We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and very clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortuna House Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fortuna House Apartments to your Saves list
Fortuna House Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   432 NE 26 Street, Miami, FL 33137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Affordable and very clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Got a clean comfortable room. It was nicely designed and everything worked. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. If you want to avoid a hotel and get a feel for what's it like to live in that part of Miami definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to see all the rooms, we were going to get a small bed and then got a second room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    45
    13
    11
    13
See reviews for
32
38
26
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband and I were in Miami this past week for a work conference and had the pleasure of staying at Fortuna House Apartments. We found the building to be charming and clean, and the price was very reasonable, especially considering it included a full kitchen. The manager was very responsive and friendly, and the location was perfect for us--in a quiet residential area and just a 20 minute walk from the Hilton and other destinations. We loved sitting on the balcony and also enjoyed a local treasure right around the corner, the Latin Cafe. By the end of the 5 days, we felt like we lived in Miami.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

A very pleasant alternative to the run of the mill hotel grind. The apartments are very serviceable. Incredible service and prices are the drawing power. Easily the best way to start "living" in Miami.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at Fortuna House in late-December 2009. We treated the place with utmost care and treated the apartment as if it were our own residence--we travel throughout the Americas, and rent apartments whenever we travel--i.e., we know the drill. We were unimpressed with a shower curtain that didn't match height of shower stall, which got water all over very slippery tile that would never be a good selection for a bathroom area. Upon checkout, we were not refunded our $150 security deposit because the owner claimed that an IKEA curtain was stained. This is above and beyond imagination, and we still fell like this was a plain-ole money grab--2 years later we feel this way. Oh, and make sure you wash/launder your towels and bed linens, because this was another reason provided for not returning our deposit (this should really be posted conspicuously in the room, if that's the host's expectation). While we wouldn't stay at Fortuna House again, we do lobe the Biscayne Corridor, and now live here. I'd request a thorough walk-through upon arrival to point out any damage, in advance, to the host's representative that provides keys. Also, be sure you can speak/understand Spanish clearly, as abuela's English isn't that great, which doesn't bother us--we both are fluent--but it could be a definite barrier to communication. Lastly, we were dismayed to share the apartment building with loud college-age twenty-somethings running up and down stairwell into the wee hours, yelling and shouting as they went. Part of being a great host means carefully screening your prospective guests, and not finding creative ways to extract additional, unearned revenue from the folks that really did treat your place with respect.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortunahouse, Manager at Fortuna House Apartments, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
When you stayed with us 2 years ago the cleaning policy was different than it is currently. They previously had an optional cleaning fee of $100 where they provided cleaning supplies and the guest decided if they wanted to leave their room clean. If they opted not to clean on their own they were charged $100. If they cleaned up then there was no fee.Since you opted not to clean the unit you were charged. This charge was clearly stated in the rental agreement agreed to by every guest before booking.We have only had 1 incident where a guest tore the shower curtain in half as you had & were charged to replace it. The new cleaning policy that has been in place for the last year is posted on our website & guests are charged a mandatory 1 time $50 fee to have their room cleaned & their linens & towels washed upon departure. Glad to hear you loved the neighborhood & your visit has resulted in a move to our area. It is quite beautiful. Hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

I stayed at fortuna for a week with my family and i really enjoyed it. The apartment was nicely decorated and furnished. The manager was very polite and available which was great. We had minor issues with the shower pressure and the blinds but they got it fixed as soon as we brought it up. I would definetly come back to fortuna. it has a great location, close to restaurants, shops and the sea! Could not ask for better at this price!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I booked a room in the Fortuna house in August, 2011 and would say I was very happy with my stay. The apartment was very clean, furnished and equipped with all the necessary kitchen utensils i needed. The lady who manages the place was very friendly and helpful in providing directions. The location was great and it is close to the highway so it was easy to get everywhere - South beach,Coral Gables, Brickell. There are numerous restaurants and grocery stores in the area as well. There is street parking in front of the house and i never had any problems finding a spot. Overall, it is reasonably priced and a great place for a short term stay in Miami.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I booked this vacation rental blindly. Didn't know the area, just knew it was in downtown Miami & was near the Port of Miami. I didn't know it was THAT close to the Port of Miami, as well as Bayside (shops and dining)...AND a few blocks from the American Airlines Arena!!! So we were able to walk to dinner and then score some last minute tickets to watch game 3 playoffs of the Heat vs Bulls! The rooms were clean and artfully decorated. Was able to get a parking spot free right out front. Never had to worry about parking again. Just walked. I think there may have been one other couple on the top floor with us. Zero hallway noise throughout the stay. All I can say is...WOWl!!! It was more than I expected! The Fortuna Housel is PERFECT, the staff is really helpful and sympathetic, comfy beds, super clean rooms .
Next year I´m staying there FOR SURE!!

Room Tip: Book early and book often!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortunahouse, Manager at Fortuna House Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
We are so happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the Fortuna House! We are a really small boutique apartment building which is comprised of a lot of short term and long term tenants so things are really quiet all the time around here. People most often book at the Fortuna House because of the ideal location and proximity to the Port of Miami, American Airlines Arena, Downtown Miami, Jackson Memorial Hospital, and South Beach. Finding a great location at an affordable price is always a plus and we pride ourselves in being the most affordable housing complex in the area. We are pleased that our location worked out perfectly for you and that you appreciated a good value. We were so delighted to have you and your wife with us before your voyage to sea on your cruise with Royal Caribbean. Great to hear you were able to catch a Miami Heat game last minute too. Very exciting! It’s always nice to hear that you loved your apartment and that is was comfortable and more than you had expected. That is what we work so hard for and It’s nice to know that all the love and attention we put into these accomodations have been kindly noted and appreciated ! We are really looking forward to seeing you and your wife again next year and will welcome you again with open arms. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortuna House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna House Apartments

Address: 432 NE 26 Street, Miami, FL 33137
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fortuna House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna House Apartments Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortuna House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.