We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Marquis Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 129 hotels in Miami
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Overall this was a great weekend stay in Jan 2013 for me. The staff was very friendly and the room was great - very big and the bed was super comfy. There was even a television in the bathroom... crazy! I appreciated the desk with computer inside the room; even though the internet was a little finicky on it, it was still nice to have a computer I could use. Overall I also think it was in a nice location; close to the Bayside shops and centrally located downtown. We loved the stainless steel pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    595
    139
    31
    12
    8
See reviews for
148
218
43
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last December, first time there, the room was HUGE with every comfort you would expect from any JW Marriott, I don't give 5 stars due to the very little breakfast buffet the offer, it is the size of a 3 star hotel. The pillows were not the best, not bad but if you want a feathered soft one you won't find it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived at the JW about 9am on a Sunday morning, after booking the room with points months earlier. Our first thoughts were amazement at the luxury and style of this property. The lobby was well appointed and very open. Proceeded to the check-in desk, even though it was early and asked to store our luggage. To our surprise, they said our room was almost ready. Then she notes that we had been upgraded to a suite for our stay! What a treat! Valentina informed us that the room was clean buy awaiting inspection. She handed us some coupons for apps in the restaurant and then escorted us to the concierge lounge for breakfast. Within 40 minutes she was back up escorting us to our suite.

The room was possibly the best I've stayed in with Marriott, and I've stayed in hundreds of their properties. The size was incredible, and it was very classy and luxurious. We had a 60"? tv in the living room and another just like it in the bedroom, a PC setup for internet use on the desk, a TV built into the bathroom mirror was also handy. The bathroom had a decent size walk-in glass shower and a large soaking tub. We all voted the bed as the most comfortable we'd ever slept on.

The concierge lounge was very nice and classy with wonderful views of the bay. It's on the 36th floor, The breakfast was sonderful!! They had bacon, sausage, eggs, potatoes with peppers and onions, lots of fruit, cold meats, all the bread options, and oatmeal. The food quality was very good. Same spread every morning. They had packages of nuts, granola bars, chips, etc... all day long starting after breakfast. In the evenings, more of the typical Marriott offerings with two warm small snack type offerings, cookies, cheeses, etc... And alcohol on the honor system.

The only negative was the $35/day valet only parking and the fact they wouldn't even let you go to get something out of your car. They really control the car thing. Several times we had them drive it down only to get something out of the truck. And once, we called ahead from the room to have it brought down, only to get down 10 minutes later and they still had not gone to pull it around...

Overall, great stay! My new favorite hotel without a doubt! Look for Valentina (she's a doll!) at the front desk, she'll treat you better than you deserve! Best Marriott points we ever spent, outside of Aruba...

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to suite, or at least high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Fantastic experience at the JW , valet parking excellent service ,check in very was efficient , Huge fabulous room with an incredible view of the bay ,Impressive big bathroom with a TV screen , Very comfortable cloud like feeling bed ..
Great room service .Hotel located close by to AA Arena we had gone there for the Awesome Madonna concert . Next to Bayside with awesome restaurants and . We would stay there again in a heart beat ..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel with absolutely amazing rooms. We had a corner room on the 31st floor and it was fabulous. It was a large, very clean room with a big bathroom. It was so incredibly quiet. I have not slept as well as I did in any hotel in a very long time. The only negative to our stay was the breakfast buffet. Service was terrible (especially the hostess at the front who kept getting swayed by obnoxious guests who weren't pleased with the location of available tables making the rest of us wait - we waited 30 minutes). The food quality on the buffet was mediocre at best and you do not know the price (over $60 with tax and gratuity all in) until the end. It was way overpriced and poorly run. Avoid it at all costs in this otherwise great hotel because it left a very bad impression on us as we departed the hotel. It is why I can only rate this hotel very good. Management needs to get on top of the breakfast situation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night with my husband pre-cruse in December. We had an early flight that arrived in MIA and were at the hotel a little before 11am. Check-in was a breeze and we were extremely thankful that we were able to check-in and go straight to our room. We had a corner room on the 26th floor. When we entered the room it was extremely hot as the curtains were open and the sun was shining through the windows. We set the air conditioner to try to cool it off and closed the blinds/curtains but the air was so loud my husband and I could hardly hold a conversation across the room without speaking louder to each other.

The room was beautiful and very spacious with amazing views. We thought we were tired and would go to sleep but with the room extremely warm and the excitement of being in MIA we decided to let the room cool down, grab some lunch, walk around and pick up some odds and ends. The hotel is within walking distance to convenience. There is a Starbucks right around the corner, a Subway, CVS, Walgreens and several restaurants.

After exploring for a bit we returned to the hotel and the room was still very warm and the air conditioner still very loud so we decided to put our swimsuits on and head to the pool. Be prepared that the pool does not get much sun but it was a cool experience being several stories up swimming. After a dip, we headed back to the room for a snooze and yes the room was still warm but cooler than when we first arrived with a loud air conditioner. I never mentioned the loud air conditioner to the front desk as we didn’t want to have to move rooms, we were tired and settled and eventually in the evening the room did cool off, but the air was still very loud.

Later in the evening we walked to a charming restaurant, Fratelli Milano which I discovered in my research before our trip and also already wrote my review. The hotel is a short stroll to the Bayfront Park and the shops at Bayside Marketplace. We loved exploring the city and looking out and seeing the beautiful blue water. The night we were there a concert and vendors were set up at Bayfront. It was a great experience and something that my husband and I wish we had more of in our area, it was such a great experience.

The bed was comfortable and was fine for us staying just one night. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was refreshing. Overall the room was plush and comfortable. Would I stay here again? Only if the price were right. I had some gift cards to use which helped offset the price tag. Overall I did enjoy downtown Miami and the experience. The Marquis is a beautiful hotel with friendly staff and comfortable rooms for the most part.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family stayed at the JW Marriott Marquis Miami from 12/24/2012 to 12/26/2012 for 3 nights. Upon checking in, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite on the 41st floor by Motaz at front desk. The suite was gorgeous, very modern, and the view was amazing. The staff of this hotel were all very pleasant and professional... from valet to bell desk to front desk to housekeeping to room service, especially Motaz at front desk and Karen at concierge . You guys are just wonderful!
Everything about this hotel is fantastic, except one regret, the hotel basketball court was closed during the time of our stay. That was a big disappointment for our son who was really looking forward to playing there.
The management of this hotel has done a superb job managing the hotel and their staff. We will definitely stay at JW Marriott Marquis when we come to Miami again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Marquis Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.