We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we stayed there!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fortuna House Apartments

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Fortuna House Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   432 NE 26 Street, Miami, FL 33137   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So glad we stayed there!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

I found the Fortuna House on vrbo.com, and decided to stay there during my visit to Miami for Ultra Music Festival. What a great choice! When we arrived, the manager showed us three different rooms, and we got to pick the one we liked best.
My girlfriend and I loved how cute the rooms were decorated!!! Very clean, fresh and modern. They definitely put a lot of love & care into this place.

One of the nights during our 10-night stay, we accidentally locked ourselves out of the room, but when we called the manager (at 4 AM!) she quickly notified the housekeeper to come and let us in. We were so happy and relieved!!!

We ran out of towels by the third day but were supplied with more towels and toilet paper upon request. They were really quick to respond and went out of their way to make us happy. It was really homey there and we met lots of cool people .
We walked and cabbed it to all the venues.
Great location and very affordable, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
29
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

We stayed at the Fortuna House for one week. The apartment is very cute, modern and well decorated. It was clean and neat when we arrived, with new towels. It gets a lot of natural light during the day. The building caretaker is really nice, and also where the neighbors we met during our days over there.

The location is great, very close to downtown Miami but in a quiet residential area. There is free parking outside.

It is also very close to the bridge connecting to South Beach, which does not charge anything for you to cross. The access to the airport is also easy and you can quickly arrive at the North (for example the Aventura Mall).

We truly recommend the Fortuna House for those who want to stay in Miami but with easy access to the beach.

The only negative point we found was when we wanted to wake up later. It could be better if they had a black-out curtains at the window.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Customer service was astounding. I never had any issues with communicating with the realtor. She made all necessary accomodations and even went out of her way. Some of the flexibiities of renting from a private owner vs. a hotel. I went for Winter Music Conference and the location was a perfecft fit. About a 15 min ride into south beach and 5 min away from Downtown.

A++.....highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

The place is a nightmare. First, the room was dirtier than anything I've ever seen. Even the sheets were dirty (wrinkled, stained, and smelly... unbelievable). the towels smelled so bad I could not bear to use them. There was a strong hospital smell throughout the place. Even the hallways are gross, full of dust with trash lying on the floor over many days.
Everything is built in the cheapest way possible - don't be fooled by the pretty pictures. The shower was falling appart. The mattress was completely beat up and so uneven I didn't sleep on any of the nights we stayed there due to the poor quality of the bed and the loud noises in the street. The room was on the groundfloor, sticking out in a parking lot despite my specifically asking for a room that would not be on the groundfloor, since it is not recommended to walk around this neighborhood at night. On top of that it was freezing cold, it was even colder than it was outside. We requested a little heather but no one ever took notice. It was such a disaster we left halfway through our stay to stay somewhere else.
The staff is extremely rude, dishonest and verbally abusive to customers. The person who handles the reservations shouted at me several times over the phone and finally hung up on me when I called to request that my security deposit be reimbursed. I was never given my deposit back even though we left the room exactly as we found it - they made up some fictional additional cleaning fee that they had already charged us previously. I intend on filing a complaint with the local court and tourism agency - this place should be shut down before other vacationers fall into the trap.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLWord, manager at Fortuna House Apartments, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
The guest who reviewed the Fortuna House attempted to cancel her reservation the night before arriving. Our cancellation policy did not allow that we refund her money in full. She in turn wrote a false review about the property. We have an onsite housekeeping service here to serve guests 24/7. We are located in a nice quiet area in Downtown Miami. The cancellation policy is strict at the Fortuna House as it is a small property of only 20 apartments.
The guest was aware of the cancellation policy at the time of booking and it is unfortunate that she felt the need to write false statements about the Fortuna House because we only offered her a partial refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortuna House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna House Apartments

Also Known As:
Fortuna House Apartments Hotel Miami
Fortuna House Apartments Hotel
Address: 432 NE 26 Street, Miami, FL 33137
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty lodging in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna House Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Fortuna House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortuna House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fortuna House Apartments to your Saves list