We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many gators and alot of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everglades Hummer Adventures

Everglades Hummer Adventures
17696 SW 8 St, Miami, FL 33194
8888934443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 181 Activities in Miami
Type: Off road/All Terrain Vehicle Trails
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Adventure begins here as we take you and your family on the experience of a lifetime! Hop in one of our Hummer H2's along with one of our trained professional Everglades Adventurist. Explore South Florida's most popular attraction and the world famous national park: "THE FLORIDA EVERGLADES". We will take you on the only luxury adventure of the Everglades, We operate the only off-road adventure with leather seats, and Air Conditioning! During your ride from the pick-up point to the Everglades you will see videos to inform you on the Eco-System and Wildlife you are about to discover. So sit back, relax, and be prepared to be amazed as we bring the Discovery channel to life!
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So many gators and alot of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

Had alot of fun with.the.friends. there airboats are am!zing

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    1
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best in Miami and great with the baby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

We booked a few trips I town and really wanted to do something in the Everglades. By far this was the best thing we did in all miami. They picked us up right from our condo in North Miami Beach and drove us to the Everglades all day in a nice comfy air conditioned hummer. A huge requirement trust me it's hot out there and alot of bugs. They guide wad awesome he was younger But took so much care of my 2 year old, put him in and out of the car seat and everything. At end of tour he gave my son a souvenir for free. I did see him using a phone But its hin GPS so they dont get lost in the envergases never saw him use for anything else. He was a very safe driver and you would have nothing to worry about. Do it u won't regret it

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hummer Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

This was one of the best expirience for me and my family. I had no idea that the hummers were able to do what this hummer did in our tour. I would recommend that when you visit Miami, you take a ride to the Everglades and take a tour. The staff were so polite and answered all of our questions.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very poor value, complete con to be honest!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This tour promised to be a luxury, 6 hour long version of all the standard 'tourist' tours (as their website puts it). Well, it was anything but. There was a review with similar problems to me on Trip Advisor, saying what bad value this was. The company denied that their tour boat was a cheap tourist one costing $23 that they didn't own...well, I can confirm that we were literally given a ticket for a cheap tourist boat costing $23 instead of the deluxe exerience we were promised! Coincidence?

There was supposed to be a 4 hour Hummer adventure, which was actually about 45 minutes spent on roads, 20 minutes spent at a gift shop (which nobody really wanted to go to) and 30 minutes driving very very slowly down a track for a few hundred metres, turning round and going back to the road. We saw two tracks. Excellent. Great adventure!

On the way back, with 6 people and him in the car, our very young driver was playing with his phone whilst driving. With a young child in the back of the car.

Then the boat...as I said, we were just dumped a place where they sold $23 boat rides and given a ticket. It was OK, maybe worth $23, but not what was offered on their website. It was barely half an hour long and there were 20-odd people on the boat. In fact, it was everything their website said it wasn't.

The last people to put this in their trip advisor review got told in a response by Hummer Tours that this 'can't be true'...if anybody doubts it please email me and I will gladly send you photos of the whole experience!

Oh, let's not forget, we were told that because we had booked through Groupon, the complementary hotel pickup was not available.

Groupon, however, were great; gave us our money back straight away.

Just don't waste a day of your holiday and certainly not $349 with these cowboys.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesHummer, Director of Sales at Everglades Hummer Adventures, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
You have to understand this was a special tour purchased through Groupon at a rate of $149. As you can see through everyone who purchased through us have nothing but 5 star reviews. We promise and Guarantee if you book a trip with us at full price and it is not 100% private we will refund the entire trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very poor value for money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Two words summarise our experience: DISAPPOINTING and OVER-PRICED. We wouldn’t go with this company again. And here’s why in more detail (please skip to the very last section if you don’t want the detail).

In March 2011, we went for the “4 Hour Off-Road Adventure plus Airboat Safari!”, after seeing that this company was rated number “1 out of 113 attractions in Miami” on Trip Advisor (had 10 reviews). In our party were 2 adults and a child (2 years old). We paid a total of $897 - $349 per adult & $199 for the child (as currently listed on their website at the time of this review - $100 less per person without air boat ride).

