We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First timer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Had to go to Miami for the night. Decided to stay at a Hotel that was reorganized by Anthony form "Hotel Impossible". Still you see most of the transformations. Room smelled clean (guess they used lots of chlorine) but forgot to remove all the hair in the bathroom. All in all it's ok for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We strive to make sure our guest have a great stay.
We apologize for any inconvenience may have caused.
We like to thank you for bringing any issue you had to our attention in order for us to correct.


Thank you
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    224
    132
    59
    49
See reviews for
98
280
53
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kiryat motzkin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights. The motel was built in 1953 and renovated since. The stuff is very friendly and helpfull and this is the only strong point.
The motel is located on the US-1 route which is very buisy and noisy. There are some rooms in the back, but those on the front suffer noise. Ear plugs are provided for the gusts to avoid that noise. The motel is far from downtown and from the south Miami attractions like the zoo and the Everglades. Only a frig is provided in some of the rooms. No microwave and no coffee machine. There is no ventilation in the bathroom and there is no window that can be opened, not even on the second floor.
The continental breakfast with an addition of apples and bannanas is not very imppresive. For the $100+ I would expect more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear are quieter. Ask for a room with a frig if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experience during your stay with us.
We are a three star hotel and have been rated by our guest as a four star hotel.
We provide a excellent complementary continental breakfast for our guest. and is certainly enough to give our guest a great start .
We are located 15 minutes from downtown by car and there is local transportation on each corner that guest use to get to downtown in the event they do not have a car.
The bus takes about 25-40 minutes to get downtown as it stops on each corner .
Everglades is located in Fort Lauderdale which is not in dade county and the metro zoo is located down south.

Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Really nice and cool place to stay in Miami. A bit expensive and far from Miami beach though. The room was great and the breakfast was good. I suggest you take the bus (L line) from the 74th av. It takes you directly to the great south beach... Oh only disappointment was the pool (not clean).

Room Tip: Try to have a room that doesn't face the boulevard. To avoid cars noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and certainly look forward to your return visit. Because our pool is surrounded by trees the leaves from the wind do tend to fall from the trees but we have our outside pool service clean our pool on daily basis.


Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Wanted to give this place a try after watching Hotel Impossible.
Wi-Fi is free and hardly works in the room. I was on second floor almost directly above the lobby and signal kept dropping.
Complimentary continental breakfast is exactly that... Cereal, limited selections of bagels and OJ.
My bed/mattress was extremely loud. if I moved at all in bed my friend in other bed would wake up and laugh

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay.
Thank you for informing us that there was an issue with your bed.
Our beds are made of a hard wood platform and we were not inform of the bed making noise in order for us to contact the company to come out and make any repairs that need to be made since our beds are special made to order.
As for our complementary breakfast it is a great start for our guest.
As for our wifi we apologize for any issues you may have had but the outside company was working on the problem and promised that it would be fixed in a timely fashison and ihappy to say t has been corrected.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Before heading out on our cruise, we chose to stay at the New Yorker for three nights. We chose the location because of its easy access to downtown Miami and Miami Beach by transit. We were pleasantly surprised with the New Yorker, the front desk staff was very helpful and our rooms were neat and tidy - very well kept. All in all very good value for the money and very easy to catch the number 3 bus to get to bayside - downtown and Miami Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, Happy to hear you were pleased with the comfort and quaility of your stay and certainly look forward to your next visit with us.


Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked for 3 nights but only stayed 2 nights and ran after that. (1) This is a Motel, not a Hotel. (2) The first night I stayed in a room facing to the street. It was very noisy. Traffics never stops.
The insulation was poor and I can hear noise from the other rooms, like human speaking and snoring and, making love after midnight (this was the second night). (3) A lamp on the ceiling was flickering, unstable, just looks like it's dying. I told to a staff. She came in and checked it out. It was still flickering but she said "it is ok to me." and something like "sometimes customers argued that but when I came in, it was good." I felt she didn't believe her customers. This was very very upset, unhappy service. However, she still wanted to help me but, they couldn't fix it at that time. They can only leave a note to the manager and have someone to fix it next day. After she left, the lamp was getting worse, even went out. (4) The second day I changed to the other room facing the pool. It was much quieter from the traffics. However, when people walking upstairs (I was in the 1st floor) , I can hear unpleasant sound like very old woody house. (5) The refrigerator is right next to the bed. Its machine pump worked fine and thus made noise all the night. (6) The closet... actually there was no closet. The "closet" has no door, just like other reviewers' said. (7) I saw dead mosquitos on the wall in the first-night room. I was bit after the second night. Overall this was a terrible experience. This was a very good lesson to me. I would suggest they pay more attention to the sound insulation, not just give ear plugs. Not everyone can sleep with ear plugs. Also they have to update furnitures and rearrange them.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the pool are quieter. Rooms facing to the street are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We are a three star hotel and have been rated by our customers as a four star hotel.
We are located on Biscayne Bouvelard which is the main highway.
We also provide top of the line earplugs for our guest.
We apologize for any inconveience you may have experienced here during your stay.
our staff does their best in assisting our guest and making sure they are happy with their accomidations.
Unfortunately because it was late and the problem had to be corrected in the morning our staff did offer you other accomidations.
As for the size of the rooms and because of our historic building codes we are limited on what we can change and what we can not.

Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Rude front desk, yellow pillow, poor door. The card does not work which made me wait outside for half an hour. They do not care you. And they even do not give you refund. What a horrible hotel!! Never be there again. They do not know what is respect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.