We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read This Before Booking :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Yorker Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Yorker Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 130 hotels in Miami
austin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Read This Before Booking :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Hi,

I do not understand the bad reviews for this hotel? If you read the Travel Advisor reviews, they are spot-on truthful. This is a BUDGET hotel for a Miami-budget price. My 5 stars are for the BUDGET category. $150 (includes expensive daily hotel tax) is a GOOD rate during the boat show/Sobe Food & Wine Festival/Obama visit. It's a $25 taxi ride to and from ($50 total) to get to beautiful South Beach. Their newly decorated breakfast area is lovely. Breakfast is cofee, cereal, toast. No eggs or waffles or yogurt. Coffee is OK and beds are comfortable. I'll add pics when I get home. ****** oh, The shuttle service is NOT free ******** I told them I'll make that clear because several booking sites are advertising a free shuttle for them. They have a $10 (more than 1 person) to $15 (single passenger) shuttle service to airport. The employees at this hotel are VERY NICE. The shuttle driver went way out if his way to rush me to South Beach for a deadline. Then he delivered my bag to the hotel. We will stay there again simply for the nice stafff. The bus stop is across the street (1 minute) and a $2 fee + 50 min bus ride delivers you to a wonderful mall!! Hubby and I spent a full rainy day there. Lovely sushi restaurant upstairs and GREAT shopping. Every store you love is there. If you love espresso....Sur La Table is serving gorgeous complimentary ones (new brand of technology). Back to the hotel......the shower is like a sprinkle. It's completely fine for budget, but you may yell out if someone in another hotel room flushes a toilet and you lose cold water for a few seconds. Also, our room didn't have an electric plug in bathroom. No biggie for me, but I know that some people need their bathroom routine. Ot's an old hotel and you should expect that
if you book. Please don't stay there and then trash them for finding a hair. That is truly not a clutch-your-pearls moment.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    213
    123
    57
    47
See reviews for
95
267
51
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We booked this hotel kind of last minute for two nights during the Miami International Boat Show. We were skeptical upon arrival, but the front desk clerk said that the travel channel was there recently to film a show that would air in April, so we thought maybe the rooms were better than the front lobby appeared, and didn't think we would find anything else during this event. We were not overly impressed with our rooms either, especially when we found that they supplied ear plugs on the bedside table. So we went to dinner immediately upon check-in and stayed there for several hours because we did not want to go back to the hotel. In the morning it got even worse when my husband got into the shower to find a foreign hair and that the shower curtain did not reach the ledge, therefore spilling an enormous amount of water onto the entirely tiled room and he almost fell getting out. The last straw was going into the cupboards and finding a roach. We checked out a night early and the hotel would not refund our money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I enjoyed my stay there. It was in line with the reviews I saw. Clean room, free parking, good breakfast, fair enough for a person who wanted to shop during the day and rest at night ( I choose the rooms on the second floor and in the back, view to the swimming pool). If you have a rented car, no problem, you will be fine, not too much near to do. Mimi, Shirley and Walter made the difference, everything I needed they did their best to provide and solve immedialely. Thanks! You made me feel at home! I had an exceptional stay!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I needed an overnight hotel close to the airport and chose this little gem. It was $80 bucks including tax and my room was basic but clean, comfortable and adorably decorated. I'll agree it was a tad noisy in the rooms at the front of the hotel but I wasn't expecting much and I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel across he board. I love that there was a fridge and 2 complimentary bottles of water in my room. The breakfast area in the back courtyard is a cool place to take unwind. I didn't get to the pool but it looked clean and refreshing.
The area is nothing special to say the least but if you had a car staying here you'd be golden. I agree with one of the other reviewers who said that the front desk only gave one restaurant recommendation and it was for a place they had some affiliation with down the street.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from Biscayne would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Not in a great location but fine for a short stay. The rooms are OK, the staff are helpful and the breakfast is fine. You wouldnt want to stay for more than a night or two but this hotel does provide value for money. It can get a little noisy as the hotel is on a busy road.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

as there is no middle ground between Average and Very good I will lean more towards the Average. The hotel is situated on the Biscayne road same road that takes you to the sea port (about 10 mins drive) and it is close to the cos-worth to Miami beach, haven't said the location it self is not great, we arrived at night and many scruffy charterers lurked around maybe to the liqueur store few feet away from the Hotel.

We stayed here as other hotels in Miami where crazy expensive. This hotel I believe is from the 50's, and you do get that vibe. and although old I did get a refurbishment and the rooms are clean and modern (ish), however was not crazy about the street noise transmitted nor the sounds from my upstairs neighbors who apparently his wooden planked floor is my ceiling with no isolation between. You should expect something is up when the hotel provide free ear plugs by your bed instead of mint chocolates.
at the reception the staff is friendly, an elderly (but not saying she is old "in case she reads this review") was sweat and she was defiantly a character. She allowed to use her computer at the reception to print out stuff as the computer provided for guest was not hoked up to a printer. Another person worth a mention is a young black guy who I think was a bus-boy or something. he greeted every body who came for breakfast with enthusiasm and offered if he can bring you anything that you did not see at the breakfast counter his attitude literally lifts you up in the morning.
free WiFi, free breakfast (cerals, bagels, coffee and juice) free parking (not many of them)
Actually Not bad,

Room Tip: for a good nite sleep, ask for a pool facing upstairs room. should be the most quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is a bargain hotel. Bear in mind that your room is likely to be small and potentially noisy. i had a night of disturbed sleep - the people upstairs sounded like a herd of elephants.

Also, I was a bit disappointed that when I asked the staff at the desk for recommendations for places to eat and drink they only recommended one place down the street where you get a discount.

For female or single travellers I would warn that the street where the hotel is located is probably not the best place to wander late at night. I felt a little unsafe in the area. Although clearly up and coming it is still a bit rough around the edges.

Things I liked: the decor - whole 50s vibe is cool. Also, the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Yorker Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Yorker Boutique Hotel

Address: 6500 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33138
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Yorker Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in March 2010, New Yorker is a boutique hotel built inside the shell of a preserved motel from 1953. Located on Miami’s famous MiMo Boulevard, we are the perfect hotel for those seeking upscale accommodations at an affordable price. By showing your New Yorker room key you can get great discounts at most local restaurants, spas and gyms. We also offer a round trip shuttle service to the airport, Port of Miami and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your New Yorker Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Yorker Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.