We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean suite rooms near the MIA airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice clean suite rooms near the MIA airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed one night before a cruise. Enjoyed the room as we had a good sized clean suite, with a good breakfast included. Shuttle from the airport (included) worked well. Taxi to the cruise port was approx $25.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    152
    34
    7
    6
See reviews for
148
106
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

The staff was delightful. We took the shuttle from the airport to the hotel. Very easy. The staff is really wonderful and very sweet. The room was very nice. I loved that they had extra blankets in the closet. The room was very clean. The accommodations were very good and I really liked them.
The only drawback was that I could not make the wifi work on my iPad. The Internet desk tried helping to no avail., so as many companies are switching from computers to iPads. I would make sure I stayed in a room with good wifi if I only had an iPad.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Jan 1 & 2, pre cruise, couple, desk staff were wonderful. Large area to relax in while we arrived early. Comfortable bed, spacious room, great internet, everything worked. Clean. The free breakfast, everything was dry, and the coffee was brewed way too strong. Marriott always has great coffee, not this one. There are restaurants not too far and a kmart, but it is a walk, and it is no Walmart. I do not think I made it to the pool or hot tub, I was so busy trying to get the last minute things we needed. This is not the hotels fault. Free parking as well, shuttle 11$ pp to cruise which is fine. I am not sure of the rate, we used points, and it is a lovely cul de sac with other Marriot properties. I did get to the hot tub and it was one of the best one I have ever been in, open 24 hours. The pool is at the other property, which you can use. As long as you have a car and can handle Miami traffic, or take a cab, it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awelc147, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Rainbow022
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel during your recent stay with us. I am delighted to know that you found our front desk staff wonderful, and that we were able to provide you a large area to relax in prior to checking in.

We are located in the same campus as a Marriott and a Courtyard offering two restaurants on site. I am delighted that you got to utilize the hot tub before you embarked on your cruise.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel prior to your next cruise.


Sincerely,


Alexandra Caceres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Close to MIA airport & shuttle is convenient.
Newish hotel & efficient reception staff.
Suite room pleasant though smallish, comfortable bed & enough facilities for an overnight stay.
Quite considering proximity to airport.
Breakfast had very limited tasteless offerings & crowded buffet area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awelc147, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear AussiScott70
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel from your stay in August, 2013. I am delighted to know that you found our location to be convenient along with our complimentary shuttle service.

I am sorry to hear that you feel our breakfast had limited tasteless offerings. We follow the corporate breakfast standards in our offerings and of course breakfast is provided complimentary every day.


Thank you again staying with us and for your comments.

Sincerely,


Alexandra Caceres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel using Marriott reward points (a $250 a night room). We didn't expect such a good hotel so we were very surprised by it.

Location is very good, on Le Jeune Rd right off Miami airport but not so close to hear the airplanes passing over you. You only heard them when they used one of the runways but very little traffic during our stay. Just off the 836 so it was a 15 minute drive to South Beach and almost everywhere in Miami. Parking is almost 20 bucks a day, but if you stay 6 nights or more you get a waiver on it.

The hotel itself is very nice, almost looking like new. We asked for a room with oven and we got a double upgrade, for being Platinum, to a bigger room with air purifier and oven. The room was very clean, with two TVs, a comfortable king bed and a big kitchen. The only drawback was the WiFi internet which was terrible. You could only get some decent connection if you were close to the room door, not WiFi signal whatsoever in the bedroom.

Breakfast was very good, with hot and cold options. The space was not so big but it could fit a great number of people.

The staff was very kind and attentive. From the upgrade given to searching for some missing packages which were delivered to us. Last but not least, we were given a 2pm late checkout which was great as our flight departed at 9pm.

Overall a great hotel, conveniently located in the middle of Miami with a quick access to anywhere, including the beaches. Good staff and modern rooms. Need to improve the WiFi which is kind of a must in today's world. Not cheap if you need to pay for it, maybe you could find better deals but a very good deal!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. Nice reception area, wide halls and rooms; small pillows and no extra pillows for the sofa bed. The breakfast was okay. The allergen free "pure" rooms have air filters.

The kitchen staff need to smile and be friendly.

We expected more from the category 4 hotel such as social hours for 4 out 5 week-days with beer and wine. But the service was available only for 3 days and no beer or wine for 2 of these days. The meat lasagna tasted awful and there is no vegetarian option available. On one of the days, the social hour was called "managers' toast special"; but there was nothing to toast with except cold cuts and bread. No fruits in the lobby area.

I mentioned these things since I have seen such amenities and nicer staff at category 4 residence inn.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awelc147, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear amynaadi1,
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel during your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you feel that your stay was less than you expected. We do follow the brand requirements with the amenities and our offerings for our guests.

As you mention we do offer our guests allergy free rooms, which do have the specific air purifiers in the rooms.

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments.

Sincerely,


Alexandra Caceres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel because we had an overnight layover in Miami and needed to be close to the airport. This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The lobby and the rooms are very nice, and the staff is very helpful and courteous. Our 12 hour layover turned out to be a nice mini vacation in Miami.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Miami
#35 of 115 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Address: 1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport South Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.