1. We were picked up by Dave (Sheppard?) at our residence in Miami Beach at mid-morning. Great yellow H2 Hummer, which sits 7-8 people. As agreed, there was a child seat in place, which worked very well for the long day ahead. So far so good. Very impressed by the Hummer and it was very comfortable.
2. Next, there was over an hour’s drive to the Everglades (traffic). We watched the DVD documentary, which was somewhat informative but not mesmerizingly so.
3. Once we got to the Everglades, the first 15-20 minutes was spent driving along SW 8th St, which is the road heading west out of Miami through Everglades Wildlife Management Area-Water Conservation Area 3B. Dave repeatedly and enthusiastically pointed out to us the alligators along the way. I have a medium telephoto zoom lens on a digital SLR camera, and still I could barely see them. I guess that’s to be expected along one of the main roads into the Everglades. Disappointing.
4. For the next 30 minutes or so, we took a reasonably well maintained ‘gravel dirt road’ that runs parallel to SW 8th St. If you look on Google maps, you can see a white looking gravel ‘dirt road’ across a parallel narrow body of water. We were just a little bit closer to some alligators, but still extremely far away in reality and nothing to shout about at all! This ‘dirt road’ is really a pseudo-off-the-beaten-track road, as 20metres to the left of us was SW 8th Street, a major trunk road with a continuous stream of trailers, trucks and cars running by. Disappointing. The only reasonably picturesque section we came to was an area where CSI Miami was supposedly shot.
5. For the next 30 minutes or so, we stayed on the ‘gravel dirt road’. The focus of this section was the 4-wheel drive capabilities of the Hummer – Hummer being driven up a small boulder (large rock) on one wheel & parking in that position for Dave’s suggested photo opportunities and Hummer going up and down very short 45-60 degree slopes. Whilst these are fun to do in a Hummer, it certainly doesn’t have anything to do with the Everglades (and you could be doing this anywhere in Miami, or the USA/world for that matter, as long as there is slopping rough terrain!). Therefore, it’s fun for Hummer anoraks, but has nothing to do with the Everglades!
6. For the next 30-40 minutes, we did finally go off the beaten track, and drove right into the heart of the Everglades. Road is supposedly a shallow body of water (river?) in less dry seasons, but was a muddy track on this occasion. Interesting drive for the first 10-15 minutes as very bumpy and unusual terrain. However, novelty wears off after a while as the grey looking terrain does not change throughout the 30 minutes and there are certainly no animals anywhere to be seen. In summary, interesting experience and worthwhile for the first 10-15 minutes. Nice to climb on top of the Hummer for a few pictures (even with our 2 year old child).
7. Lunchtime had come and gone. The ’30-minute deli sandwich picnic lunch’ that we were promised when we made the booking several weeks back never materialized, and was certainly never offered. We stopped by a café for a sandwich lunch at 3pm, which tasted good. This was the café at the airboat ride park (see next).
8. Finally, it was time for the airboat ride! This was fantastic, but was also the last straw with our host, Everglades Hummer Adventures. We had booked and pre-paid for a group airboat ride with this company. En route, Dave suggested we pay extra and go for a private ride for a better experience. At the time of the booking, I was told this would cost an extra $60 per person (i.e. $180 extra for 3 of us). Dave said we could slip $100 to the airboat driver instead, and get a private ride that he could organize at short notice. By this time, we were already rather disappointed with the trip thus far, and decided against paying more money. The airboat ride was at Everglades Safari Park (http://www.evergladessafaripark.com/), and we joined other members of the public on a ride carrying over 30 people. The airboat ride was great! Alligators within 2-3 feet of us, and really got to see the heart of the marshlands of the Everglades. Finally this is what we came for! After the boat ride, there was a fun & informative alligator show on land, which included the chance to hold a baby alligator, which even our 2 year old did! The BOMBSHELL was that some of the people around us paid about $20 per person (booked direct with the safari park). If you look on the park’s website, it’s officially $23/person (free for children aged 2 years). We had paid our Everglades Hummer Adventures $100 per person (for both adults AND our 2 year old child!)! That’s $300 instead of $46! More than 5 times more expensive! Without getting too emotional about it, that’s just an awful rip-off. And the airboat ride was the best part of the trip, run by the Safari Park without Dave or Everglades Hummer Adventures!

IN SUMMARY:
--------------------
(a) We are a very well traveled young family who live in London (UK), and have used private tour guides in more than 1 continent. Thus we’d like to think that this review truly reflects this experience, and takes into account what one should reasonably expect.
(b) Looking back, our main impressions of our day with Everglades Hummer Adventures are being driven around in a yellow Hummer through some bumpy roads without seeing anything spectacular, followed by a fantastic airboat ride (with another company – see above).
(c) You’ll enjoy this trip if you’re a serious Hummer enthusiast and want to spend a day being driven around in it, taking pictures with it, and don’t care about seeing the Everglades too much. Dave was more like a driver than a knowledgeable tour guide, who continuously checked on his iPhone throughout the entire day whilst at the wheel – certainly not the safe driver the other reviewers have suggested!
(d) Airboat ride is a must-do at the Everglades (even if you only do 1 thing!), but you can get it for $23 direct, rather than $100 through this company!
(e) Almost $900 for our experience? No thank you. This was an awful waste of money. You can rent a Hummer H2 online for about $250/day in Miami.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvergladesHummer, Manager at Everglades Hummer Adventures, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
This could not be TRUE as all Tours are 100% Private. We even have our own Airboats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Everglades Hummer Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everglades Hummer Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;