We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A simple motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The pictures on the website do seem to portray a hotel which isn't this one. The hotel is located in a less than ideal part of Miami - which does give it a bit of a downer. The room was quite small and the bathroom was quite cramped.

The facilities in the room are rather basic, with the bathroom needing modernising. The parking at the hotel was very tight if you park around the back by the pool. The breakfast was very simple but in a nice patio.

The pool area was nice and clean, with comfy sunbeds. The biggest issue with this hotel was the soundproofing between rooms. We were able to hear the movements of folk in the room above which really hampered the ability to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are located in a transitional neighorhood tht is up annd coming. We are on the main road to downtown and Southbeach. We have been well establish for over 40 years and have limited city codes that we must abide by as we are an historic property therefore we are limited to what we can change and what we can not.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    253
    163
    76
    61
See reviews for
123
310
59
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed 3 nights at the Hotel New Yorker in March 2013.

The outside has a lovely art deco feel, and is well maintained. Plenty of parking on site, although if your room is at the back getting out of the spaces can be a little difficult.

The hotel is quite a distance from the heart of Miami and Miami Beach, and there are not a lot of restaurants in the area, which does mean that you will need transport to get around. However it is on the main road and has a regular bus service to the bay.

Our room was very well decorated and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the room felt light and airy. The only thing that let it down, and the only reason the hotel does not have a full 5 rating, is the bathroom - whilst adequate it was a little antiquated and in need of refurbishment. Whilst it was clean and had all the facilities you require it did the room down.

Breakfast is provided free of charge and is served on the lovely patio. Lots of bagels, fresh fruit and fruit juice is available. A lovely quiet spot to enjoy an al fresco breakfast.

Overall for the money this is a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Miami on a budget who doesn't mind travelling to get in to the heart of the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, We are delighted that you were satisfy with the comfort and quality of our hotel and certainly looking forward to your return.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We enjoyed staying at this location. The price was awesome & the location is about 15 minutes from south beach. Pros: Beds are very comfortable, parking is free, WiFi is also free, breakfast is small but always out on time, housekeeping always make your bed no matter what all is on it & puts your things nicely back on your bed, staff is always pretty friendly and while the location isn't the best we felt safe. Cons: Our ceiling light didn't work, our car was hit twice in the extremely small parking lot (back side of the building), bed broke (looked as if it was glued together at some point), bathroom was very small, we could hear every step the upstairs guest made (beginning at around 6 am each morning), and walls are thin. If I had to choose a place to stay again when coming to the area I wouldn't think twice about staying anywhere else. Its a good place to be for the money.

Room Tip: Request a room on the backside to minimize noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

When the allure and drama of South Beach no longer satisfy your desires and you opt for a comfortable, clean and well managed motel in Miami, look no further than the New Yorker. Centrally located on Biscayne Blvd., it's a convenient drive to downtown Miami, the beach, and destinations north like Aventura and Ft. Lauderdale. There's plenty of parking, a small but well maintained pool, and attentive service starting Geri and Mimi at the front desk, and including the hotel staff at large who will serve you a good continental breakfast in the courtyard every morning and make sure you return to a clean, cool and well made room every evening. The rates are an absolute bargain for the quality of the experience that awaits you. This is a must for every Miami traveler tired of the incessant "spring break" atmosphere of South Beach. Check it out!

Room Tip: The two best rooms are #101 (?) directly above the front desk on the second floor, and #227, on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are hapy to hear you wee pleased with the comfort and quaility of our property and certainly look forward to your return stay.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Second stay for hubby and I.We were returning form a 7 day cruise and needed a quick on the bus line night stay in Miami. Hotel cute familiar and on bus line. Didn't like our room this time so next stay hubby and I agreed we'll request our old room.Staff very accommodating, breakfast ok but Starbucks walking distance. Nice park across the street.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, and for being our return guest, We certainly are happy that you were satisfied with our property and certainly look forward to your next stay.


Sincerly
Walter & Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The rooms would really require some renovation. Wr didn't feel good in this room. At least we stayed anyway just one night. Not to be recommended to stay longer. Compared with the price we gave two points.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked through bookings.com after reviewing the website info. Absolutely unacceptable- we checked in around 11pm after a long day and ended up turning right around and being forced to find a room down the street for $200 (thank goodness this room and hotel were wonderful). I am posting pictures of New Yorker Boutique that we took that night. This is really more of a "motel". The parking was difficult as almost all spaces were taken. The neighborhood seemed a bit questionable- several questionable people approached us in front if the hotel, including a woman wearing nothing but a bedspread... We could find no elevator which meant carrying bags up to second floor. The room had badly stained carpet, something unsanitary stained on the mattress, multiple holes filled with caulk but unpainted, wires dangling and covers off electrical outlets, stains in shower stall, no tub, faucets mmissing caps/ covers. And the hotel only offers us a $40 refund for a $154 charge to our credit card??? We are 3 very seasoned travelers by the way...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
6.4 mi away
Rodeway inn Miami
Rodeway inn Miami
#69 of 113 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn Miami Airport Hotel
9.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Miami-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#26 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Miami Springs / Miami International Airport
6.4 mi away
Clarion Inn  & Suites Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.