We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you ask for =)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #9 of 129 hotels in Miami
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What more could you ask for =)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

STARWOOD: GOLD
MARRIOTT: GOLD

For this stay i wasnt sure id be flying into FLL or MIA and only knew i was going to SunLife stadium the next night. Had the W Ft lauderdale booked for the next two nights and being an airplane geek i decided to stay near Miami Airport regardless of where i flew into. After some research of the rediculous prices on South beach and declining some beautiful options in the revived Downtown area it came down to what the best option right at the airport would be. I must say Residence Inn properties are really helping to win back some respect i was losing for the Marriott group. If you need to stay at or near Miami Airport for 1 or even many more nights THIS IS THE SPOT!

HOTEL: Five Floors, probably 200 rooms and on the Marriott campus which includes a full service Marriott and a Courtyard, FWIW the Marriott itself looks very dated from the outside. The three as a group are very secure and truthfully the area doesnt look bad anyway. This hotel has laundry, small weight room, common area for relaxing indoors and out, small pool with some privacy and complimentary Breakfast <winner< You will have access to the other Hotels/their restaurants and facilities by booking this property. Parking was $15-20 a night if i remember correctly.


THE ROOM: This is where Residence Inn really sets itself apart from the rest. Even the Studio suite here (smallest room) is over 500sq ft. I booked a studio and since i arrived early i did have to wait an hour or so in their comfy lobby. There were two flat screens to keep me company, they even brought me the remote =) Once checked in to my 1 room King bed suite 745sq ft i crashed but the room has the bedroom seperated from the rest of the room and someone sleeping on the pullout is also comfortable with their own TV. My guest said the pullout was very comfortable. As with all rooms in this chain you have a kitchen with all you would need for a long stay. Room and property were very new feeling and clean. They also offer a 2 Bedroom suite here which is nearly 1000sq ft.


THE STAFF: Cant say enough about the staff here, every single person was friendly, happy and out of their way to be helpful. Kudos to ALL of you

Was my Elite recognized? Yes, they worked with me on my rate and upgraded me. Since the rate comes with Comp breakfast i was all set for this one nighter.

I would HIGHLY recommend this property, the shuttle service from the airport took a bit but Miami is crazy for Ground transport so im blaming that more than the driver. The Hotel itself is great, near the airport and also not far from Downtown or the freeways for ventures to FLL, the Keys or South Beach. Be forewarned, a never-ending construction project on the freeways near the airport may cause some grief.

Special thanks to: Laura|David & Morgan for going the extra mile and helping this guest have a nice stay ;)

Room Tip: High Floor and go for the 1 Bedroom suite over the Studio, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awelc147, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Ryan,

Thank you for writing such a detailed and specific review about our hotel – you included absolutely everything!

I am delighted that you mentioned so many of staff by names, all of which will be publicly recognized and rewarded for their standard of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Miami and the Residence Inn.

Kind Regards,

Alexandra Caceres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    108
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
96
70
15
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We flew into Miami one day prior to our cruise on the NCL Epic. We booked a 2 bedroom suite here for the one night. We are a family with 3 adults and 2 kids so having two bedrooms, plus a sofa bed and two full bathrooms was very convenient.
There was even three flat screen tvs and a full kitchen. Everything was clean and nicely decorated. The young woman who checked us in was probably the friendliest of any hotel staff that we have encountered in a long time! She even gave my mother in law a hug when we said it was her birthday! Our room was ready at 2pm when we arrived which was great. We ate at Champions Sports Grill which is on site and it was great. We all enjoyed our meals and the service was good. There is a really nice large pool and hot tub here as well. It was so nice that the pool was heated to a nice warm temperature which are kids really appreciated! We had a lot of fun family time in there! The hot tub was very hot and my husband loved that! Overall a great place to stay while in Miami, especially for a
ore cruise stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awelc147, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review about our hotel. I am delighted to know that our two bedroom suite was perfect for your family prior to your NCL cruise.

We are located on a Campus where guests can take advantage of all of the campus amenities, such as the Sports Bar at Courtyard and Cane Fire Grille at the Marriott as well as, a fully licensed Starbucks a large pool and additional gym.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Miami and the Residence Inn.

Sincerely,

Alexandra Caceres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Idaho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night before a flight to the Caribbean. Very nice hotel with very large rooms right by the airport. Free breakfast was great and had many options including hot food. For one night before a morning flight this is the perfect hotel. The only negative I can say is that if you were here for multiple nights the noise from the airport with airplanes taking off would get annoying. It could get very loud, but for one night I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Miami Airport.

We appreciate you taking time out to review our property. It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; espcially the breakfast and our location.

We strive to provide quiet accommodations for our guests, however, due to our proximity of the airport, sometimes the sound of the planes can be heard.

We do hope that you stay with us again when you are in the Miami area. Please do not hessitate to contact us directly should you require any future reservations.

Best Regards,
Residence Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Its an amazing place for longer stay. I stayed in the hotel for almost 2 months and did not find any issue. its well situated on the main road and has vicinity to almost anything you need. The hotel staff is very courteous. the three different properties of Marriott share the same compound and thus make it more happening. for sure you will enjoy your stay here. The rooms have kitchennette attached which was very helpful for a long stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Miami Airport.

We are elated that you enjoyed your 2-month stay with us. We always aim to offer the best staff service to our guests and like to know that they enjoy our amenities and ideal location.

Please do not hessitate to contact us should you require any reservation requests.

Best Regards,
Residence Inn Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great Hotel with exceptional customer service. Property is very clean and well maintained with all amenities nearby within the other Marriott hotels. Great Breakfast as well.

Room was spotless with a very comfortable king bed. Will definitely return.

Marriott again has delivered in all regards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awelc147, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Freerain,
Thank you for writing a lovely review about our hotel and our exceptional service from my team. I am delighted to know that you found our hotel to be very clean and well maintained.

We are located on a Campus where guests can take advantage of all of the all the amenities, such 2 restaurants, gym and the shared pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Alexandra Caceres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

While the property was very convenient to the airport, it was not the best place to get a good night's sleep! The train whistle was very loud! The planes were lo.ud but not as loud as the train whistle!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awelc147, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Ron and Becky,

Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the proximity to the airport however I am sorry that you did not get an uninterrupted sleep.

Due to our proximity and the way the wind blows sometimes the sound of the planes can be heard. We pride ourselves on having quiet hotel suites so that everyone including our international customers and pilots in training can get a good night’s sleep.

There are train tracks servicing the airport approximately a mile and a half away, which leads me to believe that this is what you heard.

I do hope you will come back to our hotel so we can show you how quiet our rooms are.

Kind Regards,

Alexandra Caceres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in October. Check-in was a breeze and the employees were very friendly and helpful. We were addressed by name each time we passed by the woman at the front desk who checked us in; we thought that was nice. The room was very spacious and clean. The features are modern and the bedding was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was good as well. We did not have any issues with noise being so close to the airport. It is nice to be able to access the amenities at each of the three hotels. We enjoyed the daily happy hour specials at the sports bar at the Courtyard and also visited the pool area which the hotels share. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely look to book for future trips to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awelc147, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Jennifer,
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel.. I am delighted to know that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and our rooms spacious and clean.

We are located on a Campus where guests can take advantage of all of the all the amenities, such as Champions Sports Bar with Daily Specials or Cane Fire Grille, a fully licensed Starbucks, gym and the shared pool.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Miami and the Residence Inn on your futures trips.

Kind Regards,

Alexandra Caceres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Address: 1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport South Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.