We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - not greatest location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1311 NW 10th Avenue, Miami, FL 33136 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #62 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent location - not greatest location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here before our cruise and then used their gated covered parking garage to park our car while on the cruise. The price was great seeing as it is ridiculous what you have to pay to park at the pier. They had a shuttle to take us to the pier and that was great. We were only 3 miles from the pier. Our room was nice but it took 3 remotes before we got one that would work the TV. The free buffet breakfast left a lot to be desired but that was ok seeing as we would eat when we got on the ship. The neighborhood was rather shady but we came in early and of course with the gated garage parking that greatly helped. They suggested Garcia's Seafood for dinner and it was wonderful. If we should take another cruise from Miami we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    124
    63
    33
    16
See reviews for
116
71
22
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night prior the return to my home country. We decided to stay in the hotel due to its excellent location near Miami Intl Airp. The neiborghood is not that good, but is majorly industrial which is acceptable. The horrible thing about the hotel is its service. Even though staff is kind, elevators dont work properly, breakfast is below average and general supplies such as towels and sheets take long to get to the room when I requested. The hotel does not look clean either.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, one of the things that we do is pride us in our service, which we score very high on our guest satisfaction scores. We do take all our feedback seriously and I’ll be sharing your feedback to ensure we do exceed our guest’s expectations.

Thanks you for taking the time to send this and we'll certainly ensure all our customer touch points are aligned with our company standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for a quick overnight. It was my first time staying here and I decided to check it out.
I noticed the neighborhood was VERY sketchy and looked very unsafe.
People begging for money around the blocks. Kinda scary!
Parking was even inside of a gated garage.
The hotel itself was pretty new. Pretty clean and comfortable beds.. I didn't really like that the bathrooms didn't lock and it was a almost a see-thru glass so there was not much privacy.
Rooms were also a bit noisy from traffic from 836.

Other than that, everything else was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are located in the downtown area which has high police presence, we do have hotel security and gated parking along with secured entrances. We've never experienced any problems with vagrancy in the hotel or in the immediate areas

Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed for one night recently and I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I liked the secured parking garage and appreciated my room. No room service is offered. You have to order from the restaurant on-site and then go down to pick it up yourself. I did like the feel of the room but one thing that turned me off immediately was the coffee stain in the bathroom sink. It was easily washed out when I turned the water on but it did give me that "griddy" feeling.

Room Tip: High Up & Away from the Lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I'll be going over your comments with our team to ensure this doesn’t happen again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Torch Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have stayed at this location a couple of times. It is blocks from the major Medical Centers in Miami, including Jackson/UMC, and the VA. Suites include a nice sitting area with a large flat screen TV that turns to the sleeping area as well. They have a bar and dining room with a minimal menu. The continental breakfast is well stocked. They allow service animals without any problems. There is a business center, although I did not take advantage of it. Parking is $15 per night and is advisable due to location.

Room Tip: Call well in advance as they supply room to VA patients with early morning appointments to fill the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we pride ourselves and making our hotel a home away from home place as we realize that attending a medical facility can be a troubling time

We hope you're feeling better and if we can be of further assistance please let us know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 days in late August with two other guys on our annual baseball trip. The hotel room was adequate & it was clean, the breakfast is okay but doesn't compare with those offered at Embassy Suites hotels. We walked to the metrorail Culver station south of the hotel which is in a dangerous area, we were taunted by a "street person", the neighborhood is filthy. The hotel is located in Overtown, which is one of the more dangerous neighborhoods in downtown Miami. I've never seen so many Bail Bond locations. The hotel appears to cater to those using the nearby medical center by offering a free shuttle service. The small pool was empty during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are located in the downtown area which has high police presence, we do have hotel security and gated parking along with secured entrances. We've never experienced any problems with vagrancy in the hotel or in the immediate areas

Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4-day stay at the SpringHill Suites Miami Airport East/Medical Center hotel. The staff Alexandra (13 Eleven Restaurant), Orvina (Front Desk) and Digna (House Cleaning) was all amazing and provided exceptional customer service. Each day we were greeted with smiles and pleasantries. Digna did an outstanding job tidying up our room despite the musty smell of the room. We tried spraying everything from perfume/cologne, Lysol and a hotel disinfectant to get rid of the odor, but failed miserably.

Here are a few tips for future visitors:

The hotel is conveniently located near the airport (15 minutes) away. If you decide not to rent a car, don’t fret because SpringHill Suites Miami provides a shuttle from the airport every hour on the hour for guests for free. Just call the hotel when you arrive. Or if you’re feeling a bit adventurous you can catch the Dade Country Metrorail system from the airport for approximately $2 and transfer to the Metromover which is free and get off at the Civic Center transit stop. The hotel is 4 to 5 city blocks away (10 minute walk).

You can also use the Metromover, which is free, and Metrorail system to navigate from the hotel to Downtown (Bayside) area or South Beach where all the action occurs both day and night. To save money, opt for the all day Metrorail pass for $5. This will give you unlimited metro rail access for the entire day.

Speaking of Bayside – if you’re interested in sightseeing tours, Bayside is where you can locate plenty. Safari Tours have 2-kiosk onsite and you can book day trips to the Everglades or Key West. You can also purchase a sightseeing tour of Biscayne Bay and the Venetian Islands with miamiaquatours.com. The cost for adults is $26 and children $16. They also have a competitor onsite; Island Queen Cruises that provide hourly cruises to Millionaire’s Row. For a reduced ticket price per adult/child pick-up a $3 off minicard in the hotel lobby at SpringHill Suites. You can also pick up additional minicards for other attractions such as: Jungle Island $3 off; Coral Castle Museum $1.50 off; and Water Taxi $2 off.

If you’re searching for inexpensive water, groceries and snacks there is a Winn Dixie within a 4-block radius of the hotel. Otherwise, you will spend upwards of $3 for a bottle of water at the hotel.

The hotel also offers on the hour shuttle service to/from the various medical centers in the vicinity. If you’re in need of computer access during your stay, no worries, there are two computers available in the lobby for your use. Please note, there is a 15-minute time limit; so work quickly.

The only other con besides the room odor and noise from the air conditioning unit is that the pool was out of order and the hotel team was unable to provide a definitive answer as to when it would reopen.

Overall it was an ok stay. Hope this review is helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we were in the process of re-surfacing the pool which it has been completed and re-opened, we apologize for the inconvenience. We will be looking into your concerns on odor; we did however recently have the hotel sanitized to include carpets etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Address: 1311 NW 10th Avenue, Miami, FL 33136
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.