We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“khaled and jehan from EGYPT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 131 hotels in Miami
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“khaled and jehan from EGYPT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great hotel , clean , and good price . Location is central to downtown and beach. People there are very kind and helpful (mimi, symbia and charleis ALL people , I hope not forget any one). I recommmend this place to whom is comming to miami. Room facility is perfect and stuff which is not present can be found by the help of people there.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    209
    118
    53
    44
See reviews for
90
256
50
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently stayed at the New Yorker for one night pre-cruise (total of 3 rooms for our group). The room was very attractive and comfortable, with beautiful colors and fun artwork (we got Glenda and Dorothy from the "Wizard of Oz"!). Our room was on the street side, and even though we could hear some traffic noise, it was not loud and we didn't need the ear plugs provided.

Check in was fast and the Front Desk attendant was friendly. I also dealt with Mimi on the phone, and she was extremely helpful and polite, as well.

The pool area was nice and the courtyard was very attractive and comfortable. We brought food back in the evening and enjoyed our dinner in this area, as well as the continental breakfast in the morning. Food for breakfast was plentiful and was being replenished in a timely manner.

We booked our room directly with the hotel on their website, and when the price dropped, I contacted them and Gerri adjusted the price for us. This was a wonderful bit of Customer Service!

The hotel is a short drive straight down Biscayne Blvd to Bayside, the cruise ship terminal and the bridge to the South Beach area. Parking at the hotel was free, but it got abit tight late in the evening, so be prepared for some creative backing and forthing to get in the parking spots.

I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again in the future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We like to thank you for your review, and are delighted that you will certainly recommend us and look forward to your next visit.
We are a hidden gem hotel that offers excellent customer service clean beautiful rooms and great amendies.
We are fortunate that we have a excellent establishment in the heart of Miami and will continue to strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel for all guest that visit Miami.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friend and I booked this hotel for one night because it was very affordable and we just needed a place to stay before we headed out to Key West. We ended up returning to this hotel for another night at the end of the trip, so that should tell how we felt about the hotel.

Let me say that this is not a kind of place that you might imagine from the name "boutique hotel"... it's more like a prettied-up motel, but it was clean, had everything we needed, and (again) very affordable.

What we liked: Upon arrival, we were greeted by a super friendly staff and were allowed early check-in. Our room was at the far end of the building on the street side. The room had modern-pop decor and was clean. We were a bit worried about the noise that was mentioned in other travelers' reviews, but I slept just fine. My friend slept with ear plugs that were provided in the room, and he had one of the best night sleeps during the trip. I should mention that they had a great mattress! We both like our mattress to be on the firmer side, and it was perfect for us. Shower booth was very small, but clean and functional. Wi-fi worked ok. The breakfast in the courtyard was not fancy, but plenty. Free bottles of ice cold water was a nice plus.

Things to consider: The area around the hotel is shabby and there aren't much to do/see around the hotel. The hotel is far from the main beaches (8 miles, 20 min by car + time looking for a parking) and public transportation didn't sound all that convenient (Google map tells me it would take about an hour to Miami Beach).

Overall I recommend this hotel for one night stay (like us on the way to Key West, or in transit before the cruise), but if I were spending the entire vacation in Miami, I personally wouldn't want to commute to the beach every day.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about the noise, ask for the room on the pool side. Noise didn't bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
On behalf of our staff we would like to thank you for taking the time and submitting a great review.
We are pleased that you were satisfied with the comfort and quaility we provided to you.
And we certainly look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our mission in travel is to find the best deal for the absolute least amount of money. Yes, we are cheapskates. We needed a Miami hotel before a cruise and spent a lot of time doing research for the best deal. Because price is so important to us, we booked the Hotel New Yorker. It was easy to find in our rental car and we were allowed early check-in for which we were very grateful because we had been flying all night. We had requested a room facing the pool, advice from this website because outside rooms can be noisy, and this was granted. The room itself was a little rough, curtain falling down over the little window, the door jam had been poorly repaired and painted near the lock which made us wonder about security, there was a little kitchen which had never been used (I hope), a small bathroom and an old television. The room was very quiet. The bed was good and we slept well because of our lack of sleep the night before. Parking can be crowded when the hotel is full. Breakfast at the outside patio was hit and miss when a sudden downpour sent people scattering in all directions in the middle of toast and coffee.

