We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel with Luxury Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 130 hotels in Miami
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel with Luxury Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Thanks to commendable customer service at booking.com, we were transferred to JW Marriot when a previous reservation in another location went wrong. More impressive than anything else at JW Marriot are the rooms. From a big-screen TV, to an espresso machine and a desktop computer in the room, to a small TV and an anti-fog mirror for shaving in your bathroom, the designers of the rooms have been generous with their design. Not so common for many luxury hotels, this hotel also offers free wi-fi. The lobby is not so impressive but the hotel also have a bowling room with semi-virtual lanes (25$ per hour), a big basketball court and needless to say a swimming pool and spa. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and ordered in-room dinner but the quality was not as great as one expect at a luxury hotel. Last not but least, you should note that this hotel only has valet parking and it takes about 20 minutes to get your car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    568
    128
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
136
215
39
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here recently and was pleasantly surprised with the hotel and staff. My room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. I did some sightseeing and the staff actually knew the area quite well and gave me some helpful advice. The breakfast buffet was good and the hotel bar ok, but expensive. It is easy to walk to nearby bars, cafes and restaurants as well as a few local shops. The airport is about 30 mins from the hotel by taxi. A good place in a good location for a few days in Miami.

Room Tip: The best views are the highest ones on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love this hotel and its hip factor is very very high! It's my first choice in downtown Miami.

The rooms are a great modern design and very functional. The view of the water from our room was stunning.

But the real surprise is the golf school and the bowling alley! We bowled a few games just for a treat.

Restaurant downstairs is fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Came here for a quick shopping trip in Miami with my fiancé and was blown away the room was beautiful and very swanky. The bed was great but the bathroom even better. I absolutely loved getting ready in the bathroom and having bubble baths watching movies in the mirror. Although the hotel is gorgeous if this is your first time to Miami this is not the hotel for you. If I had to give any cons it would surely be the lengthy time of getting the car but the valet guys were nice so I guess that made up for it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here over New Year 2013 with my two teenage sons and we got an amazing deal on two adjoining rooms on the mid-hotel floors. The hotel was busy and for the first couple of days we could hear other families with younger (noisier) kids in the adjacent room. After that no more problems with noisy neighbours. The view was out to the harbour and this hotel is is such a great location for a city stay. We didn't mind taking taxis to get to the beach or to visit places and we did use the Metro rail to move around a bit as well. We had breakfast at the hotel on our first morning and didn't repeat the experience. Food was tasteless and not well presented and the scope and choice was really uninspiring - and as we didn't have it included in our package we found much nicer deals in the neighbourhood so we were happy about that.
Crazy car valet area with masses of staff hanging out and a bit awkward when three jump in to open your cab doors! Who do you tip?

The hotel pool was glorious in the early mornings until around 11.30am when the sun disappeared behind the other high rise buildings but very relaxing for an early morning swim and sunbathe with good bar service later in the day too. The basket ball court was the pull for us as I have a basketball nut for a son and although it was touch and go whether we could use it on his birthday, we did manage to book it and had a lot of fun for 45 minutes. It would have been a nice gesture for the hotel to have made a fuss of my son as it was a celebratory trip for his 18th birthday - they promised to do something nice but in the end they had to be reminded three times and the result was a one-person desert sent up to our room!

A nice comfortable safe stay but lacked the luxury or attention to detail for clients like us - the concierge service was very helpful though and remembered our names throughout. I don't know what the profile of their normal client is but we stayed there for 10 nights so I felt like we could have been made to feel a little more valued. Other than this vague feeling, a very reasonable hotel and a nice experience.

Room Tip: Not sure if you can request rooms higher up the tower but the view from the wall-to-ceiling windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munfordville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed with two friends on the 28th floor with spectacular views of the bay. One of my friends was in classes all day and needed an early breakfast. In 5 days there was never a room service form. None of the maids spoke English. They tried hard but many things were never done. The sheets were changed only after I piled them on the floor.
Front lobby staff and the bellhops were friendly and helpful.
I would not stay here again because I expect a higher level of service for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recently spent four days for a conference. This is an outstanding hotel in downtown Miami. I don't know why you would stay anywhere else for business or pleasure. Rooms are large, modern and comfortable. Excellent work space with fast, free wi-fi. Beds are very comfortable and rooms include large wall mounted TV. Nice bathroom with separate large bath and shower, with another TV inside the mirror. Very nice views. Service and food was solid. Only weak point was coffee, not too terrific, but drinkable. In summary, if you need to be in this location for business, pleasure or to catch your cruise ship, and the price fits your budget, then stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.