We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortuna House Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fortuna House Apartments to your Saves list
Fortuna House Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   432 NE 26 Street, Miami, FL 33137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fortuna house is a very pleasent place to stay while vacation in Miami. It's close to downtown. And it's a bridge away from Miami beach! It's a nice clean apartment, but keep in mind it's not a hotel. They do provide bath towels, but bring your bathroom amenities! I'd recommend fortuna house to my friends :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianefmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortunahouse, Manager at Fortuna House Apartments, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are happy that you would recommend us to your friends and that you had a pleasant stay.
Thank you for choosing us for your vacation rental and we are happy that you liked our apartments. Great to hear everything was clean and that you enjoyed the location. We do provide bathroom soap,shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and hairdryers to our guests. We do not have daily housekeeping but will restock your room with fresh linens and towels by request. We are happy to accomodate and help at any hour as our staff lives onsite. Thank you and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Found this place by accident. Was a nice change of pace from a standard hotel. Located in a neighborhood just off Biscayne Blcd. Convenient to all attractions and public transportation is nearby. Would recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dino4897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fortuna House is a very good choice for anyone on a budget. It is located in a quiet neighborhood that is about 10 minutes from downtown Miami. A main artery is within one block of the apartment house. There is free on-street parking.

The apartment furnishings were plain but very adequate. Our apartment had a queen bed, kitchen sink, refrigerator, stove, microwave, basic cooking & eating utensils, air conditioning, flat screen TV and high speed wireless internet. A couple of nice grocery stores and drug stores are nearby. It was a great base for our visit to Miami and Miami Beach. We would definitely stay at Fortuna House again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great location in easy to find artsy Wynwood/Midtown Area. It's on a quiet little side-street, conveniently located nearby the Port of Miami and downtown Miami's city Centre and only 5 minutes from South Beach. My room was clean and comfortable, and whoever decorated it has great taste in design.
Helpful staff, quiet, and a pleasant stay overall. I'd definitely stay here again, especially for the price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortunaapts, Manager at Fortuna House Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found it to be a good value. We take pride in our room design and our room cleanliness and we are happy that they met your expectations. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We came to Miami for a convention at the American Airlines Arena.
When we arrived we called the manager on the phone number to Fortuna House, 954-232-4705. She quickly called the onsite manager. We were offered a room choice between 4 rooms. We looked at the air-conditioning to make sure it was working. It cooled very well. We checked to make sure the tv was working okay and we made sure the room was clean. The bed and sofa very comfortable. We then picked a room downstairs for ease of bringing in our bags. For the rest of the stay everything was good. This is not a hotel. It is an apartment building . We wanted to rent something bigger than a hotel that had a kitchen this time for our vacation. The Latin Cafe on the corner served amazing Cuban food and was a real taste of Miami. We enjoyed our trip very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortunaapts, Manager at Fortuna House Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the room clean and comfortable. It is wonderful that you made use of the kitchen and that all went well. You are always welcome back at the Fortuna House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Was everything that the website stated except for the price was $145 instead of the advertised $125. Overall we would stay here again to visit Miami. Parking was free and easy and the Honduran restaurant around the corner was fantastic. Also recommend "The Daily" down the street for food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14MRC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortunaapts, Manager at Fortuna House Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are happy that the property met all of your expectations after comparing it to our website. Our rates do vary based on the season,availability,holidays and special events. Prices will range from $85 to $400 per night. Glad you found our free parking easy and convenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If this property was in the 40-60$ range, I'd give it a "good" rating and walk away happy. However, at 160$ expectations are somewhat higher, and this property fails heavily at meeting them.
As they don't have a frontdesk, checkin was chaotic, I had to wait for quite some time on the street until incidentially a maid left the house. Service of any kind is virtually inexistent. Contact to the manager is by phone only.

The rooms themselves are quite small, very basic and except for the flat-screen TV outdated and worn, but somewhat clean (however, I encountered a gigantic cockroach in the hallway). There is 1 queen bed plus 1 IKEA-branded sofa which can be extended to be used as a bed (which was not easy) - both of them not really comfortable. The bathroom is exceptionally tiny. Any kind of amenities (including bathroom basics like soap, and coffee for the coffee machine) is not provided. There is no elevator (1st - 3rd floor), and staircases are extremely narrow. The WLAN however worked quite well. A/C units (per room) are old and noisy, but luckily windows can be opened - will get very hot in summertime though.

Parking is not "on site" (as stated eg at booking.com), but "street parking". As the property is in a quiet side street at least I did not have a problem parking my car.

Much of the disadvantages and procedures necessary to overcome them are "described" in an email sent only after the reservation by the properties manager. However, you don't expect to receive this email, so if you don't check your email, you don't get those instructions and are somewhat trapped.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fortunaapts, Manager at Fortuna House Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
The Fortuna House Apartments is an apartment building with a 3 star rating. Our pricing is in line with our location and we are affordably priced for our area and the accomodations we provide. There are staff members that live onsite. Because our front door is locked, we provide our guests with a phone number to reach the staff so they can check in. All of our furniture , air conditioners and flatscreen Tvs are less than 1 year old. We realize that everyone's opinion of new and comfortable is subjective. Thanks for your positive comments on ease of parking and fast wi-fi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
Hilton Miami Downtown
#37 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,833 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#43 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna House Apartments

Address: 432 NE 26 Street, Miami, FL 33137
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fortuna House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna House Apartments Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing