We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average motel, decent breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Oslo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very average motel, decent breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

For a hotel calling itself a boutique hotel, there wasn't anything very "boutiquey" about this place. It's your run-of-the-mill, somewhat run-down roadside motel. Staff are fairly friendly and competent. Parking is tight (at least at the back) and limited, but we managed to get a space every evening. The room itself (we had #123) was a bit shabby, fairly sparse. The tv quality was good. Bathroom also pretty run-down. Breakfast was actually the best thing about the hotel, taken on a pleasant patio behind the main building. Choice of cereals, orange juice, coffee/tea, bagels, jam, cream cheese, bananas. Swimming pool lokked ok (but we didn't try it). Location is easy to find, on Biscayne Boulevard (US Highway 1), but the area is a bit sketchy (we had no problems, but I saw that it wasn't the safest area at night) and there is nothing much in the immediate vicinity.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside (towards the pool) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, It is unfortunate you were not pleased with the confort and quality of our hotel. We are family own and operated and we are well established for forty years. We are located in a transitional area that is up coming. We strive to become Mimai number one choice hotel.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    243
    154
    68
    59
See reviews for
115
299
59
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Booked two rooms with friends. We arrived before room was ready and our luggage was stored for us. We knew it would be a traditional style motel, one room did not have a/c only a ceiling fan the other room did have a/c unit which was held together with tape. This room had fridge and microwave but not cutlery or crockery! Accommodation is basic and rooms in need of decoration and maintenance. Carpet was stained. Bedding and towels were clean. Lot of road noise and train could be heard (use ear plugs). Voices could be heard from rooms both sides and rooms above. Car is useful but some restaurants are within 5 / 10 mins walk, turn left out of motel. Reception staff helpful and informative. Basic breakfast - cereal, bagels, juice, tea, coffee - taken outside in the garden. Reasonable price for a room compared to other establishments in Miami area, near to port of Miami and Miami airport but having said that will not be staying again. Did not use the pool as we had limited time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, All of our rooms have air condition however our east building has wall units that our guest control with a remote and our north building have central units,Our property is located on a main road. Our hotel has been well establish since 1960 and we will continue to strive to become Miami number one chice hotel. We are a beautiful property and well maintain, as for our walls being thin there are limations on what we can restruct being our property is a historic landmark.

Sincerly
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Rooms decorations and colors too comfortable the rooms r wide , just put ur head on pillow and u will have deep sleep , the bathroom is old needs renovation the parking is always crowded , but the atmosphere overall in this place is too comfortable , the wifi sucks

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your review, We strive to become Miami number one choice hotel. We did take your complaint into consideration in regards to the wifi and we had an outside company install a faster wifi connection, When you return for your next visit you will be happy with our new wifi.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I booked a single night here as part of a trip to the Florida Keys. I live in Upstate New York, and due to a state of emergency (and 1.5 feet of snow), my original flight to Ft. Lauderdale was cancelled. I cancelled my room at the New Yorker, but was emphatically told that I would be charged the entire cost of the room as I violated their cancellation policy. When I explained why I could not travel, they refused to refund my money.
All I can say to anyone that thinks they might want to stay here is Buyer Beware.
I would bet anything that they sold my room for that night and made another $125.
Lousy motel with a lousy manager and a poor policy that is completely unreasonable.

Room Tip: Don't book a room here. That's my best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
It is unfortunate that happen however the hotel offers two ways to book your reservation one is non refundable at a discounted rate and the other is regular rack rate, the non refundable is r ate is charged in full upon booking as per our contract with booking.com which clearly states that the room can not be released until day of departure this means we can not resell your room in the event you show up a day or two later. a regular reservation which does not include a discounted rate the first night is charged and the balance is due upon arrival this is refundable when cancel within our policy. Our policies are set and the hotel must obide by and through them.The hotel did offer to modify your dates for the furture. We work hard to accomidate our guest needs and do our best to avoid any misunderstandings.
We apologize for any inconveience you may have been caused.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We spent 8 days here with comfort and good enough service in january 2014.
I've read some of the terrible reviews here on the website. I think it's not fair to write those things about a good standard motel for a very reasonable price.
The carpet is old and stained - but that's the only thing true. The cleaning is thorough, the sheets are clean, no bugs - i'm 100% sure.
A few times that we needed a roomservice for water, or anything else - it was fast and polite.
No one was bothering. The neighbours were calm enough. The breakfast was allright. We spent 1 day by the pool alone, which was great, the water in the pool was clean. So theres nothing really to complaint about.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We are happy to hear you had a great stay, and certainly look forward to your return.
We are a great hotel and we do our best to accomidate our guest needs. We have been well establish for over forty years and will continue to become Miami number one choice hotel.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in February 2014, we got a ground floor room facing the road which was probably one of the worst to get and may have tainted our view somewhat, however...Good points were, reception chap was very friendly, bed linen was clean, air conditioning worked well, the patio was a nice place to have breakfast and ear plugs were provided. The bad points were; the room was grubby, showed signs of years of the most cursory of cleaning, carpet was full of stains and room would benefit greatly from a proper deep clean, it showed signs all over of poorly bodged, D.I.Y. type repairs to walls, doors, tiles, fixtures etc. doors were difficult to close properly and hadn't seen paint in years, and you will definitely need those ear plugs, the road noise was bad enough but we could also clearly hear every move of the guests either side of us and felt like we were living with those above us! It's a pity really because it isn't really a bad location and with a bit of effort and investment it could be a lovely spot but as it stands if we were to visit Miami again we would not stay here.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room at the rear of the property if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, It is unfortunate you were not happy with your stay, We strive to become Mimai number one choice hotel for travelers, and will certainly correct any issues that can fix the hotel.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Location is good. It's near to the miami airport and to the beach but you Should have a car.
There is a park in front of hotel so if you want to jog, you can go
Breakfast is like new york.. Bagles, bananas, cereal and milk and coffee..
Patio for the breakfast was quite good.
Only bad thing was the quilt.. It was always humid so i got a cold.
AH. the location of air-conditioner is not good.. the wind comes directly to the faces when you sleep.
Staffs were nice excepting the old lady in the front.
I recommend you this hotel if you want to save your money and spend it for your tour or shopping.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for the feedback, We are happy to hear you had a memorable stay.

Certainly looking forward to your next visit to Miami
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.