We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel, rather a hostel, recommended for budget travellers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not a hotel, rather a hostel, recommended for budget travellers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you would like to be close to everything in Miami – book a hotel at South Beach near Ocean Drive (best option) or Miami Beach (second option). Hostel rather than a hotel, not a boutique type. average accommodation, looks much better at the pictures. Close to a bus stop to get to Downtown Miami. Recommended for budget travellers. Next time would book a hotel in Miami Beach as this location is way too far from the interesting places in Miami.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We are a hotel and we offer special rates for travelers to come to Miami and be able to have a memorable stay during their hoilday, We strive to become Miami choice hotel. We are 15 minutes from Southbeach by car and there is a public bus that is conveient for our guest that will also take you to Southbeach however it does take a little longer since the bus makes stop at every other corner to pick up passengers but you do get to see our beautiful tropical state on the way.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    224
    132
    59
    49
See reviews for
98
280
53
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked for a night in this hotel for a trip we had planned to Miami unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances we could no longer make the coach trip down to Miami. So I sent an email really apologising for this and explaining the situation however no reply sent back to me just an email telling me that I have been charged $75 for not turning up ! No communication from the hotel with me feel very let down and I would NOT consider booking with this hotel with the poor standards of customer service on offer !

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
We are sorry that you feel that way however when you book a reservation through a different travel website there are 2 choices non refundable and refundable with in your cancellation policy.
If you cancel a reservation the day of and the policy is 24 hour prior yes there is a penalty.
If you book a non refundable booking at a lower rate this means non refundable.
When you book your reservation not directly with the hotel we do not have any corrsepondence with the guest until the day you check in therefore the guest are responsible to contact whichever website they booked with example hotels.com, book-it, travalocity and etc.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed this hotel as I saw it in "Hotel Impossible" and it was a particularly touching episode form me. The hotel itself is ok and for the price you pay, it's fair, but I was a little disappointed in some aspects.
Mimi in the front desk was really nice. Although, and opposite to what I've found in all Miami hotels I've been to, we didn't find the cleaning ladies very nice, which was a surprise. When we where checking out, we were trying to enter in the reception with our 3 bags and, due to that, having some trouble opening the door. There were some cleaning ladies on the lobby, as well as one of the front desk guys, but they didn't do any attempt to help with the door (I'm not a ceremonial person at all and I'm against someone carrying my bags if I can do it myself, but a little help with the door would have been nice).
The room was spacious and clean, except for the walls, that had some stains, which certainly disturbed the harmony of the rooms. A/C was located on a small closet, but it didn't make sense, because the capacity to refrigerate decreases a lot. Bathroom is small but clean, very old school but I liked it! I would suggest the owner to put there a shelf or a small seat, because there is no space to put a necessaire.
There is also a small fridge in the room and they also provide free earplugs, as the Biscayne Blvd. is quite busy, but we didn't need them.
Pool area is nice and pleasant, we took a dip at night, after a huge rainstorm. Breakfast area is pleasant, but it is showing some ageing signs since "Hotel Impossible" makeover. Breakfast itself was included and it was basic, but enough for us.
Hotel surroundings nothing special, many motels, some fast food restaurants, but in 15-20min you can reach South Beach via Julia Tuttle Causeway, and this is a plus. Parking is free and not a problem in hotel grounds.
Despite some details, I think New Yorker is a good choice in the very expensive Miami, regarding its distance to the beach: it offers nice, clean rooms with a simple breakfast for a fair price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We apologize for any inconveience you may have experienced during your check out. We strive to become Miami number one choice hotel and certainly to acheive this we must provide excellent customer sevice at check in / check out and during our guest stay making our guest feel this is their home away from home.

We certainly look forward to your next visit,
Walter&Shirley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Cute little hotel. Short drive to the beach - would recommend for a few nights but not for a whole week. Rooms clean and tidy and reception staff nice. Nice pool area and continental breakfast in the mornings. Parking also not a problem. Good value for money.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the comfort and quality of our hotel.
We look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barquisimeto, Venezuela
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It's a nice, simple and comfortable hotel. It has the basics things you would need.

I made the reservation via online and they received me very good on the check-in day, they don't take a deposit, only charge for the days you are staying.

Nice staff. Good bedrooms, very clean and comfortable beds! Good TV, fridge, table, air conditioning... Bathroom just nice, clean towels everyday.

It has a nice place for breakfast in an outdoor area, it just need some maintenance in some places and more roof for rainy days! The breakfast was good and enough everyday, the only bad things about it, that it was the same food everyday (no that bad) and one day they took it off before time (it was 10:05am and it suppose to be at 10:30am), so we didn't had breakfast that day!

It also has a nice pool zone! It counts with Wi-Fi everywhere and enough parking stalls for everybody. It is close to many things, good ubication! There is always coffe and tea, and a microwave!

Maybe they must clean up a bit more in common areas!

I would come back. I recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, We are happy to hear you had a memorable stay with us and certainly look forward to your return stay.
We are a beautiful hotel and strive to become Miami number one choice hotel.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Harbour, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Too bad that when I arrived I had to wait for my room to be cleaned.
But it was convenient located and easy to go by bus to the beach and shopping malls,
breakfast was sufficient and a very nice outdoor cafe.
Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Its right on a very busy road, so you need earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, We do our best to accomidate our guest needs at the New Yorker Hotel. Happy to hear you had a memorable stay and certainly look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice unique little place. It is close to everything and you will enjoy being right off biscayne. The rooms are small and very comfortable. The televisions are very up to date and the breakfast is outside. It is a very nice place and I will recommend it to anyone on a budget that wants to feel safe and still get a good nights sleep.

Also in the room they give you little ear plugs. I guess because they are right off the road. But in actuality you really can't hear a thing once the air is turned on and the tv is on. Nice little place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, We are please to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that you were pleased with the comfort and quality of our property.

We certainly look forward to your return visit
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.