We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute decor, but disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Nashville, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cute decor, but disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The retro themed hotel was cutely decorated. Unfortunately it needs a deep cleaning and some cosmetic touch ups. The front door and bathroom door were grimy and either need to be cleaned or painted. The bathroom had black mildew on the shower walls and the hot and cold knobs were hollow because the fronts of the knobs were missing. There again, just a thorough cleaning and I wouldn't have felt the need to stand on a hand towel while showering. The carpet needed a cleaning as well. The bed was comfortable, so a good nights sleep wasn't a problem. It's great for just a night or two but wouldn't book a lengthy stay. I was disappointed because the room was cutely decorated but the lack of cleanliness detracted from that. I'm a big believer of clean is cheap and easy to achieve. Something else we noticed is there was no climate control in the room, which it was cool the night we stayed so the fan was enough but if was summer it could be a problem. There is a fridge in the room which is a plus. We aren't swimmers so can't comment on the pool and didn't have the breakfast.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the road out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the comfort and quality of our hotel.
We strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel and will certainly fix the issues that you mentioned in your feedback and look forward to your return visit on your future holiday.


Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    221
    131
    57
    48
See reviews for
98
277
53
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very pleasant stay, very friendly and accomodating staff and owners. Iron/ironing board in every room, as well as a hair dryer. I chose this hotel after viewing the HGTV makeover which was completed in 2011. It seems the New Yorker has continued with the changes and suggestions made by Anthony. My room was a couple of doors down from the office and I was wary of not being able to sleep well- but didn't hear a thing. Slept very well , in part due to the great bedding and pillows. Very nice breakfast patio, and a nice place to hang out to relax or read. I did try the pool area which was well appointed but it was too cool and rainy during my stay. I was very fortunate to attend New Yorkers' Christmas party, all guests were invited and many attended. It was a great party, wonderful and plentiful food, lots of interaction with staff and guests. While I have stayed in fancier places for the same price, I was not disappointed with my stay and would do so again. I grew up in the era of 50's hotel/motels and this brought back memories of my 1961 stay in Miami. New Yorker was clean, quiet, friendly, with a shuttle from the airport, near the cruise port, shared a taxi with other guests to the port. What more could I have wanted? My only suggestion would be a luggage rack in each room. Although there is no restaurant on site, there is an excellent restaurant just a block down the street.
Nancy S

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review,
We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the comfort and quality of our hotel.
Our staff are very friendly and accommodating and are familiar with our surroundings to guide our guest to the best places to visit and eat.
happy to hear you had a memorable stay and will certainly look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

GREAT HOTEL, I WONDER WHAT FAMOUS PEOPLE STAYED HERE IN THE 50,s the price was right, nice bedding, did not have to use earplugs, stayed next to pool, you can tell they are trying to keep up maintenance as they were always working on something, loved the breakfast, and the smiling face of charles, it was nice to have staff there at all times, so cozy, sinthia was a sweetheart, helpfull and very friendly, all the staff did a great job! if your looking for the RITZ HOTEL,then book there, if your looking for friendly, homey, small, comfy, and fair price, this is the hotel. Jimmy,s Diner 5 blocks to your left, good home cooked meals. good price childrens consignment store across the street . had a great 3 day stay. all new pool furniture on its way, bet it will look great.

Room Tip: back rooms near the pool, lower rooms no stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review,
Happy to hear you were pleased with the comfort and quality at our hotel, we are a hidden gem :)
We certainly look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Hills,ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great Little Hotel,1950's Art deco rooms. Very clean and with a great King size bed, excellent bedding and pillows. A comfortable nights sleep. This was a stop over before we went on a Carnival Cruise to Mexico and the Grand Caymans. Very friendly staff, Nice breakfast Patio. All Good. An excellent restaurant is just 1 block from the hotel. It's called the Blue Collar...This is a good place to stay if you want to stay on budget.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street on the lower floor. Very nice ,no noise even though they supplied ear plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy to hear you had a memorable stay and certainly look forward to your next visit.
We strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel for travelers to stay with us.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived at this hotel after a visit at Naples and Orlando. Of our trip, this hotel was our most expensive choice, but it was definitely not the best one. The Newyorker is by far not a bad place to stay, but to many things are at least average (painting off the wall, small bathrooms, dirty pillows at the swimming pool, very noisy room).

The most positive thing of the hotel is the service of the employees. They all want to help you out and you really feeling welcome. Without this service, this hotel for us would be very average.
We also liked the location by the way. Not a very touristic surrounding, what we liked! Also very good restaurants in the neighbourhood (Blue Collar and Andiamo) and you are in 15 minutes at Miami Beach.
We slept in a room at the "busy road", but we had no problems with that. You here some cars, but for us, they didn't keep us out of sleep. You sleep in Miami, so you have to live with some noice from outside I think.

Btw: I don't think they have bed bugs. I also had red bults on my legs, but I think there are some "mampira's"(dutch name. I don't know the English word). This are very small musquito's. In tropical countries, you have them everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We like to thank you for taking the time to write your review,
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had and thank you for informing us that there wee some issue with your stay.
We strive to become Miami number choice hotel and will correct any issues that our guest may of had during their stay.

Looking forward to your next visit
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The idea is great but missed the mark on cleanliness. The decor is cute and unique. I do realize that this is an old building with the character of an old building, especially with plastered walls, old tile in bathroom. But old doesn't mean it cant be clean. Doors are dirty, major pet peave! I see the grime around the door knobs, surely they see it too! Black mildewed grout in shower, not acceptable. Nothing a mildew spray cleaner and scrub brush wouldn't fix! Seriously, I have showered in campground showers cleaner than that. Crusty stain on duvet cover, ewww. The baseboard is major dingy and dusty and just needs cleaned and fresh coat of paint. The carpet tiles are very dirty. No bare feet in the room!
Just a few touches would have made the room feel comfortable instead of cootified. Tired from travels you just want to chill and relax not be grossed out. The decor is cute and retro, but the lack of cleanliness ruined the experience. Great concept on the decor though. We expected the noise especially since it comes with ear plugs, appreciated that! I really hope they can be more detailed on the cleaning and freshen up with some touch ups, and I would give it better reviews.
Can't comment on pool or breakfast, wasn't there long enough to try it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. We thank you for the feedback and will certainly fix the issues you found to be inappropriate and not up to our standards. We strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel and with our guest feedback we will fix all that needs to be fix to continue to be Miamis number one choice hotel.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

very basic hotel rather well-located in Biscayne blvd and I guess value for money is the only reason I suggest it. Other than that, not much to look into it but when in Miami and you don't want to spend to much (and don't expect too much!) it is a good option. The fact that there are ear plugs next to each bed should tell you something about the noise...

Room Tip: Better not the ones looking at the boulevard - too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are a great property and we are located on the main highway in Miami.
We do provide top of the line earplugs for our guest who are light sleepers.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;