We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown hotel with great ocean view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 129 hotels in Miami
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Downtown hotel with great ocean view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here for the week on business. The room was very spacious, with outstanding amenities. The bath had a separate shower and tub, marble floors, tv in the mirror, etc. Floor to ceiling windows provided a great view of the ocean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Concierge lounge was well stocked and provided a full breakfast. Well worth the extra price.

Room Tip: And for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    594
    138
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
148
218
42
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night pre-cruise stay.

The staff were all very helpful. I was provided with a luxury room that had french doors opening up outside to the pool area which was delightful. Wifi facility and TV was exceptionally good.

There is really good food establishments nearby.

A free bus service is available across the street. I used it to visit Bayside shopping area which is a must for that outdoor latino vibe going on.

I would recommend this hotel as a good precruise choice. There is no beach nearby but that was'nt a big issue for me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The first time I stayed at the JW Marriott Marquis was for business in Miami. I had chosen it because it was within walking distance of the location where I was working for the week. I was so glad I chose this hotel. It's gorgeous! The rooms are gorgeous with polished wood, marble, floor to ceiling windows and the largest televisions I've ever seen in a hotel room. I had a room overlooking Biscayne Bay, which was very nice. The rooms also have computers on the desk with internet access so you don't have to worry about bringing your own computer with you if you need to check email, etc. The bathroom has a television built in behind the glass of the mirror, which is really unique and you are provided with a waterproof remote control so you can change the channel from your bathtub or shower. This hotel is located in what would be considered the Financial District but it is a short walk to Bay Walk where there are loads of shops and restaurants, the American Airlines Arena if you are in town for a game or concert, and many other shopping and dining areas. During my second visit, which was for pleasure, I stayed in a suite which was unbelievably spacious and beautiful! There bathroom was almost the size of a hotel room in itself with a huge tub along the floor to ceiling windows that had automated privacy shades. We have stayed several times since and have never been disappointed in this hotel. I saw someone else's review where they said their air conditioning didn't work and they had trouble with room service but I've never had any issues and I'm sure that if that traveler had contacted the front desk to advise them of the situation with the air conditioning they would have either fixed it immediately or moved them to another room. I have always found the staff at the JW Marriott Marquis to be very accommodating and responsive. This is our new go to hotel in Miami.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I will start off by saying that my room was so large, comfortable and modern and my view so breathtaking that I didn't want to leave. If I could visit every weekend, I would. The front desk and valet staff were very friendly. Location was convenient. I walked downtown to Marshalls, Starbucks (@ the intercontinental), and CVS and I took the metro mover to Brickell Village. The hotel was busy and had amenities, but people didn't seem to hang out and enjoy them. I guess the hotel lacked energy? If you are looking for a great restaurant or just a great cocktail, try Zuma in the hotel directly across the street. The Sunday brunch is great, also.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

rooms are excellent without air conditioner - its doesn't work...
excellent view
excellent room service without food... its very poor room service! nothing for eat....
the restaurant Bistro Modern , I wait more than 1 hour without service... the Sport Bar in the second floor save may stomach with excellent service!!
The restaurant in the second floor was closed!!!!!
If its possible, change the place. No restaurants by walk distance to the Hotel!
The Internet is good and complimentary and the reception desk is very good , but the Concierge never is in the your place , and never attend you!!!!! Poor service!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

What an experience!! We were booked into the Marriott Marquis, already a very nice hotel, and noticed a sign Beaux Arts on the elevator..what's that?? would you like to see?? Of course ....an ultra modern part of the regular Marquis, three floors of splendor..we got a suite with bay views, 1.5 baths, Bang & Olufsen entertainment system, ipad for placing orders (and charger) gorgeous living room, HUGE bedroom and bathroom, the ultimate hotel anywhere. We were told Marriott is using Beaux Arts as a prototype, and we say, make more hotels like this.!!

We would sit and work, included an area with espresso machine, refrigerator full of goodies, sink, glasses, and cups. Coffee was free too. The furniture is white leather, comfortable and sleek.
We would watch the cruise ships come in an out frequently, plus other large boats and tugs, the harbor was always busy!

Breakfast every morning included, salmon with bagels, prosciutto, even prosecco for mismosas!! Eggs, cheeses, very elegant service and food. In the afternoon hors d'oeuvres and wine served, all included!! Coffee, tea, etc served all day at no extra cost! and the dining room is overlooking Miami Bay..

The sheets, the bed itself was a dream...the only slight drawback not a lot of closet space..but everything else was incredible..if you are travelling to Miami, this is definitely the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay in downtown Miami - luxury rooms with floor to ceiling windows, lovely bathrooms with a TV built into the bathroom mirror. We stayed on the 30th floor in Room 3003 which gave us an amazing views of Biscayne Bay. The staff were truly wonderful and went out of the way to help with city tours, restaurants, etc. We would definitely stay here again if staying in downtown Miami.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.