We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay before I left for cruise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 129 hotels in Miami
Schaumburg, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1 night stay before I left for cruise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Wanted to give this place a try after watching Hotel Impossible.
Wi-Fi is free and hardly works in the room. I was on second floor almost directly above the lobby and signal kept dropping.
Complimentary continental breakfast is exactly that... Cereal, limited selections of bagels and OJ.
My bed/mattress was extremely loud. if I moved at all in bed my friend in other bed would wake up and laugh

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay.
Thank you for informing us that there was an issue with your bed.
Our beds are made of a hard wood platform and we were not inform of the bed making noise in order for us to contact the company to come out and make any repairs that need to be made since our beds are special made to order.
As for our complementary breakfast it is a great start for our guest.
As for our wifi we apologize for any issues you may have had but the outside company was working on the problem and promised that it would be fixed in a timely fashison and ihappy to say t has been corrected.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    219
    126
    57
    47
See reviews for
96
272
53
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Before heading out on our cruise, we chose to stay at the New Yorker for three nights. We chose the location because of its easy access to downtown Miami and Miami Beach by transit. We were pleasantly surprised with the New Yorker, the front desk staff was very helpful and our rooms were neat and tidy - very well kept. All in all very good value for the money and very easy to catch the number 3 bus to get to bayside - downtown and Miami Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, Happy to hear you were pleased with the comfort and quaility of your stay and certainly look forward to your next visit with us.


Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked for 3 nights but only stayed 2 nights and ran after that. (1) This is a Motel, not a Hotel. (2) The first night I stayed in a room facing to the street. It was very noisy. Traffics never stops.
The insulation was poor and I can hear noise from the other rooms, like human speaking and snoring and, making love after midnight (this was the second night). (3) A lamp on the ceiling was flickering, unstable, just looks like it's dying. I told to a staff. She came in and checked it out. It was still flickering but she said "it is ok to me." and something like "sometimes customers argued that but when I came in, it was good." I felt she didn't believe her customers. This was very very upset, unhappy service. However, she still wanted to help me but, they couldn't fix it at that time. They can only leave a note to the manager and have someone to fix it next day. After she left, the lamp was getting worse, even went out. (4) The second day I changed to the other room facing the pool. It was much quieter from the traffics. However, when people walking upstairs (I was in the 1st floor) , I can hear unpleasant sound like very old woody house. (5) The refrigerator is right next to the bed. Its machine pump worked fine and thus made noise all the night. (6) The closet... actually there was no closet. The "closet" has no door, just like other reviewers' said. (7) I saw dead mosquitos on the wall in the first-night room. I was bit after the second night. Overall this was a terrible experience. This was a very good lesson to me. I would suggest they pay more attention to the sound insulation, not just give ear plugs. Not everyone can sleep with ear plugs. Also they have to update furnitures and rearrange them.

Room Tip: Rooms facing to the pool are quieter. Rooms facing to the street are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We are a three star hotel and have been rated by our customers as a four star hotel.
We are located on Biscayne Bouvelard which is the main highway.
We also provide top of the line earplugs for our guest.
We apologize for any inconveience you may have experienced here during your stay.
our staff does their best in assisting our guest and making sure they are happy with their accomidations.
Unfortunately because it was late and the problem had to be corrected in the morning our staff did offer you other accomidations.
As for the size of the rooms and because of our historic building codes we are limited on what we can change and what we can not.

Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Rude front desk, yellow pillow, poor door. The card does not work which made me wait outside for half an hour. They do not care you. And they even do not give you refund. What a horrible hotel!! Never be there again. They do not know what is respect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and we enjoyed the hospitality and very friendly staff. The price is really reasonable. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The pool is not a highlight: the water is cold and not very clean. It is important to note that this is a very basic motel: they serve the same breakfast as in a motel 6, the services are equivalent to a Super 8 or a travelodge but with a desire to decorate nicely and nice touches (the patio to have breakfast for example) that give charm and make a difference with a basic motel. The big negative: the noise. Whether the road or people in the room, it is not well soundproofed.

Room Tip: The neighborhood is not central, you have to have a car. Balans restaurant on Biscayne is a great p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We thank you for your kind review,
We are a three star hotel with a four star rating by our guest.
We strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel.
We have friendly staff who go above and beyond for our guest and make our guest feel that this is their home away from home.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I think this place suffers from bad expectation-setting. It's *not* a 3-star hotel. It's just a motel. They've tried to doll it up with some kitschy jetsons-style decor and baby blue paint, and changed the M on the sign to an H. But it's still very much a MOtel, and sort of a dump.

So when my family arrived expecting a nice stay in a hotel, we were severely disappointed. The rooms are typical motel-style. The door didn't quite fit the frame leaving a sizeable gap through which we could see out to the street. The carpet between the 2 beds had a spill of cleaning fluid, so my sock got all wet and smelled of pine-sol. Either it was just a spill, or they had done a half-assed job cleaning up something gross there. The suds from the detergent puddle started coming up brownish; the carpet just felt so dirty that I didn't want my kid to set foot off the bed.

The bathroom was old, with broken handles, etc. The mini-fridge was not plugged in, and the outlet it should have been plugged into was broken in the wall. The lighting is very harsh. I really don't get how this place has such good ratings; it's sort of a dumpy motel, definitely *not* a 3-star hotel.

The immediate location feels ok; we were able to walk up the block to a few restaurants and shops. But driving around a few blocks, it's clear this place is right on the edge of some pretty sketchy neighborhoods. Not really a great place to take a stroll. You'll want to drive to your vacation attractions from here.

Before we arrived, we asked if early check-in was possible, and also whether a crib would be available for our baby. These are typical requests at a hotel, but the responses we got were somewhat curt. While we were waiting we also heard someone on the phone getting some equally brusque customer service.

We ended up checking out of this place later in the evening the same day we arrived; we didn't even want to stay the night here, despite the fact that we had paid a nonrefundable booking in advance. The net result of the experience was that I lost some faith in trip advisor ratings!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We apologize for any Inconvenience you may have experienced at our Hotel.
We are a three star hotel and have been rated four star by our guest.
The building in which your room was located was our newer building that has been through a complete renovation a few years ago.
Our entire property is well kept and needless to say our rooms are spotless.
We are the only Hotel in our surrounding area.
According to when you were ask the reason for your early departure upon check out your response was your wedding party had already booked you other accomidations and paid for elsewhere.
At no time did you mention to our staff that it was due to any dislikes you may have had at our property or our surrounding area..
We also do not have any early check ins since we are 100% occupancy during the season.
We are sorry we did not meet your standings, but I am well aware of how good our property is and how we accommodate all our clients wants and needs.
We are sorry we weren't able to meet yours.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The breakfast was good, the people were nice, the room was clean and air conditioned, it was nice to relax by the pool at night, Miami is a great place to visit, no matter where you go. I had read reviews about this place being too far away from Miami center, but it was a lovely neighbourhood where others said hi and weren't rude. Their was a wendy's close by and a lovely precious stones and stuffed animals museum not too far. With the bus it took us 20 minutes to get to Miami Beach and a lady was kind enough to bring us to a local pharmacy where we could get a weekly 26$ pass :) All in all, the hotel was good and we had many great memories there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
We are happy to hear to were satisfied with the comfort and quality we provided to you during your stay at our property.

Certainly looking forward to your next visit,
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.