly support staff, modern & clean rooms, and the outstanding bay view made our stay worthwhile. My only recommendation would be that the front desk pay attention to the details of the reservation to avoid unnecessary room changes and confusion.

Room Tip: If you want a great view, request a bay view room on the right side of the elevator. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I think this is the most modern hotel I have stayed in to date. The IP phones, televisions in the bathrooms mirrors, and big desk were very nice. Bed was very comfortable. Room had plenty of floor space, closet space and walk around space. Bathroom was a highlight, which has been my pleasant experience at the three JW Marriott hotels I have stayed in. This one had a golden brown marble or some kind of stone as the main color--very nice. Big bathtub, separate shower, Aromatherapy products.
The "beyond the expected" at this hotel for me were these things: The gym was better than many regular membership gyms. Little touches like lime water and orange water and lemon water were good. Also, plenty of hand towels for sweat and moist towelettes for wiping gym equipment. Gym was also spotless. There were more free weights by far than the typical hotel gym. Pool was a good size and had both sun and shade areas in the morning.
Front desk staff and valets were superb.
The breakfast buffet was standard for high end hotel--everything that should be hot was hot, cold things were cold and egg dishes were cooked to order.
Only one downside during this hotel visit: The causal restaurant in the hotel, Met Cafe and Bar, had mediocre food. Fortunately their service was good.
We liked the color pallet used in this hotel quite a lot. The cool tans, golds and browns were soothing, comfortable and atypical for Miami which is in my experience, bright whites, tropical colors and more bling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.