We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Sarcelles, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I picked this hotel because of the reviews, and I'm glad I did. For the price, it's very affordable. Free breakfast in a cute courtyard, free parking and free wifi, and a fridge in the room was useful. We had a room overlooking the pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We liked the friendly young man working at the breakfast bar. Although the carpet and bathroom floor could use a good scrubbing, the room was otherwise clean. Comfortable beds. Fast check out. Only minor complaints were that you can hear the neighbors through the vents in the bathroom (complimentary earplugs was a thoughtful gesture) and for some reason, the ceiling light, which works with a remote, would turn on by itself randomly while we slept, which was annoying, but we found out why (the light switch near the door must remain in the down position.) There was also one incident where the front desk rang us at 12:30 or 1 am, jolting me out of a sound sleep, to ask if we had a Honda Civic parked outside because one of the windows were open. It wasn't our car, and I know he meant well since it had poured rain every night while we were there, but I would have thought they knew which room had what type of car because this is one of the questions they asked us when we checked in. At any rate, I would recommend this hotel and will stay here again when I'm in Miami.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, We are happy to hear you were pleased with the comfort and quality of our hotel. Our staff are great they go above and beyond for our guest and are very knodgeable about where to go and their surrounding areas. We apologize for any inconveience you may have had and appericate your feedback. We strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel for travelers.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    231
    137
    59
    49
See reviews for
102
286
54
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February for two nights before a cruise. Nothing fancy but for the price we would stay there again. It included free parking(get there early to get a spot), free wifi and complimentary continental breakfast in a cute little courtyard. We stayed on the main floor facing the pool. The ceiling squeaked when people walked around in the room above. The complimentary ear plugs worked. The beds and bedding were super comfortable. What you would get at a five star hotel. the rest of the room was basic. the bathroom small and needed a little fixing and the bathroom door needed some paint. It still had stickers on it from the factory. The neighbourhood is older but we didn't have any problems walking around although if I was a female by myself I would have been uncomfortable. We tried a restaurant down the street called Balens and it was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing pool away from busy front street. Also ask for second floor room to avoid list...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for ypur feedback, We are a small property with limited rooms to poolside needless to say the hotel is at high demand, we do our best to accomidate each guest request. We have been well establish for forty years family owned and operated we are an historic property which is why we are limited to what changes can be made and what can not.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Decent hotel for the price.excellent service. The guy on reception was great, really helpful and polite.

The hotel is more of a motel.
Mostly clean, the rooms are ready for a lick of paint and an update.

Stayed here 1 night. About 15 minute drive from Miami beach.

Quite noisy due to traffic and neighbours, but they did provide complimentary ear plugs in the room. Comfy bed. Fast check in and out. Free breakfast and parking.

Good for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, We strive to become Miami's choice hotel. Our staff provides excellent service to our guest and accomidate our guest needs.


Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friend and I were passing through Miami on a 15-hour layover on our way home from volunteering in South America. One of the managers ended up being our shuttle driver from the airport back to the cute New Yorker Boutique. Our drive from the airport was like a tour, he pointed out celebrity houses and famous places in Miami. We told our driver about our plans for the next morning to see as much of Miami in the little time we had before our flights. He offered to take us down the Miami boardwalk after we checked out in the morning and pick us up with our bags in the car and take us to the airport. Such a nice gesture!
Once we had arrived at the hotel, Mimi at the front desk was so happy and welcoming. It was really nice to have such nice hospitality! She gave us the wifi code and showed us some places to eat dinner with discounts if you showed the hotel card.
The breakfast was just great! Lots of bananas, apples, bagels, and milk.
Our checkout went smoothly, and our few hours at Miami Beach were incredible. He showed us where to go and where he would pick us up. Everything ran flawlessly.
Overall, it was a great place to stay. Yes, the hotel is not a 5 star hotel, but after being without running water for weeks we were in heaven. It had a very retro diner feel. Personally I liked it, it was cheap and gave me everything I needed. Couldn’t really ask for more. Don’t forget to factor in the airport shuttle cost is $10 per person per drive!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, We are pleased to hear you had a great stay and were satisfied with the comfort and quaility we offer along with the great service provided by our staff.

We certainily look forward to your next visit
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days, the Hotel location is not so good and if you come back late at night you'll not find a slot for your car in the Hotel's parking.
The room level is average compared to the price (actually I didn't try other Hotels in Miami to be able to compare but the experience wasn't very satisfying while the Hotel is not that cheap). Bathrooms need complete overhauling, I couldn't believe that there is no clothes hangers in the bathroom or even a place where I can put my toothbrush or my hairbrush. The outdoor breakfast area is nice and the breakfast itself is good too.
By some improvements and refurbishments the hotel can become much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay. We apologize for any inconveience you may have experienced during your stay. We are located on a main highway 15 minutes to downtown by car and 20 minutes to southbeach by car . We do provide 10 hangers to each room and there is a closet to hang cloths in the event the guest needs additional hangers they can call frontdesk and we will provide additional hangers.As for parking our hotel sits on its entire block of 65 street, we have 3 lots for parking in front of hotel 1/in the back of hotel and in addition 1/on the side parking at the hotel is not nor has been an issue we have enough spaces for our guest and staff. We take all complaints and request and address them accordingly to improve our property and to become Miami's number one choice hotel for travelers.

Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Well, everything here is average or below, the room couldn't be any smaller, the location is average, not close to anything, so rent yourself a car.
Breakfast is all carbs with no hot items, only bananas for a change.
Room upkeep and cleanness are average.
I like a lot the breakfast area, outdoor and cozy.

Room Tip: Book your room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Sorry to hear you werenot satisfied with our property, We strive to become Miami's number one choice hotel, We do provide bagels, cereals, fruit for our complentry breakfast to our guest to give them a great start in the morning. We do our best to accomidate our guest needs and request.



Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Was very disappointed with my stay.... the room decor was cute but when i went into the restroom the toilet had not been flushed and the shower had a little bit of mildew. The rug had a wet dog smell and the people that work on the office are rude and unprofessional

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We apologize for any inconveience you may have experience during your stay, However we were not aware of any issues during your stay,We strive to become Miami number one choice hotel and we take our feedback very serious and will correct any issues. We have been well establish for forty years and have been rated a 4 star property by our guest and will continue to maintain that rating.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.