We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Hip Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Hip Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at the New Yorker while passing through Miami en route to the Keys. The rooms are newly remodeled to look like they're straight out of the 50's. The price was right, the room was clean and the staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat around the area.

The only downside was that you could hear noise (Normal talking levels, toilet flushes and a running sink) from the adjacent rooms, although it wasn't too terrible. The design and cleanliness of the room and the helpfulness of the staff easily made up for it. I would definitely stay at the New Yorker again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    251
    163
    73
    60
See reviews for
121
310
59
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Firstly, this place is a motel not a hotel but it does what it says on the tin. Very helpful staff & nice clean room. I arrived late & was pointed in the direction of a nice local restaurant/bar which was perfect. The area is quite a way from south beach etc so you would definitely need a car, perfect as an overnight stop if en route to somewhere else. I arrived from the Everglades & it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed at the New Yorker for two nights in August. Having read the reviews on TripAdvisor I was looking forward to enjoy my stay there and have to say that I was quite disappointed once arrived. It was a Motel not a Boutique Hotel as advertised everywhere..Having said that, for a Motel, this is a great choice!! Rooms a re clean, tidy and newly refurbished as well as the small but neat lobby. What upset me is the misleading information: you can't advertise this place as a "Boutique Hotel" when it is a Motel. I have been working over 20 years in the hospitality world (main of those within 4/5 stars establishments) and believe me, it takes a bit more than some new IKEA pieces of furniture to turn a Motel into a "Boutique Hotel".

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkerMiami, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Please note that the signs on our building that say "Motel", are the original signs on the building from 1953, and are historically protected. So while we have turned our motel rooms into hotel rooms, and try to provide the best service that we can, the city of Miami will not permit us to change the signs on the building. We feel that the term 'boutique hotel' is justified especially when you compare our property to the other motels here on Biscayne Boulevard and from the other reviews we receive it appears that most of our customers agree with us. Also we consider ourselves a solid 3 star hotel and do not claim to be a 4 or 5 star property. We are not trying to mislead anyone but sometimes it can be challenging to set the right expectations. We do hope that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We really enjoyed the motel. For the price its hard to beat. Friendly and helpful staff..and the breakfast is a nice touch considering the rates. I loved the pool too. At least two good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

This little Hotel in Miami is a very beautiful, extremly clean and nice place to stay and very central (10 minutes from airport, 10 minutes from great beach)- we will always come back when we visit Miami. The owners are so friendly and helpful, made our stay very, very special! There is perfect service, breakfast and Internet, you can park for free and have a very nice swimming pool. We can recommend this place by heart. Good price, best quality!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I chose the New Yorker Hotel because of location, price, and most importantly, the reviews on Trip Advisor. Not only was I not disappointed, I was totally thrilled by the level of service and courtesy we received from the entire staff. Local friends advised against the area, however, we found it to be an extremely charming up-and-coming neighborhood. The room was clean and offered a retro feel with modern amenities. The staff suggested Bolans Cafe for breakfast which was only a block away and the food was fantastic. We will definitely suggest this hotel to our friends and visit again on our next kayaking trip in Miami.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed here for 4 nights and were very pleasantly surprised with the charm and personality of the hotel and the neighborhood. This older hotel has been renovated with modern furnishings and colors, which we found very charming. the beds were new and comfortable, the A/C, ceiling fan and flat screen TV were all great. Breakfast was provided, and the owners and staff were exceedingly friendly and gave us great local advice on places to visit in the city. The room was cleaned daily and left smelling fresh and neat while we were at breakfast. My only small complaints were the security lights outside the rooms gave off enough light during the night to lighten the room more than my husband liked, and the water pressure and hot water in the shower likely are still operating on an older system. But those were small issues and overall we were both extremely pleased with the hotel and would stay there again.

There were plenty of interesting restaurants and locally-owned shops within walking distance. It seems that this neighborhood is on the upswing, yet still very affordable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.