While the hotel was not really up to three star standard, it was the best price for the least amound of money that we could find, and we give top marks for that. The office staff did everything possible to make us feel welcome and we appreciate that too, but it was rough around the edges and there was an overall feeling of 'spiders lurking in corners'. If we were returning to Miami we would probably stay there again unless a better deal presented itself. We made the booking through Expedia.

Room Tip: Our room facing the pool was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We apologize if you were not satisfied with your stay.
We are a beautiful hotel family own and operated and have recently renovated our rooms according to our limitations on what can be change and what can not.
All of our rooms have flat screen TV .
We are a three star hotel with a four star rating.
We strive to become Miamis number one choice hotel and have been awarded 2010,2011 and 2012 best hotel by trip advisory and the news tilmes and will continue to stay Miami number one choice hotel.

Looking forward to your next visit
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We are very happy with our stay at The New Yorkee Boutique. Lala, the girl at the reception desk, welcomed us with a nice smile and she was very helpful. She gave us directions to Miami beach (about 15 min from Miami beach) and some food recommendations (Blue Collar restaurant, 2 min walk and the Salsa Fiesta restaurant, 10 min drive).

The rooms were very nice and clean! Housekeeping even puts 2 bottles of water in the fridge every morning. Some reviews complain about noise of cars passing by at night on Biscayne Blvd. To be honest, it didn't bother my sleep so for me it really wasn't that big of a deal.

A great thing about this hotel is the free breakfast every morning hosted by Charles, our Bahamian friend who couldn't stop smiling (even when it was pouring rain outside).

One thing though that could use some improvement was the wifi reception in our room. I think we were just in a poor reception zone with our room because I got one bar from the breakfast wifi and one bar from the reception wifi. Nothing major really.

Just want to say that Lala, Mimi and Charles were an outstanding team during our stay and for that we want to thank them.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
We want to thank you for your kind review.
We certainly look forward to your return visit and are happy that you were pleased with the comfort and quality at our property.
Our staff are fantastic with our guest.
Our staff are super friendly, kind, and very knowledgeable and certainly make friends easily.
We are so fortunate to have them work for us.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stylish, comfortable beds, and wonderful service. Mimi, our concierge, receptionist, and local pulse check all rolled into one, was a memorable highlight during our stay. She was graciously patient as we asked our tourist questions and went above the call of duty to ensure that Miami was meeting our expectations with nightlife, food, and shopping recommendations.

I would recommend this hotel to fellow travelers and friends but would forewarn a few things. For one, the walls are thin so light sleepers beware. Another issue was that the TV reception was extremely limited; about 50% of the channels were religious-themed, another large fraction was Spanish-only speaking programming, and the remaining channels were infomercials.

Thankfully, there was CNN but the picture quality, regrettably, was not strong. The internet connection was also disappointingly slow, making it difficult for me to follow upon work correspondence. But, these are minor issues and we spent most of our time outside the hotel. Overall, the beds were soft, clean sheets, on-site free parking, and rodent/pests-free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind review,
We are happy to hear you had a memorable stay with us and we certainly look forward to your next arrival.
We are sorry there were a few issues regaring our cable company however they were working hard to correct the issue they had that affected our surrounding area.

Looking forward to your next visit
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Upon our arrival to the motel area I was very hesitant about staying in the area. There were numerous homeless and strange people walking around. My husband checked us in and we headed up to our 2nd story room. My 1st impression was that the room was very retro as described. Unforfunately I was very disapointed in the room.
If you like dirty walls, an air conditioner in a recessed closet, NO dresser, although if you wanted to hang your clothes on the 4 hangers in the closet it would have obstructed the A/C,1 lamp, a bed that creaked every time you moved, a toilet that leaked every time that it was flushed and had a loud squeel at the end, no place to put toiletries in the bathroom (or anywhere else) or an electrical outlet, all tile work grouting that was done as repairs was sloppy and no alternative to down pillows this is the place for you. I would rank this motel as sub-par even to Motel 6 standards.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here try to get a room in the "newer" section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaminewyorker, Owner at New Yorker Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay at our property.
However we do have staff 24 hours at the front desk to accomidate our guest needs and if we were informed of any issues we certainly would have taken care of your issues.
We are a three star hotel with a four star rating given by our guest.
We take every issue and comment our guest write on reviews and do our best to assure our guest have a memorable stay and when they do return to Miami we will be their choice hotel.

Sincerely
Walter&Shirley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 131 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.