We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs if you are on a business trip!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1311 NW 10th Avenue, Miami, FL 33136 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #60 of 129 Hotels in Miami
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs if you are on a business trip!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I should have known that this hotel would be trouble when the taxi pulled up to the front door and there was an unsightly mob smoking cigarettes in front of the entrance. The clerk at the desk was nice and the food in the restaurant was better than expected. The room was surprisingly nice. Unfortunately I was woke up at 1 am by the burning stench of cigarette smoke from another guest, probably in the room below me. I have lived in NYC and can tolerate anything but the stench of smoke was so bad that my eyes were tearing and my lungs were burning.

I called the front desk to see if there was another room available and received absolutely no help. A security guard came up and determined that the source of the fumes was probably from the room below mine.

Finally, at 3 am I was told that there were no other rooms available and left for another hotel, much more expensive and further away from the medical center,where I had an important meeting the next day.

In summary, the hotel is Ghetto with a capital G. There is a reason the rooms are so cheap.

Avoid Avoid Avoid!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. I am very sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. All Marriott brand hotels in North America have adopted a smoke free environment within the building and charges a $250 fee for smoking inside a guest room, notification of the fee is posted inside our guest rooms. I am very sorry this occurred and we were not able to relocate you to another room as you requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    133
    68
    33
    18
See reviews for
121
76
24
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

location perfect for Jackson hospital, and $11 taxi to downtown, $22 to miami beach. No scenery or infrastructure here though, its bordered by highway and hospital. Nice big rooms, albeit functional rather than super nice. staff friendly, and breakfast free and fine quality : but very limited choice. there's a restaurant for the evening too: much needed as there's not much in the area. Overall fine for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your return visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Located a $25 cab ride from Miami International this hotel serves the Medical Center area of Miami. There is little else close by and it is certainly not on the tourist trail. The immediate surroundings may be safe in reality but do not give that impression. The hotel itself is bright and is what Ikea would do if it went into the hotel business. The 1st floor consists of a reception area combined with a cafe/lounge. The staff were very helpful and polite. The suites are basically a large room subdivided by a glazed wall. On one side is an L-shaped couch, desk and shelving unit with coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The other side is the bed and access to a bright bathrooms with shower and basin. The toilet is separate with a small sink. The bed was clean and very comfortable. There is free wireless and complimentary breakfast.
A minor irritant is the number of fliers for pizza joints that are pushed under the door at regular intervals. This is because the dining options are very limited. There are few restaurants in the immediate area and none looked inviting. The hotel "restaurant" is really a cafe that does not serve true entrees, but a selection of salads, soups and sandwiches. I have to say that they were good, but for a stay longer than one night the options are very limited - hence my rating. If you have to visit the Medical Center it may be the best and only option. Its faults are not of its own making.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking a very busy and noisy freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center. The location of the hotel does serve the needs of those travelers visiting the medical center, airport and is a good stop over for those arriving or departing into the Port of Miami. I am not sure if you were aware, but we do offer scheduled shuttle service in the evening to Bayside from the hotel where there is a variety of restaurants. Thank you for staying with us and for providing your review on our hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Clean and big suits with fridge and microwave, comfortable beds. I read some reviews complains about breakfast, decor, rooms, parking, view etc. if u have someone in VA or Jackson hospitals its good place to be at but if u looking for a relaxin' vacation its not a place for u! Just book another hotel with a sunset view on south beach with fancy decor, pay for your breakfast and even more higher parking!! Enjoy your stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback on our location and services. As you mentioned in your review; this hotel is one of the closest hotels to the Miami Medical Center - University of Miami Hospital, Jackson and VA and was built to service the needs of the medical center, airport, and the port of Miami. Thank you again for staying with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was very happy to find out this hotel had a shuttle from the airport, I really wasn't expecting it. When we arrived, however, I was in disbelief at the area this Marriott is in! There's no other word for it but ghetto. The streets around are trashed, homeless wandering around, and only one horrible restaurant we could find in walking distance. There is a WinnDixie about 3/4 mile away which is the route we chose because I wouldn't walk alone outside after dark. The room itself was nice, there was a weird smell in the bathroom when we arrived, but it went away. The view was excellent from our sixth floor room of the downtown Miami area, but when you look down in the immediate area it's quite disappointing. Breakfast was quite chaotic, trash left all over the counters because the disposal couldn't be found, coffee was constantly out and very slow to be replenished, it just wasn't good. It seems like no one was there to anticipate something needing to be replaced. I wouldn't stay here again, but if you are in town for the hospitals or Marlins game it wouldn't be so bad.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the downtown area but not too close to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback on your stay at our hotel. The SpringHill Suites is located in an area that serves the hospital district, downtown, airport and the Port of Miami and Wynwood Art District. I am glad you enjoyed your room accomodations. I have shared your comments with our breakfast staff and thank you for providing us this information.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you have loved ones or business at Jackson Memorial this is the closest best place to stay. But it's frequently the most expensive. If you need to keep coming back and keep expenses down check the airport or the Doral section where hotels are sometimes better priced and the parking is free.

The good: rooms and public areas are always clean. The gym is well equipped. There is a bar! Free breakfast. Microwaves and fridges in all the rooms. DIY laundry. The staff are friendly.

The bad: $18 for parking -- if you are going to the medical center and won't be driving leave your car in any of the towers and walk. It's $8 a day there but no in/out privileges. The breakfast is always the same. They seem to always run out of coffee at breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we take all our guest comments and always look for ways to improve.
We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Was an hour waiting on the airport shuttle! Was informed by staff that they Do not provide shuttle service in a 3 mile radius as posted on the website I booked through( staff blamed website), Wound up paying for roundtrip cab fair to meet family for dinner. Booked our shuttle to cruise the next morning, received call from rude staff asking me to change times, advised this was the time we needed, asked to speak to a manager and was advised no manager on duty on Sunday nights. Not the best neighborhood and not worth the hassle!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAHD, General Manager at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback on your most recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry you did not recieve the level of service during your stay that you would expect from a Marriott hotel. When we spoke at the hotel, I could certainly understand your frustration and hope I was able to accomodate to your expectations given the circumstances. Once again, my sincere apologies. Your comments as you had communicated to me have been shared with our associates.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center

Address: 1311 NW 10th Avenue, Miami, FL 33136
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites By Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites by Marriott Miami Airport East/Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.