We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you don't like it to luxury” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fortuna House Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fortuna House Apartments to your Saves list
Fortuna House Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   432 NE 26 Street, Miami, FL 33137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wohlen, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok if you don't like it to luxury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

The small apartment house is ok if you dont like it to much luxury.
The apartment itself is a 1 bedroom apartment. Good enough for 2 people and a small kid. You have a small kitchen area if you like to cook by yourself. The bathroom is also very small and more than 1 person inside is not possible. The house itself is very noisy. Everything is a bit old but clean. On the backside of the house are 6 laundry machines which run by quarters. The location is perfect to explore biscayne and Miami beach. It's around 25$ by taxi to the ocean drive. If you have a car there it's a good location to explore Miami and the Everglades. It's about a 3hour drive to key west.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    45
    12
    10
    11
See reviews for
30
34
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My family and I rented 3 rooms at the Fortuna House for a weekend stay before boarding a cruise at the Port of Miami. The location was perfect. We hopped in a cab and we were there in 5 minutes, its just a few blocks away. We found the parking to be really convenient at all times. We always found a spot along the street. The area was really close to everything as far as shops and restaurants. We really liked the Midtown Miami Shops that are a few blocks away and highly recommend the Sushi restaurant in there. We also enjoyed making breakfast in the kitchen in the apartment. All of our rooms were spotless, including dishes and pots. We checked it all and could tell this place was well taken care of. There were 2 ladies around all the time and they were very nice.
We all agreed we would come back again and felt very much at home in these cool little apartments. Its a real miami gem !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Driving up to the Fortuna House Apartments I had a sense that perhaps this was a mistake and that I should had sought a higher level of lodging for our Miami stay. The " free" parking was in the street and there was no one to receive us or guide us to our room. Upon searching I found the wonderful proprietress cleaning another room on another floor. She guided us to our room and gave us our keys and was very helpful as to where the laundry and garbage were located. The room was early IKEA but was clean and cool and at the quiet back of the building. Very convenient to downtown Miami I have to say that at the end of my seven day stay I found the Fortuna to be an excellent choice for the budget minded traveler.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I booked a room at the Fortuna House on very short notice and my choice was a great one! I loved the local feel of the neighborhood and the street it is on. There was a nice mix of brand new skyscrapers along with some of the older buildings that had a lot of character too. Very eclectic mix ! I liked the Wynwood Arts area nearby as all of the warehouses had some beautiful artwork on them and had a really cool vibe and unique about it. The Fortuna House is half a block from Biscayne Blvd, where all the shops are, and I was able to catch public transportation right there quickly. The free Wi-Fi was fast and I was able to complete my business without even leaving the comfort of my room. Clean and comfortable, the Fortuna House was an experience I will remember and be sure to book with them again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were nice and clean, however when I pulled the sheets and covers back the and mattresses were horrible and a couple of them did not have a mattress pad on them. I complained to the general manager and she told me that they have never had a guest to check the mattresses. She went further to say that that they were talking about firing the housekeeper who had just started that day. That was not a housekeeping issue that was a management issue. Not only were the mattresses stained with only who knows what they were hard and a couple of them had holes around the seams. Also, they advertised free parking but did not say it was on the street and if you come in late good luck finding a spot. Could have been a nice place to stay if it wasn't for the nasty mattresses and parking.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The Fortuna house is a hidden secret of Miami. We are a family of 4 and on a small budget. Nice apartment type house that was very clean, but had small bathrooms. The ladies that run the place are very nice and helpful. There is 3 floor and had no elevator. New Ikea style furnishing. Walking distance to eat and the bus line was free to ride!!! Good value and a great place to stay before a cruise.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our Miami friends recommended this place so we gave it a shot. They stayed here last month for a few weeks while waiting for their condo to be remodeled and said they were really comfortable. We felt like we were living like locals. It was on a quiet residential street with a beautiful bay view at the end of the block. We were really close to tons of cool things to do in the immediate area. Lots of local bars & hangouts.

PROS: loads of space,well equipped ( coffee pot,hairdryers, toiletries, microwave, stove, full fridge), good value for money considering location & the amount of space. CONS: No pool but the beach is nearby. Other than that this proved to be an fantastic base to explore South Beach & the Midtown Miami/ Wynwood Arts District.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortuna House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna House Apartments

Address: 432 NE 26 Street, Miami, FL 33137
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fortuna House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna House Apartments Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortuna House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.