We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Atmosphere, Little Service, Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakaya Kitchen

Sakaya Kitchen
3401 N. Miami Avenue, #125, Miami, FL 33127 (Wynwood - Edgewater)
305 576-8096
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 3,649 Restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: Asian
Neighborhood: Wynwood - Edgewater
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Wynwood - Edgewater
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“No Atmosphere, Little Service, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

So, picture a food truck without wheels anchored in a glorified strip mall (MIdtown) .. Nonetheless, you gotta go- clearly a chef led deal with great fusion flavors and a big menu that runs in a bunch of different directions. How do they get their chicken that tender? Have the pork, have the Calamari. It is all good, all fairly priced and as long as you come with some patience and look at your food and not the restaurant itself, you will love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's good, but not to die for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my first time...I confess that I didn't have the full experience at Sakaya. I never went inside to order because I had a baby Pug with me. I can only review the food that someone else ordered for me. The ribs...good; not the best I've ever had. They're not juicy or saucy like most ribs. They have an Asian-spiced dry rub and are on the crunchy side. I believe my friend ordered the Jasmine rice as a side for me. Heads up, I hate rice! I never eat it unless its "specially-fried" or has other ingredients in it. However, my favorite part of the food bowl I ate was the RICE. It was so moist and had the perfect amount of natural sweetness. The grain itself was thinner and smaller than regular white rice. The brussel sprouts were also VERY good (after I asked the waitress to bring me the sauce that someone forgot to toss them in). I don't know if I would actually make the trip over to Sakaya Kitchen again. I would need to give it a second chance by ordering something that jumps out at me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brussels sprouts convert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Every dish here is unique and full of complex flavors BUT their brussels sprouts are a game-changer. I have never liked this vegetable regardless of preparation but their treatment with sweet chili, ginger, citrus and long roasting made me a convert. They are truly delicious! Also, the pork bossam and shrimp with spicy kimchi is yum. The rice bowls are big so go with an appetite! Very casual and don't forget to wash it down with the $2 Magic Hat beer special. Order at the counter and they bring the dishes to your table. I am now making special trips to downtown Miami to eat at Sakaya.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious.. will come back for sure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been here twice already, and i love it... the food is very tasty and portions are big!!! they have nice seating outdoors, located in midtown Miami, very nice, relaxed atmosphere... prices a fair enough, will come back for sure!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Terrific food at great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is not a fancy place but the food is an interesting Korean fusion, inventive fresh, with great flavors and good helpings. Our group tried Dirty Korean pork buns, a grilled chicken (w/ orange ginger) rice bowl, and a Kalbi beef taco. All were really good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakaya Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Sakaya Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakaya Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.