We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely recommend it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandolin Aegean Bistro

Mandolin Aegean Bistro
4312 NE 2nd Ave, Miami, FL 33137
(305) 576-6066
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 3,649 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Great reviews check it out
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“definitely recommend it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Mandolin was recommended to me by several friends and I understand why. it's a very relaxed restaurant, great food, great atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    91
    16
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Lovely Santorini-style patio. Good service though not extraordinary. Greek salad, octopus and Lavraki, doesn't get much better. Romantic if you can find a secluded table. Felt more for groups and families.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a little bit of ambiance is not enough!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Walking into this small taverna creates the feeling of being in a small village in Greece...outdoor seating and authentic ambiance. But other than Mandolin's Tzatziki, which is probably one of the bests, that is where the good news ends!

The service was in summary horrible...the wait staff seemed to have the impression that delivering (or what really felt more like dumping) the food in a rushed and rude manner would be considered service. Throughout the meal, we were never asked if everything was good (which it was not) or if we needed anything (which we did)!!

The food quality was very poor! Entrees came out sporadically over 15 minutes. Side dishes were served after the entrée was almost finished. An almost non-existent piece of Feta on a large Greek Salad. Entrees that were supposed to be served hot were cold. Fish that smelled and tasted fishy and not fresh. The server was well aware of the problems...never was there an apology or a manager's visit. So, we asked for the manager at the end of the meal. We received a quick "sorry" and no gesture of any kind.

We have been to Greece and are all about casual as long as the food is fabulous. Ambiance can only take you so far for so long...then not so much. After all, we dine out for great food and a pleasurable experience. Mandolin did not deliver either!

Our advice...either go to Mandolin to order only the mezes with no expectation of service or go to Milos! Milos is bit more money but worth it in terms of the quality of food and service (as an f.y.i. Milos does have an early seating that is better pricing than their regular dinner menu)!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“My order....place, food, dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

What I liked the most of Mandolin was the place itself. We went for dinner and since I saw the entrance, with this beautiful bougainvillea, I felt like being in Greece when I was really in the Miami Design District. The atmosphere was great around 9pm that Saturday. We were seated in the biggest "outside" area. We had for appetizer (mezes) a Turkish sampler with hummus, tomato walnut dip and fava bean purée, for main I had a whole fish with olive oli, lemon and origan which was very tasty but if you don't like to be worry about bones, this is not for you. For dessert we ordered a Baklava but was not crunchy at all. I guess we were not lucky with this on that day.
I recommend you this place because if you go to celebrate your birthday, as I did, you will have a nice memory of this unforgettable place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistent eating pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Whenever we are in Miami we also book this restaurant. The foods is fresh, flavorful and beautifully cooked the oven baked fish with olive oil and herbs is perfection, salad and fries on the side and I'm really happy!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandolin Aegean Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mandolin Aegean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandolin Aegean Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.