We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run for your life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fortuna House Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fortuna House Apartments to your Saves list
Fortuna House Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   432 NE 26 Street, Miami, FL 33137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
boston
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Run for your life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

The place is a nightmare. First, the room was dirtier than anything I've ever seen. Even the sheets were dirty (wrinkled, stained, and smelly... unbelievable). the towels smelled so bad I could not bear to use them. There was a strong hospital smell throughout the place. Even the hallways are gross, full of dust with trash lying on the floor over many days.
Everything is built in the cheapest way possible - don't be fooled by the pretty pictures. The shower was falling appart. The mattress was completely beat up and so uneven I didn't sleep on any of the nights we stayed there due to the poor quality of the bed and the loud noises in the street. The room was on the groundfloor, sticking out in a parking lot despite my specifically asking for a room that would not be on the groundfloor, since it is not recommended to walk around this neighborhood at night. On top of that it was freezing cold, it was even colder than it was outside. We requested a little heather but no one ever took notice. It was such a disaster we left halfway through our stay to stay somewhere else.
The staff is extremely rude, dishonest and verbally abusive to customers. The person who handles the reservations shouted at me several times over the phone and finally hung up on me when I called to request that my security deposit be reimbursed. I was never given my deposit back even though we left the room exactly as we found it - they made up some fictional additional cleaning fee that they had already charged us previously. I intend on filing a complaint with the local court and tourism agency - this place should be shut down before other vacationers fall into the trap.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLWord, manager at Fortuna House Apartments, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
The guest who reviewed the Fortuna House attempted to cancel her reservation the night before arriving. Our cancellation policy did not allow that we refund her money in full. She in turn wrote a false review about the property. We have an onsite housekeeping service here to serve guests 24/7. We are located in a nice quiet area in Downtown Miami. The cancellation policy is strict at the Fortuna House as it is a small property of only 20 apartments.
The guest was aware of the cancellation policy at the time of booking and it is unfortunate that she felt the need to write false statements about the Fortuna House because we only offered her a partial refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    43
    12
    8
    10
See reviews for
29
33
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortuna House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna House Apartments

Address: 432 NE 26 Street, Miami, FL 33137
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fortuna House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna House Apartments Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortuna House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.