We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
1 review
“VERY nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Although I did not stay in this Hotel, I had the opportunity to spend the day with some friend that where. I took advantage of the invitation get away, relax and spend the day in good company. I was very impressed with energy of this Hotel. The whole place has a great vibe to it. Staff was friendly, hotel was clean and my friend's room was beautiful with some amazing views. My husband accompanied me during the morning for a couple's massage. Not only was the couples massage room spacious, and relaxing but I received from my therapist the best deep tissue massage I've ever had!!! They also have this really great tea (I had never seen the brand before) in their lounge area, . Since I live in Miami year-round, I didn't have a need to lay out on the beach, but did spend some time at the pool. The pool deck is very nice and modern. We finished the day by having dinner at a local ceviche place which was walking distance from the Hotel. I really enjoyed my day here and will definetely be recommending this hotel to family and friend that plan to visit Miami.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    144
    32
    12
    8
See reviews for
150
225
43
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel after returning from a cruise. This is a new hotel, and it shows. We had a room on a high floor (27) with a nice view of the bay. The room was very spacious and very comfortable. There was a big HDTV (over 42 inches) across from the bed, and there was a TV in the bathroom mirror! The bathroom had a full tub as well as a separate stand-up shower with two showerheads. The room also had a keyboard and terminal with internet access to use in case you didn't bring your computer. It was a little slow, so we used our PC with the ethernet cable that was provided.

The gym was really nice. All modern equipment and very clean. We had a great workout. We also took a tour of the spa, but it was very pricey, and the staff had an attitude.

The pool area was nice, but we were there on a chilly day. In the winter months, it appears that high rises block the sun from the pool area for much of the day.

The food in the restaurant (345, I think) for breakfast was very good, but the service was pretty bad (very slow or non-existent).

The bellhops were very courteous and on time when we were about to leave. It was also nice that they did call us a cab, rather than try to make us go in a car service.

Room Tip: Try to get on a high floor that faces the river / bay area, where boats and yachts come by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Traveled with my husband on business with a couple days tacked to the end for pleasure. Rooms are very large, clean. Biggest flat screen I've encountered in a hotel. Mini business center right in room, including a desk top! Bathrooms large and well appointed. While this hotel is not on South Beach, it seems to be located near many restaurants and some shops; many within walking distance. It is not within walking distance to a proper beach if you are looking to swim or soak up the sun. The gym is top notch and the view from the stationary machines is fantastic. I do not use free weights, but there seemed to be an entire room of those. Why not 5 stars? Little things that should not go unnoticed in any hotel, but particularly a hotel of this caliber: housekeeping somewhat I attentive to details, such as not refilling the illy coffee pods and sugar, a coffee cup that was dirty and set out as clean and missing bath mats after cleaning. The first night I barely slept, as I felt as if I was sleeping in a hole. The next morning I decided to flip the mattress (they don't flip) and discovered that the problem was the very heavy feather bed that had not been fluffed between guests. Picture a mound in the middle of the bed and continually rolling toward the edge...all night long. I removed the featherbed. Finally, I would agree with other reviewers that the surrounding neighborhood seems tired. I wouldn't say unsafe, but definitely not vibrant (like NYC or SFO for example) or clean (like most MPLS, PITT, BOS, etc) not the fault of the hotel, but worth noting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed on the 34th floor facing the Miami river, floor to ceiling windows offer an great view of the water and 100' yachts. Tried to check in @ 3:00 our room was not ready for about an 1 hour. Worth the wait. We went to bar on the second floor hand the best hand breaded pecan crusted chicken breasts, A+, just perfect. When we finished a bite to eat room was ready.
Nice office area, great bed, large TV, HUGE bathroom, all marble.Very clean, good mini bar but $$$$$$$
The sink did leak, they sent some one, who just put the barbage can under it, well I( could have done that. So thye drip, drip, drip all night was not to good. For about $400.00 a night I don't think I should have to listen to that.
We had dinner @ the hotel also, very very good food and service, a little $$$, but you are in downtown Miami, so what do you expect. Nice area to walk around by hotel, safe, very nice walkway right on the water you can see cruise ships come and go. I would stay here again without hesatation.

