We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Havana tour was terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Culinary Tours - Private Tours

Miami Culinary Tours - Private Tours
Miami, FL 33137
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
South Beach Cultural Food and Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 8 Food & Drink in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Miami Culinary Tours brings you everything South Florida’s culinary communities have to offer as well as the culture and tradition behind those doing the cooking. We organize Miami food tasting tours that not only showcase a particular type of cuisine, but also the culture and history behind it, giving tour participants the full story. The food tours in Miami are divided into different categories depending on cuisine and neighborhoods and offer foodies, both residents and visitors to the area, a chance to sample delicious dishes.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little Havana tour was terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

What a fun time in Little Havana! We started our tour in one of many Little Havana art galleries. Mirka was our tour guide and she was terrific. We walked about 7-8 blocks and went into restaurants, a cigar factory, a produce shop, an ice cream store and some small shops. Mirka gave us history of the famous Miami district and we sampled several local dishes, including empanadas, a Cuban sandwich and a refreshing drink made from freshly-crushed sugar cane. We ended the trip with some well-needed ice cream-- don't miss the Abuelo Maria.

We learned about the fruits and vegetables used to make authentic Cuban food, and met some lively locals. After the tour, we went about some shopping on our own. Despite the fact that it was a sweltering August day, we had a great time learning some history and eating some delicious Cuban food.

Visited August 2014
1 Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food tour & great guide! Perfect for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I went on the South Beach food tour this evening and it was truly fantastic. It was my first experience on a tasting food tour and I loved it. The guide Richie was animated, friendly and knew all of the insider foodie knowledge in Miami - plus was an expert on English history! I had a great time. And the food was exceptional. I'd definitely recommend it! It was such a pleasure to spending my evening on this tour. Come hungry - there are plenty of goodies!

Visited July 2014
3 Thank fbarber55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great tour for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We took the tour of South Beach and had the unique experience of being the only two people on the tour. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and personable. The food samples were very generous, and we did not need dinner afterward. We got to try foods and restaurants that we might not otherwise have known about, and it was all delicious. This is a good tour to do early in your stay as we decided to return to one of the restaurants later in our visit to have lunch. We highly recommend this tour!

Visited July 2014
1 Thank tammi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I fell in love with Cuban food on this tour. We have done other food tours that are heavy on history and culture, but light on the food. This was not light on the food. We left feeling stuffed. One of the most helpful parts of the tour is that the guide taught us how to order the things we wanted. Not being familiar with Spanish, it can be difficult to say the right thing. The food was great, the tour guide was amazing, and we all now love Cuban food.

Visited July 2014
Thank LMG1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tour of little Havana in July”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Walking tour of little Havana with a group of 15 or so people
This tour lets you taste and visit resturants that you would probably never visit
Tour Guide was very good - Not only about the food and background but any question you asked she was able to help with.
Mixed bunch of visitors but all had the "want to know more about havana food syndrome" and by te end of the tour think we had tasted and drunk a good selection.
Started in a small Gallery - Where I returned to buy a painting and also visited a hand rolling Cigar shop and visited the local draught players
Enjoyable 3 hours or so

Visited July 2014
Thank 83Mike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Culinary Tours - Private Tours also viewed


Been to Miami Culinary Tours - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing