We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and atypical Miami hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 129 Hotels in Miami
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern and atypical Miami hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I think this is the most modern hotel I have stayed in to date. The IP phones, televisions in the bathrooms mirrors, and big desk were very nice. Bed was very comfortable. Room had plenty of floor space, closet space and walk around space. Bathroom was a highlight, which has been my pleasant experience at the three JW Marriott hotels I have stayed in. This one had a golden brown marble or some kind of stone as the main color--very nice. Big bathtub, separate shower, Aromatherapy products.
The "beyond the expected" at this hotel for me were these things: The gym was better than many regular membership gyms. Little touches like lime water and orange water and lemon water were good. Also, plenty of hand towels for sweat and moist towelettes for wiping gym equipment. Gym was also spotless. There were more free weights by far than the typical hotel gym. Pool was a good size and had both sun and shade areas in the morning.
Front desk staff and valets were superb.
The breakfast buffet was standard for high end hotel--everything that should be hot was hot, cold things were cold and egg dishes were cooked to order.
Only one downside during this hotel visit: The causal restaurant in the hotel, Met Cafe and Bar, had mediocre food. Fortunately their service was good.
We liked the color pallet used in this hotel quite a lot. The cool tans, golds and browns were soothing, comfortable and atypical for Miami which is in my experience, bright whites, tropical colors and more bling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    144
    32
    12
    9
See reviews for
150
228
43
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed overnight prior to embarking on a cruise and found everything to be as expected from this standard of hotel. It was close to the Miami Cruise Port, rooms were large with a large bathroom (with integral TV), free internet and our room had two large double beds. Breakfast was a reasonably extensive buffet with a cooking station for eggs and omlettes etc. If you were staying longer and wanted to see more of Miami it's close to the Metromover which connects with the Metrorail.
All-in-all an enjoyable stay in a first class hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I've stayed in a good amount of hotels in Miami. This by far is the BEST!!! While it isn't on the infamous south beach, it is downtown which is close enough. This hotel is beautiful. The service, magnificent. Check in was very fast and efficient. Orlando was our concierge when we checked in and he was excellent. They call to Make sure that everything is as expected and to find out if there is anything else they can get for you. The staff is always attentive, pleasant, courteous, and helpful. The rooms are clean and high tech.

I have nothing but praises for this hotel and their staff. If I could give them 6 stars I would. And I felt that way from the moment I stepped through the doors.

This is the new go to hotel to stay in. Unless I could get into the Beaux hotel located in this one!!!

6 stars and complete praises!!

You must stay here!! Forget the beach!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My view was fabulous but the accommodations were even better. I had a good size room with a lush bed and linens, bathroom designed with a tv incorporated into the vanity mirror..... very chic and functional. I did utilize the large U shape desk with full size computer with complimentary Internet service. The storage space was amazing with all the amenities were first class!!! This was beyond a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. We eloped to Miami. This hotel was remarkable. Concierge Andre was great. We asked and he accommodated. The remaining staff was friendly and helpful but maintained a professional appearance reserved for this luxury hotel. We could not have been happier with our decision to stay here. Thank you JW Marquis.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
241 hotel reviews
Reviews in 252 cities Reviews in 252 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous and modern!! The front desk staff were impeccable and friendly. I had reserved a regular room and was upgraded to a suite that had over 1,000 square feet that included a sitting area, bedroom and luxury bathroom plus a half bath off the sitting room. There were three TVs and one was set into the bathroom mirror. The bathroom had a walk in shower separate from the tub and the shower doors were 1/2 inch thick. The toilet was next to the shower and it also had a glass door although that door was opaque. The tub included a tray to lay your book on if you chose to read in the tub and there was also a tub pillow available for relaxing.

The bed was luxurious and very nicely appointed and the decorations throughout the bedroom and sitting area were impeccable. We had a city view but were so high up that we were surrounded by other sky scrapers - very impressive view. There were power shades in the bathroom for privacy if needed and gentle pulls for the drapes in the other rooms.

The concierge lounge is open 24 hours a day seven days a week. Evening options were limited but tasty. Breakfast was decent and the coffee absolutely fabulous - probably some of the best I have ever had. They have an espresso, cappuccino, cafe mocha,coffee machine that served the delicious coffee. I forgot the brand but I will know it when I see it again - all I recall was that it was Italian coffee.

If you are fortunate enough to stay here on a government rate and have Marriott platinum elite status than you might be treated to a very inexpensive, fabulous room and stay. I don't know what type of room I'd have gotten without my status but I can say I was very impressed with what I received because of it.

The bell staff were super as they provided information about the best way to get to the cruise port and they hailed a cab for us.

One last note - this is the first U.S. hotel that I have stayed in where the room lights are controlled by placing your room key in a slot near the door. Doing this ensures that the lights stay off when nobody is in the room. You see this energy efficient feature in many European hotels but I have never seen it in a hotel in the U.S. That is, until now. Good job Marriott!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

As previous reviews stated, this is a top flight hotel in a great location downtown. Spacious rooms with nice views of the bay. Very helpful service from valet to front desk to housekeeping.

Only negatives (minor) were hearing elevator noise inside the room (avoid rooms in middle of floor) and the overpriced breakfast buffet. A nice buffet, but not nearly worth the $25+ price. Cell service (AT&T and Sprint) was virtually non-existent on the 23rd floor, but I don't know if that is due to all the tall buildings in the area or the providers themselves.

Room Tip: To avoid elevator noise, ask for a room at either end of the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;