We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And we're happy we stayed here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 131 hotels in Miami
Brea, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“And we're happy we stayed here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

My husband and I were going on a quick cruise out of Miami and had had enough of red-eye flights from LAX-MIA. I said no more. We were going to fly into Miami the day before and get a hotel, sleep and be refreshed before the cruise. I didn't want to spend $250 for a nights sleep in a hotel near the port...one of the big name chains...so to tripadvisor I went to find a good little place and I wasn't disappointed.

Our flight was to arrive at 10pm on a Sunday night...due to bad weather out of Houston, we didn't arrive until 11:30. I picked the New Yorker from reviews because it was a historic "motel" refurbished inside to a modern, clean, hotel, without losing the appeal of a historic place one might have stayed in 40 years ago. The price was great and they had a shuttle service that not only picked us up from the airport, delivered us to the hotel, took us to the port the next day, and then picked us up from the port when we returned and delivered us back to the airport all for $40 for the two of us. Kevin was our shuttle driver and our hotel clerk. He is kind, funny, patient, a good driver, and dedicated. We got in so late, that our downstairs double was gone so he upgraded us to a downstairs king. (The hotel does lack an elevator and I was not dragging bags up the staircase at midnight.) We loved our room, but didn't stay too long as we left the next morning after a decent continental breakfast, for our cruise. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We loved the quiet of the neighborhood, the personal treatment one only gets in a small establishment, and Kevin and Mimi. They are wonderful hosts. Forget the big fancy chains - take a step back and give this place a shot. It may not be for everybody, but we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    209
    118
    53
    44
See reviews for
90
256
50
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We booked the New Yorker pre-cruise based on their advertising as a "boutique" hotel. It isn't. It's an old motel that has new, hip and trendy furniture (wooden box bed frames, tiny plastic chairs) that isn't at all comfortable. There was no outlet in the bathroom so I dried my hair without a mirror, the A/C wall unit was in what used to be a closet so it didn't circulate well. The staff was very nice and the desk clerk carried my bag upstairs which I appreciated as there was no elevator. They had nice bathroom amenities. But Miami has much better motels for the money.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkerMiami, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
We appreciate your feedback. We call ourselves a boutique hotel because unlike the motels in Miami, we do not allow any customers to walk in off the street. You must have reservations at our hotel to stay with us. The motels here in Miami take anyone off the street who are willing to pay for a room which can result in a mix of clientele that you may not want to expose yourself, or your family to. Our rooms are far superior to motel rooms, and most importantly, motels do not provide a high level of service. Our room product is not luxurious but it is clean, comfortable and modern. While it may not be for everyone they are certainly not "motel" rooms. We opened the New Yorker Boutique Hotel because we saw a need for an affordable hotel in Miami that offered a unique and comfortable place to stay with great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Chose TripAdvisor's 10th most popular Miami hotel to stay with my brother for 3 nights. Didn't notice that it was not listed in the AAA Florida guidebook (mea culpa). Rooms are prison cell sized and minimalist furnished except for a large flat screen TV. No individual room climate control. Ceiling fan lamp above beds. Told at front desk that if it was too cool in the room, they would lend us a space heater! We kept the outside door open 90% of the time we were in-room (except when we slept) because the room felt like a sauna (high humidity and hot). Bathroom toilets are institutional (no water tank). Functional but look awful. Room lighting was poor. Worst hotel experience in my life. Changed rooms because the promised bar fridge was missing (noticed after carrying our luggage & golf clubs up an exterior stairway to the 1st room). 2nd morning we woke up to the sound of a construction crew on the 2nd floor. Parking was cramped & awkward. We were fortunate to get a room opening onto the pool side rather than busy, noisy Biscayne Boulevard. Continental self-serve breakfast was available in an L-shaped room that felt like a walk-in closet (3 tables/6 chairs). Stayed 2 nights and forfeited the 3rd (refund denied). We couldn't deal with the discomfort any longer! Although it aspires to be an Art Deco Boutique Hotel, it fails miserably to deliver a pleasant experience to its guests.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkerMiami, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We feel that we have been very honest in our advertising. Our website says very clearly that our property was a motel until 2010. We never claimed to be a luxury property with spacious rooms, expensive looking toilets and a restaurant. Our goal is to offer travelers to Miami a clean, safe and comfortable place to stay for $89 to $149 per night. We realize that other hotels offer much more luxurious accommodations but they charge double or triple the rates that we charge. What we do try to provide is the best service that Miami has to offer and it sounds like you agree that we are achieving that goal. We invite everyone to stay with us but we do try to set expectations that we are not a luxury hotel. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquinnah, MA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Our stay at the New Yorker made our experience in Miami truly wonderful.

We were stuck in Miami after missing a connecting flight, and the motel was recommended by a local woman we met at the airport. The staff offered to pick us up at the airport at a cheaper price than any taxi or shuttle. The motel is centrally located, only 10 minutes from the airport, and about 15 minutes from South Beach, 25 minutes from the Everglades. They are in the process of renovating the entire 50's style motel, and we stayed in one of the updated rooms. Modern style and comfortable, with a nice pool and new lounge chairs, simple but comfortable furniture, great pillows on the bed.

The updates are still in process and everything isn't ship shape yet. We had some plumbing problems in the shower, but they plan to have everything finished by next month.

The best thing about the motel is the staff. They recommended places in the neighborhood to go to eat (it's still a pretty funky neighborhood with some seedier elements, but with lots of great little restaurants in walking distance, and a feeling that it's on the way up), told us how to get around the city, what sights we shouldn't miss in Miami, and they drove us into the city, picked us up, and took us back to the airport. They were so welcoming and warm and made us feel at home.

This is a great place to stay, and will only get better as the motel finishes getting renovated and as the neighborhood keeps getting cleaner and safer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed over Christmas which can be hard but not for the wonderful staff at the New Yorker. I felt like I was home and being from Chicago much warmer. I loved relaxing by the pool. The room was decorated in Decco style and had an amazing bed with a beautiful white fluffy comfoter and all the ammenities I need in a room. The shopping was easy to get to a little too easy I may have treated my self a little. I believe I am now addicted to the deliicious cuban coffee and thats a good thing except Icant find it in Chicago. I guess I'll just have to go back thanksagain to the New Yorker. Meridith Morrison

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.
The hotel is in the 50’s motel style. Rooms are of a basic design, but the Hotel & rooms are comfortable, clean & well kept. All the staff at the Hotel were very nice, very helpful & only too willing to please. Breakfast was good.
We used it as a base to explore Miami. Spent 3 nights here & felt we had picked the right hotel. It is located on the US1 highway, Biscayne Boulevard, so it was easy to get around & see the sights. I would not hesitate to recommend or stay at this hotel. For the price we paid, it would be difficult to get better value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canach, Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We wanted to spend some days in Miami without having to spend too much money in an expensive hotel.
The New Yorker Boutique Hotel was a good choice. Very friendly friendly stuff, good location, free parking (absolutely recommendable in Miami) and wifi.
They even offer you towels at the reception to enjoy their pool.
The walls between the rooms are very thin, this is the only negative aspect, but not a big deal...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 131 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.