We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review has more to do about credit card handling/practices for internet orders **” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sergio's Kendall

Sergio's Kendall
13550 SW 120th St, #400, Miami, FL 33186
(305) 278-2024
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #559 of 3,614 restaurants in Miami
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cuban
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Review has more to do about credit card handling/practices for internet orders **”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Kendall Location –

Good typical Cuban food fare. Weekends usually crowded and parking can be a hassle.

** Credit card handling concerns:

1st time placing take out order via internet. Easy website navigation for registration as well as completing order. Arrived a few minutes before scheduled time for pick up and order was ready. Went to the main entrance and was told politely it would be better if I were to go t the back cafe/self serve section (outside to the back of the building) for which I thanked the greeter. So far so good until it was time to actually get the order. Typically establishments ask to see credit card and ID to verify order, for which I had no problem until the lady at the counter took one of the old credit carbon copy based credit card forms to take an imprint of my credit card for which I became alarmed at the practice and informed the lady. She stated it was required by management and had to do so (If there were no "hungry folks' back home waiting for some Comida Cubana, I would have cancelled order) ... and then I was astonished to see the lady take a pencil and rub the carbon form over the credit card for an imprint! Of course I had to laugh, but again objected to the practice for which I believe borders on being illegal (credit card bank notified).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    10
    13
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Typical Cuban Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Sergio's is a very popular chain of restaurants in the Greater Miami area. The food is plentiful and the prices very reasonable.
Don't expect fancy food or surroundings, just good, tasty typical Cuban food and delectable desserts.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had some people in town for a meeting and they wanted to eat Cuban food. We ordered sandwiches and everyone was happy. The AC was broken and it was hotttttttt!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service + excellent food + reasonable price, a wining combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived at this place a large party of 9 people around 8 PM a Saturday. The place was completely full. We thought that we will have to wait for at least 20 minutes. We were ready to stay because the place was recommended to us by a friend. To our surprise the manager came and says to wait couple of minutes and he will try to find us an spot. Probably a minute later he came back smiling and tell us "I told you it will be quick".
The food was excellent, the price very reasonable, the customer service excellent too. That's a real wining combination.
Will go back next time in Miami and have recommended the place to several of my friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Flaca" menu.. New healthy menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Sergio's has great authentic Cuban food... My favorite items are the new "Flaca" menu ... Meaning skinny meal choices in English... Great breakfast.. We enjoy Sunday breakfast here.. Sandwiches are always fresh and the best "croquetas" .. Clean, friendly staff, and fast service... I have been eating here for over 5 yrs now... Always a good meal.. Highly recommend the "Tostones Rellenos" .. Kids menu available and outdoor seating..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sergio's Kendall also viewed

 

Been to Sergio's Kendall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sergio's Kendall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.