We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 130 hotels in Miami
Munfordville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed with two friends on the 28th floor with spectacular views of the bay. One of my friends was in classes all day and needed an early breakfast. In 5 days there was never a room service form. None of the maids spoke English. They tried hard but many things were never done. The sheets were changed only after I piled them on the floor.
Front lobby staff and the bellhops were friendly and helpful.
I would not stay here again because I expect a higher level of service for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    558
    127
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
133
210
39
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recently spent four days for a conference. This is an outstanding hotel in downtown Miami. I don't know why you would stay anywhere else for business or pleasure. Rooms are large, modern and comfortable. Excellent work space with fast, free wi-fi. Beds are very comfortable and rooms include large wall mounted TV. Nice bathroom with separate large bath and shower, with another TV inside the mirror. Very nice views. Service and food was solid. Only weak point was coffee, not too terrific, but drinkable. In summary, if you need to be in this location for business, pleasure or to catch your cruise ship, and the price fits your budget, then stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Super room, very well appointed. Staff, including Valentina at the front desk were well trained, sincere and delivered personal service. The hotel is very convenient to all downtown events.
The HD tv, in room PC, free wireless was great. Valet parking is expensive and slow, a hazard of a city location.

Room Tip: Use concierge level Bayview for a terrific view of Biscayne Bay and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is absolutely lovely. The rooms and beds in particular are the best. The rooms are set up with a computer and small office set up. Huge bathtub, awesome soft carpet and huge tv.

The staff are hard working and very nice.

We stayed here on our Marriott points - a good place to spend them ;)

Only thing that I thought was okay not great was breakfast - low selection and not that of a 5 star.

Tip - if you want to save money stay at the Hyatt across the street. Not as nice but still quite good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel rooms were beautifully furnished with every luxury you would expect from a top end hotel. Beautiful views and great food rounded out the experience. I would definitely return for a work meeting in Miami. Probably not the best local if you are vacationing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Although I did not stay in this Hotel, I had the opportunity to spend the day with some friend that where. I took advantage of the invitation get away, relax and spend the day in good company. I was very impressed with energy of this Hotel. The whole place has a great vibe to it. Staff was friendly, hotel was clean and my friend's room was beautiful with some amazing views. My husband accompanied me during the morning for a couple's massage. Not only was the couples massage room spacious, and relaxing but I received from my therapist the best deep tissue massage I've ever had!!! They also have this really great tea (I had never seen the brand before) in their lounge area, . Since I live in Miami year-round, I didn't have a need to lay out on the beach, but did spend some time at the pool. The pool deck is very nice and modern. We finished the day by having dinner at a local ceviche place which was walking distance from the Hotel. I really enjoyed my day here and will definetely be recommending this hotel to family and friend that plan to visit Miami.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel after returning from a cruise. This is a new hotel, and it shows. We had a room on a high floor (27) with a nice view of the bay. The room was very spacious and very comfortable. There was a big HDTV (over 42 inches) across from the bed, and there was a TV in the bathroom mirror! The bathroom had a full tub as well as a separate stand-up shower with two showerheads. The room also had a keyboard and terminal with internet access to use in case you didn't bring your computer. It was a little slow, so we used our PC with the ethernet cable that was provided.

The gym was really nice. All modern equipment and very clean. We had a great workout. We also took a tour of the spa, but it was very pricey, and the staff had an attitude.

The pool area was nice, but we were there on a chilly day. In the winter months, it appears that high rises block the sun from the pool area for much of the day.

The food in the restaurant (345, I think) for breakfast was very good, but the service was pretty bad (very slow or non-existent).

The bellhops were very courteous and on time when we were about to leave. It was also nice that they did call us a cab, rather than try to make us go in a car service.

Room Tip: Try to get on a high floor that faces the river / bay area, where boats and yachts come by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.