We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Bermuda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel has a shuttle to and from the Miami Airport that runs every 15 minutes. The staff are really helpful and friendly. The lobby was bright and clean. They have a continental breakfast in the morning. There are also 2 other hotel on the same property. The Marriott and the Courtyard Marriott if you want an upscale hotel. The Residence Inn is also for long term customers. Anything you want they would try to get for you. The pool is shared between the 3 hotels.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on a corner because sometimes the building might be blocking you view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM57515, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very fortunate to share this campus with the Marriott Miami Airport and the Courtyard Miami Airport. Our location makes us ideal for the Business traveler as well as the vacationer because we are just a few minutes away from both, Miami International Airport as well as the Cruise port. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again real soon.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    128
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
115
91
19
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

There was so much choice for our one-night stop at Miami, as a break between Orlando and the Keys. Should we stay near the airport or South Beach? I very nearly booked a place at the beach and then found this Residence Inn. We have had great experiences with Residence Inns, in Chicago and New York - so I really had no hesitation in booking. We love Marriott properties. We particularly love Marriotts because of their beds - we love the way you sink into them. So it is with heavy heart that I write this not-very-flattering review. I booked a studio suite as we prefer those rooms to the one-bedrooms suites; they appear to be more roomy and we don't need the extra privacy (it's just me and hub and our adult son). So, we arrived at the hotel and entered the plush, modern lobby, only to be told that we had been upgraded to a one-bedroom suite ... we were told there were no studio suites left. I guess the friendly lady at reception thought she was doing us a favour ... but if I'd wanted a one-bedroom, I'd have booked one (they aren't much more expensive). So, we made our way to our room and discovered that our one-bedroom suite was an accessible room, with an accessible bathroom which was depressing and poorly lit. Anybody with a wheel chair would never have managed to get past the bed into the bathroom, there was such little space. The bed was described as 'king sized', but I think that it was barely larger than a queen-sized bed. I'd like to think that perhaps it was the thunderstorm raging outside that coloured our view of the room - but there's no getting away from it - the bed was hard as a rock - and the pillows so soft that they squashed to nothing (I had asked for extra foam pillows, but they weren't in evidence). Our son also complained that the sofa bed was uncomfortable - he could feel the springs. The rest of the room was OK, but somehow below the standard of the Residence Inns we'd stayed at previously. We were disappointed. Our opinion didn't improve at breakfast. The food was well below par - potatoes mixed with meat of some description - and bacon that resembled salami. We were glad to leave and get on our way. In our rush, we handed in our room key before we'd swiped it to get out of the parking area and we had to pay twice for parking!
On a more positive note - the hotel, despite being at the airport, was very handily located. It was an easy drive into South Beach and an easy drive the other way to the Dolphin Mall.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM57515, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Miami Airport. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. At the Residence Inn, we take pride in providing excellent service and accommodations to our guest however, we fell short of your expectations this time. Fortunately, it is feedback such as this that allows us the opportunity to improve. We hope that you will give the Residence Inn Miami Airport another opportunity to create a positive memorable experience for you in the near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringgold
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Amazing hotel, along with great customer service. Easy access from Miami airport. Customer service was outstanding. Rooms were very clean and spacious. Loved this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM57515, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your recent comment regarding the Residence Inn Miami Airport "Amazing All Around". It is comments such as yours that motivates us to continue creating memorable moments. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Me and a few friends used this hotel for our pre cruise hotel. This was a great choice since it offered hotel pick-up, free breakfast, and we were able to use our Marriott Reward Points. The hotel was clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly. We had the king suite which included a seperate living area and kitchen. We also used the hotels outdoor gas grill to enjoy a pre-cruise bbq.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
214 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
418 helpful votes 418 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Free shuttle runs every 15-20 minutes to the Marriott Hotel Group "South Campus", which includes the Marriott, Courtyard, Residence Inn & Fairfield Inn, all located inside the same compound. Appears to be a newer Residence Inn & in excellent condition, with larger suites than we have gotten at some Residence Inn properties. Also discovered a plus by accident. If you exit the gated entrance to the hotel & walk across the street & left 1 block, you'll find Catch Of The Day restaurant, which was a great find. We felt like the only ones there who were not regulars. Great food & drink, with a nice outside covered patio. Good stop the day before your flight, or very relaxing if you are coming in from an international flight as we were.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Wonderful Hotel with clean and spacious rooms.
Great stay...Great Airport location...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at this very nice hotel, because we had a very early morning flight our of MIA. We really enjoyed it, very modern and clean. Other Marriott hotels nearby have nice restaurants and bars as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM57515, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport

Address: 1201 NW 42nd Avenue, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Miami
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Miami Airport South Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.