We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the upgrade.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 130 hotels in Miami
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worth the upgrade.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were quite good value for what we paid. The hotel is very smart looking in the area compared to others. The rooms are nice and I am glad we upgraded to a super king as our room was carpeted and a little larger. The standard rooms for the rest of our party were not. We were also facing the pool and not facing the main road (Highway 1). The room was well decorated and we had a picture of Paul Newman in our room.There was a fridge which was handy. Breakfast was outside in a courtyard and was simple but filling. Breakfast staff were friendly and helpful and we were greeted well and offered information if we wanted it.

Our only concern was that the end room next to us was being used for filming a music video and we were not informed this by the hotel on arrival. The crew were incredibly noisy as they woke us up at 7am on our first morning and had been talking loudly outside their room on a mobile phone past 10 pm the previous night. We did inform the hotel the following afternoon but were told they had finished filming. The crew were still there for some time after that and were even sitting outside our room chatting loudly on the table and chairs from the room. We were not impressed with this as we booked our room about six months in advance so the hotel could have blocked our room and placed us and others away from them to avoid any problems when they took their booking.

I would not rule out staying here again as the room was comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superking bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We certainly apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused and the reason we did not inform guest of the music video in a timely fashion was as follow the video was force to extend their hours due to getting permits by the city and this was not caused on their error. It just took longer for the team to obtain proper documents.and we did inform them that they would have to expedite the video however there were a few of our guest that did participate in that video also.

Looking forward to your next visit
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    219
    127
    57
    48
See reviews for
95
267
51
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

this property is well advertised as a retro styled property on us1.
the staff were really friendly, the breakfast buffet enjoyable in the open courtyard setting, and the property itself well located to attractions and well maintained.
the market next door is handy for snacks and drinks but the clientelle in there at night is a bit dodgy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review,.We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the comfort and quality of our property.

looking froward to your future arrival
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was a bit concerned when driving in the area, but the hotel was very nice. I had no problems with anyone in the neighborhood, even though wasn't there long. The staff was extremely nice, helped me with any questions I had. The room was clean, and I thought it was so cool having a picture of Al Pacino scarface above the bed. I didn't drive to South Beach, as was concerned about police, so easily took cabs there. A bit pricey, but worth it to get there safe, and not have to worry about getting back. Nice pool area, though was a bit chilly to go in the water. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, We have been well established since 1940 and we are a safe area. We are a transitional area.We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the comfort and quality of our property.

looking froward to your future arrival
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I can't imagine how people and trip advisor gave it such a high rating! It is in a scary part of town, it looks like they try and keep it up and our room certainly wasn't up to a decent level! First time I ever had the air conditioner in a closet!
On the plus side, Mimi tried to make everything right for us and the breakfast of cereal, juice,coffe, buns and bagels was fine.
Go here only if you need a cheap hotel in between flights.

Room Tip: I don't think there is one but ours was main floor facing the street and they supplied us with 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our property. We are a beautiful property and have been well established and kept up for forty years. None of our rooms have air condition in a closet what we do provide for our guest is a separate control unit for each room so that our guest can control their own air condition. We are located on a main highway in a transitional surrounding. We are a three star hotel and was rated a four star by four guest.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a great hotel if you don't have to be right in the middle of the South Beach action. Parking on-site. It's on Biscayne Blve (US 1), but not too noisy. Rooms have small fridges and are very clean. The breakfast buffet is generous, so you won't have to eat doughnuts!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted that you were satisfied with the comfort and quality at our property.

looking forward to your future visit
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This review is from our stay a while back for two nights (Dec.3rd - 5th of 2011), but I was looking through some pictures and notes recently. This place is great. It is very reasonable for Miami especially during Art Basel (part of our visit) which can really drive up the prices. We split our stay in Miami between two hotels which helped keep the cost down. As soon as we arrived we received great customer service and were given our room in the back of the hotel facing the pool area. One nice thing here is there is free parking too which makes it easy if you are renting a car. Our room was tidy, clean and simple. There is lots of space in the closet for your luggage and clothing too. The bathroom was a little tight, but worked fine for us. Another thing is this hotel is one of the few in Miami that did not have bed bug problems which is very rampant in Miami and Miami Beach, which was also why we stayed there. This is a huge problem in DC where we live, so when we arrived I thoroughly checked out the room beforehand and there was no signs of this at all. One thing for sure is the walls are thin as others have said, but we are used to hearing neighbors in DC. At one point the first night we could definitely hear some wild sex moaning going on in one of the rooms above us! They leave you some ear plugs in the room though, so we just used those and slept fine. The moaning didn't last too long anyhow...

We found staying in Miami (city) to be very convenient and easy for us as well to get to the Art Basel show. We were concerned about how long it might take to get to Miami Beach and back, but it was really easy. From what I understand the hotel is located in a neighborhood called "Little Haiti" due to all the Haitian immigrants moving into that part of town at some point. Contrary to what others have said we felt fine walking around at night and found a really nice restaurant down the road called "Balans". They had really good asian-fusion style food and it was very reasonable as well. The restaurant had a very pleasant atmosphere. It was a short walk down Biscayne Blvd to get there. There also was a small convenience store a block down from the hotel that is easy to pick up late night snacks from. One thing is weird though is that the store sells "six packs" of beer that are literally 12 packs cut in half and wrapped in packaging tape. Maybe this is a local thing?

Our breakfast was free and tasty in the pleasant courtyard of the hotel. It's a great little oasis to sit and take in the morning under the palm trees and walled garden before you go out for the day. They had fresh bagels, cereal, bananas, coffee and lots of other drinks as well.
The pool looked pretty inviting, but unfortunately we never got to try it.

All in all I would definitely stay at the New Yorker again. It's a nice and easy way to stay in Miami.

Room Tip: Maybe try to see if you can get a room on the pool side of the hotel. It is probably a little quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We want to thank you for your kind review and are delighted you were pleased with the comfort and quality needless to say all of our great amenities we offer to our guest at our property. We strive to become Miami's number one choice hotel for travelers and with the the ratings from our guest were on the way. We certainly look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The New Yorker Hotel is a vintage hotel on Biscayne Boulevard, host to many budget motels. It stands out from the street as better maintained than many of its neighbours. The personnal was very helpful when I found out I made a mistake with by reservation and accomodated me nevertheless. The room was in the back of the hotel and I wondered about the ear plugs provided on the night stand. I guess the were provided to drown out the noise of the AC unit that resempled a jet on take-off. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom small. Complimentary continental breakfast was served al fresco in a brightly painted courtyard by a cheery staff member. If on a budget it is a good place to spend a night.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, We are a family own and operated property who has been established for the past 45 years and continuing to strive to become Miamis first choice hotel for travelers.
Our friendly staff are great they go above and beyond to accomidate our guest.

Looking forward to your next visit,
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.