Room Tip: The higher you stay the better the view, ask for rooms facing the water, sun comes in the room in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was here last year for a business trip and had a great experience. The rooms are very nice and clean. The room service was wonderful too! The front desk was very friendly and accommodating. They were helpful at suggesting local places to visit and they even gave me a map of a nearby jogging trail.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, NY
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband had a conference and we use that as an excuse to take a romantic weekend. The hotel is very nice, as you would expect. While our room didnt really have a great view, it was very large, comfy bed, great bathroom and quiet. They gym was fantastic and never crowded. The pool is small and because the hotel is in the shadow of other large buildings, the sunshine is iffy at best. While I would not choose this location over South Beach for a real vacation, we did have a couple of good meals (see my other reviews), it was a short walk to Brickell, and great if you want to see a Heat game. We had a lovely time and the entire staff was very pleasant and hlepful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've traveled far and wide and stayed in some of the best (and worst) hotels in the world but this is my first review on TA with good reason. In the interest of full disclosure: I'm a bit of a hotel snob. Part of this was my parent's fault for spoiling me as a child and part of it is because being an above average sized individual (6'5'' -- 275lbs), it's often difficult to truly make myself at home outside of my home. This ceased being the case on my most recent trip to the JW Marriott Marquis Miami.

I'll start with why I'm so high on this property:

Customer Service (10/10):

First is the staff. If you've ever been to Miami, you'll know that some of the more "high-end" hotels tend to have a certain air about them. They know that you know their property is the jam and it shows. Simple requests are ignored or viewed with a palpable disdain and don't even think of asking for something like a room on a high floor with a view. This was not the case at the JWMM. The staff was helpful and friendly. Almost to the point of feeling like I was at a family reunion. We joked about everything from sports (not surprisingly a large chunk of the staff were Canes/Heat fans) to other members of the staff (Erika at the bar on the second floor is a fiesty one). Orlando, the concierge on duty for the duration of our stay was upbeat, pleasant and more than willing to lend a helping hand on the local happs.

The Property (12/10):

First let me say this: It's not on South Beach, so if you're hoping for that, look elsewhere. This hotel is in the heart of downtown by the Bay on Biscayne. Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Miami. The rooms were, in a word: DOPE. My buddy, who also had a room, actually called me from downstairs (he got the king bed, but I got the high floor) just to say "Man, this room is freaking sick". Guestrooms are large and spacious replete with the largest flat screen TV I have ever seen in a hotel room (60'' give or take) and upwards of 60+ TV channels (HBO East and HBO West --- again, never seen this). The bathrooms were something out of an R&B video sporting TV's in the mirrors, glass encased showers and full sized tub fit for a king. The furnishings, though minimal, kept with the overall decor of the property; think dark hardwoods and leather. My view from the 30th floor was partially obstructed by the building next door, but I could still get a glimpse of the water and the pool below. Also, the tree hugger side of me liked the fact that the room has a nifty little feature that requires you to put your room key in a little slot in order to keep the lights on. When you leave, take the key with you and the lights automatically turn off. Energy conservation... that's a good thing. Valet parking of $36 was a bit on the high side but not completely abnormal and as Erika, in a rare instance of non-fiestiness, validated my visiting friend's parking.

Amenities (8/10):

I didn't get a chance to check it out, but allegedly there was a regulation tennis court and a regulation basketball court somewhere upstairs. I also didnt' get a chance to check out the SPA or the restaurant as we spent most of our time harassing (read: flirting) with the bartenders upstairs. The in room amenities were well placed. Nice toiletries. Surprisingly cheap minibar items ($6 for a can of import beer, though expensive is actually quite affordable). Another added perk which I hope they continue to offer is FREE(!!!) in room WiFi.

Cleanliness (10/10):

The room and the property were immaculate. If it weren't for the other guests roaming the halls, I wouldn't have though the property was two years old.


Food (6/10):

If there was any downside I'd say it was the food. It wasn't horrible by any stretch of the imagination, but it did leave a little to be desired. Still though, I've had worse meals at more "exclusive (read: expensive)" hotels. My buddy had breakfast both mornings and I'm not sure what his feelings were on that, but he didn't complain, so I'll assume it was decent.

Final Thoughts:

I was never a fan of Miami in the past. The fast life of South Beach was just too much for me and still is, so I'm surprised that a hotel could make me change my entire feeling on an entire city, but it did. I think I've found my Miami home. It's convenient to the beach if need be, but far enough away from the riff-raff/hustle and bustle to get a good night's sleep if you're in town for business. I'm definitely giving this place serious consideration as the locale for my (gasp) 30th birthday celebration. Maybe if I pay them enough money, they'll sell me the Presidential Suite and let me turn it into a condo. I guy can dream can't he...?

Room Tip: Four words: Bay View -- High Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.