We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #9 of 129 hotels in Miami
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pros:

Clean rooms
Good breakfast
Attentive Staff
Rooms are tasteful
Grounds clean
Great location to downtown and airport


Cons:

Front desk alerted us to recent theft from vehicles in lot. This made us weary as to the location
Front desk upgraded us to a Pure Air room. In my opinion it was not a true upgrade, as a platinum member I usually get upgraded to a suite and not to a standard room with pure air qualities. I actually had more allergy issues in this room and the running of the humidifier was noisy. I do not recommend this room or if offered a "upgrade" to tell them a standard room is not an upgrade.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet if you do not have a humidifier in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Miami Airport South.

We appreciate your feedback on your stay and are elated to know you enjoyed our hotel features such as the friendliness of the staff, proximity to the airport and hotel cleanliness.

We are a suite only hotel and when available, we provide our elite members with upgrades to our pure filtered rooms. We apologize for the noise from the filter and hope you give us another try to make your stay more memorable.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    108
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
96
71
15
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herriman, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable. They are standard for Residence Inn properties. The amenities are up to date and functional. The buffet area is small and not what I would expect from a Residence Inn. I was a little disappointed that there is no soda fountain. Beverages are limited for both the breakfast and light dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Miami Airport South.

We strive for all of our guest to enjoy their overall stay and are elated when feedback is received.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Currently, we do not have a soda fountain; however we do provide different fruit juices for breakfast.

We will look into improving the drink options during the evening social hours.

We value you feedback and once again, thank you for staying with us.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent hubby's birthday weekend in Miami. Stayed at the Residence Inn - did dinner at Cane Fire Grille (awesome service there). My only complete - there is no legroom in the bathroom between the door and toilet - it's an awkward fit.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Miami Airport South.

We are elated to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do not hessitate to contact us for future reservations should you be in the Miami area.

Warm Regards,
Residence Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We experienced a wonderful stay at the Residence Inn Miami airport for two nights prior to our cruise. We arrived on Friday evening after Thanksgiving and found the Marriott shuttle with 1201 on it after calling the hotel and realizing we went to the wrong place for pick-up.

Upon check-in, we were upgraded from a studio to a 1-bedroom suite (likely due to Marriott status). The suite was quite spacious and comfortable. We didn't make use of the full kitchen but it appeared to be well stocked. The coffee maker is always a pleasure to have (I generally bring my own coffee and condiments.)

Breakfast service was organized and clean. We thought they had a nice selection of fruit, yogurt, breads, pastries and even a waffle maker (my husband's favorite!)

Check out went smoothly as well. We had pre-booked the shuttle service to the pier for $11 per person which we felt was reasonable. The shuttle stopped at several ships and the driver assisted us with getting our luggage.

I would definitely stay at this Residence Inn again if we cruise out of Port of Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Miami Airport South.
We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; especially the room amenities and accessibility to the airport and cruiseport.

Should you be in the Miami area, please do not hessitate to contact us for furture reservations.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

In room lighting is wonderful. Clean, contemporary. Can be a little noisey from planes. Part of Marriott brands hotel cluster. 5 minutes from car airport car rentals. There is also a free airport shuttle. Wall Street Journal in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Miami Airport.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the hotel's decor along with amenities such as the complimentary airport shuttle.

Please do not hessitate to contact us for future stays should you be in the Miami area.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed on Dec 28th before a cruise. We used the airport shuttle to the hotel. We had a short wait, but then were driven straight to the hotel. It is one of several Marriott properties located next to each other. We did not have to wait to check-in, and were given a PureAir room. Everything was clean, and the room was quite comfortable. There were 4 of us in the room, our teenagers shared the pull-out couch bed in the living area, and we had the King. We did have quite a wait to get extra blankets/sheets for the pull-out, but they had told us that was one of the largest check-in days they have had. We asked for a late check-out, and they granted our request. We used a cab service 2x, and they called for it each time.
THe rooms have the full-kitchen, small table, couch, chair, TV that shares between bed/couch and nice bathroom area. The vanity/sink/closet are right outside the toilet/shower area.
They do have a shuttle service for the cruise ships, but it is $15/person. With our family of 4, it was cheaper to do the cab. The cab service was quick and lets you out right at the luggage area of the port.
I would recommend this hotel for business, personal or the quick overnight pre/post cruise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Miami Airport.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us; especially that we were able to provide a room upgrade and a grant a late check out.

Please do not hessitate to contact us should you require future reservations in the Miami area.

Thank you
Shalaka McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here one night prior to cruise, and one night post cruise. Huge difference in our experiences one week apart.
Excellent experience: Jan 11, 2013. Pleasant reception and greeting, Acknowledged appreciation to us for being Marriott members. Upgraded to a "pure" air room. Assigned room met our additional request (on line booking) of extra pillows & near elevators. Pleasant room floor plan as well. Reception staff also offered to note on our next reservation that we would be arriving early (post cruise) so they could have a room available for us. Of possible significance (?) is that I did pay for this reservation on my Marriott VISA.
The disappointing experience: Jan 19, 2013. We arrived at hotel about 11AM. Short line for check-in but were informed by reception desk staff that there would be 15-20 min wait. No smile or glad to have you here type greeting. Fine, no problem. We can wait a bit. In actuality, our wait for a room assignment was over 2 hours despite my rechecking 3 times during that period to make sure she had not forgotten about us. Several people that arrived after us had been given room assignments.Of possible significance (???) this reservation was booked online using my Marriott POINTS. Room was NOT what we had reserved: was farthest from elevators. Floor plan poor as bathroom toilet faced living room section and only way to close door was to squeeze in on with side of the toilet as door barely cleared the toilet. Very disappointing experience. Is this the way Marriott treats their "valued" customers if they use earned points?
Airport shuttle was efficient and pleasant. Nice breakfast with flavorful choices. Best sausage gravy & biscuits we ever had at hotel buffet! Nice lobby and public areas. Would have rated much higher if had not been for our disappointing 2nd stay.

Room Tip: Don't let them assign you rom 3502 on 5th floor. Awful floor plan....see bathroom issues (see 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Miami Airport South.
We regret that you did not fully enjoy one of your stays.

We strive to provide all of our guests with the earliest check in possible. However, this is not always feasible. I apologize that you had to wait for your room to be ready while having other guests check in before you. I will revise this issue with my desk agents to ensure that future guests do not encounter the same issue.

Additionally, I apologize that the level of service seemed lessened on your points stay.
This is not the case as we want all of our guests to feel appreciated and enjoy their stay; regardless of their booking method.

We do hope that you revisit us on your next trip to Miami.

Sincerely,
Shalaka McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Address: 1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport South Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.