We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal fishing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top Gun Fishing Charters

Top Gun Fishing Charters
Crandon Marina, 4000 Crandon Marina, Miami, FL 33149 (Downtown)
+1 305-361-8110
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #18 of 176 activities in Miami
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Miami's "Top Gun" in sportfishing. Specializing in fishing charters for beginning and experienced anglers alike. We catch Sailfish, swordfish, tuna, Mahi Mahi and more.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“Phenomenal fishing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a phenomenal experience. Other than catching Grouper and King Fish, we had an amazing day with a Triple Sail hook up at the same time. We had 2 fishermen on board. The make kept the third Sail on the line for us. We tagged and released all of them. Not to mention the King and Grouper made for great dinners as well. What an amazing experience. One of a kind for me. Highly recommend Top Gun. Great crew, service and personal attention.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Greatest fishing experience of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The boat was great, the staff was amazing and the fishing was phenomenal. The captain knew all of the best places to take us, even when the fish didn't seem to be biting for other boats that were out there. We caught HUGE tuna and sailfish. I spent 45 minutes reeling in a 55lb sailfish. It was an incredible experience! If you want to have fun and you want to catch fish, use Top Gun.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“"best fishing experience ever"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we took the 5 hours in the afternoon with Captain Nel and had an amazing time. The bought was a lot of fun and both the Captain and crew were very friendly and great to hang out with. We caught various types of fish. I had never caught anything before on fishing trips and was so happy o have finally done so, After the trip Captain Nel cleaned the fish for us and recommended a nearby place where they cooked our catch. Overall great experience and will sure do it again once I am back in Miami.

Thank you again Captain Nel!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out for 6 college guys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Booked a 5-hour deep sea fishing charter this week with Captain Nel and his first mate Mario? for a birthday celebration for 6 college guys. The deep sea fishing excursion industry seems somewhat unregulated, so this trip was based entirely on this company/the captain's Trip Advisor ratings...so thanks Trip Advisor! Everything checked out with the captain, the boat, procedures, and fishing, and Top Gun did not disappoint. The guys had a great time, and at one point had 9 lines in between the trolling and the kite fishing. Although for the most part the fish were elsewhere, they managed to catch an edible size mahi mahi and a kingfish. Both fish were filleted on the boat. Captain Nel connected the guys to a restaurant down the street where the fish were prepared and cooked in several different ways and served up as a meal. The booking was made long distance. The captain was professional, returned phone calls/texts within a reasonable amount of time, and payment was made by credit card with an email confirmation. The first mate was knowledgeable about all angles of fishing and worked hard to make the experience a good one for those on board. The only comment was that the loo was not working which could be enquired about upon booking.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lots of bites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had a great day of fishing with Captain Nell, Mario and George. While the weather was not perfect (drizzle! ugh!!), our voyage was exciting and successful. Each of us (two couples) had the chance to reel in a nice sized fish. It was our first experience kite fishing - and grabbed a sailfish with that method. The crew was knowledgeable and SO VERY pleasant - and patient with us. :) The boat was comfortable and had a place to get in out of the weather when we needed to. If we fish again in Miami, we'll be doing it again with Top Gun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top Gun Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Top Gun Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Gun Fishing Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Top Gun Fishing Charters to your Saves list