We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Hidden' Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% This Summer!
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“'Hidden' Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We eventually arrived at the hotel after driving around for well over an hour looking for it and getting stuck in horrendous traffic. It is very difficult to see from the highway and if you are approaching from the direction of the car rental depot, accessible only after a U-Turn into a small arched entrance which is difficult to spot. We were in the worse mood!

Luckily we were greeted by Robert who was on duty when we arrived. He was so friendly and helpful and checked us in quickly, giving us an upgrade to an allergy friendly room. He made us feel so welcome we forgot about the frustrations of the previous hours. He deserves a big thankyou.

The room was excellent. free internet, smoke free. The air purifier in the corner of the room was obviously doing it's job as the room smelled fresh and clean. The bed was extremly comfortable with much better quality sheets than most hotels of this standard. The bathroom and vanity area was super clean with plenty of soft white towels. The kitchen was well stocked with a microwave, stove top, plates, cuttlery, glasses and pans if you wanted to prepare your own food. If not, you can visit Champions Bar at the Courtyard next door, the Cane Fire Grille or Stabucks all on the Marriott Campus.

The free Breakfast was very good with a selection of cold items - cereals, yoghurt, bread, pastries, muffins and fruit along with hot items - eggs, potatoes, ham and sausage. The service was good and the food was quickly replenished.

We enjoyed the allergy friendly room and really noticed the difference having the air purifier in the room. We would probably pay the extra $20 on the rate to secure one of these rooms if we stayed again. We sadly only had the one night as we were flying out of Miami that day, but we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a longer stay. We would return if we were in the Miami area now that we know exactly how to find this 'hidden gem'

Tip for finding the hotel - We discovered we were not alone when we couldn't find the hotel (several of the staff admitted they had the same problem when they first worked there!). It helped to find that NW 42nd Street is N Le Jeune Road. The hotel is difficult to see from the road so when on N Le Jeune, aim for the Fairfield Inn which is easy to see and almost next to the arched entrance to the Marriott Campus. Go through the barriers into the Marriott Campus and the Residence is at the back of the complex.

Room Tip: This is a smoke free hotel but for extra cleanliness choose an allergy friendly room for an extra $2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for staying with us.
We are elated that you enjoyed our "Hidden Gem".
Robert is an assest to our team and I will ensure that he gets recognized for making your stayover enjoyable.
We take pride in out PURE rooms; not only for our allergen free guests but for all those who require a more restful night's sleep.

We look forward to your return to the Miami area.
Once again, Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    143
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
134
102
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived late and needed a place to put our head down before an early flight out the next morning. I wanted a coffee but the Starbucks connected to the Marriott was closed. I asked what time breakfast would be the next morning and was told it started at 6 am. I had to leave for the airport before 6 am. After arriving at my room I received a phone call asking if the room was Ok. I indicated the room was great. It was very roomy and comfortable. The manager said he knew I wanted coffee the next morning so he would ensure his staff had some for me ready to go before I left for the airport at 5:30 am. This coffee had to be made especially for me. This is what I definitely call the personal touch and would highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Good Day and Thank you for your stay at the Residence Inn.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we also had the opportunity to personalize.

We look forward to your return to Miami.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Excellent hotel if you travel with children. Fully equipped kitchen makes everything nice and easy. Suites are large and clean. Friendly staff, very helpful with directions. We always loved Residence Inn and this one is no exception.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Good Day Shanille,

Thank you for staying with us.
We strive to achieve a residential feel for our guests and are happy when we are able to.

We look forward to your visit back to the Miami area.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Clean and good location.
Location near airport makes sleeping rough if not impossible. Wifi is also slow.
Pros:
Clean. Large rooms. Free dinner and breakfast. They are honest about noise from airplanes and trains.
Cons:
Noise, built with no sound proofing.
Lifetime platinum member.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Miami Airport Marriott and for being a loyal Platinum member with Marriott.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience of the slow internet speed. We are working to ensure that this issue does not persist and inconvenience future guests.

We look foward to your return to Miami.

Thank you,
Shalaka McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel have very nice comfortable and clean rooms and is adjacent to another Marriott property with a lounge and starbucks coffee store. Due to the traffic situation outside of the hotel area, it is sometimes greatly difficult to get to the hotel. Also, the automatic arms that one has to go through in order to park in the parking lot were acting up in June and it was a bit of a hassle to work through this process. Staff are usually prompt to accommodate residents when they can.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good Day Kate,

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return to Miami.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I was greeted by a very friendly front desk staff. My room was to be expected for a Residence Inn: very clean and pleasant. The hotel was near the flight line but it didn't keep from sleeping. The sheets must be 600 count because they were soo soft.
Parking is $12.00/night which isn't bad but, seriously? Paid parking and not on downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for staying at the Residence Inn Miami Airport.

We strive to provide excellent service to our guests and are elated when feedback is given.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us; and that the sheets were to your comfort.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Residence Inn.

We look forward to your return.

Thank you.
Shalaka McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Good Safe place to stay in Miami near the airport. Always really busy with pilots coming and going so that gets old. Location needs a traffic light. Very, very, very busy entrance. This hotel is the newest in the Marriott complex and it shows. Room is clean an well organized. Couple of loose fixtures show they aren't serious about maintenance though so don't know how long it will stay nice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalaka McFarla... M, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Good day,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Residence Inn Miami Airport.

We strive to ensure that our guests experience the best visit possible during their travels.
We take pride in upholding our cleanliness and guest satisfaction standards.
If you would be so kind to please provide us with the room number or public area which needed maintainance assistance?

We would like to address the issue so that none of our future guests will encounter the issue you experienced.

I look forward to hearing back from you.

Please feel free to contact me at shalaka.mcfarlane@marriott.com for future Residence Inn requests.

Regards,
Shalaka McFarlane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Address: 1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport South Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.