We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Urbano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Urbano to your Saves list
Hotel Urbano
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33129 (Coral Way)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

My friends and I stayed at the Hotel Urbano over Memorial Day Weekend due to the exorbitant prices of South Beach hotels over that holiday weekend. We got it for $109 a night per room, excellent deal for such a nice hotel, particularly in Miami. The hotel is located in a residential, quiet area of Miami called Brickell, a bit south of downtown. To get to downtown, we would just walk across the street and catch the B bus (48 runs only on weekdays) to 14th Street, and then hop on the MetroMover to take us around downtown. To get to south beach, we took the aforementioned MetroMover to Government Center and got on either the 120, C, or S bus which took us straight there. We would spend most of our time outside the hotel anyway so it's location wasn't an issue. We went to Bayside, South Beach, Jungle Island, etc. and when we were done made our journey back. As for the hotel itself, the service downstairs was outstanding, the people were very kind and nice. Also, the rooms were big and clean. Pretty much a four star hotel for a great price. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks so much for your review - we're glad you had a great time staying with us at Hotel Urbano. In addition to the bus, we now have a free trolley service that runs all around downtown Miami - and there is a stop directly in front of the hotel! HOpefully we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    160
    59
    13
    14
See reviews for
93
165
33
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Fantastic 3 story hotel situated amungst the huge buildings along Brickell Ave!
We booked our honeymoon very last minute (day before we left) and really picked this hotel as a place to sleep and a base for our suitcases before our cruise and we really scored! Much more than a place to sleep........very helpful staff, happy staff who say hello and actually want to help you, fantastic pool area with lots of comfy loungers and tables, fire pit with armchairs at night, great rooms which provide pool towels and stunning art everywhere. We arrived and as we only had 2 days in Miami before our cruise we hit the shopping mall asap. Hotel advised the best mall, opening times and arranged taxi - we were sent to the Aventura Mall and hotel advised nice places to eat in the mall. We hit the shops but because the hotel resturant was nice we decided to return to eat rather then pick up some food court food. Huge burger and ice cold corona sitting by the fire pit at the pool was exactly what we needed after a whole day flying from the UK and a whole night shopping in the mall (we got this level of service even at approx 11pm)!! Bliss!
Next day we were advised again by the hotel to hit Ocean Drive, where Dash Miami was and to head to Lincoln road after Ocean Drive for more shopping - all advice was briliant and we followed everything they said and had a great Miami experience! That night we challenged the hotel to find us a glam, fabulous place to have dinner and drinks as we were on our honeymoon! The receptionist called many many many places to find us somewhere who 1. was open on a sunday night 2.allowed non residents and 3. super glam enough. She kept in contact with us and she did not give up until she found us something! Great service! She found us the Delano and drinks by the pool at the pool bar. If you know Miami, you know what an amazing job she did getting us in there for dinner on the patio!
Transfer to our cruise was simple and the hotel arranged a flat rate taxi to take us to the port - all hassle free!
Thanks to the Hotel Urbano we had a fantastic honeymoon! Our hotel which started as just a place to sleep turned out to be brilliant and actually made the Miami 2 day stay before the 7 night cruise as memorable as the cruise itself!
Many thanks to Hotel Urbano from 2 very happy newlyweds xx

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Congratulations on your recent marriage! We're so happy you chose to stay with us before your cruise and are thrilled that you had such an amazing expereince with us. Should you ever return to Miami we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We just returned today from a stay at Hotel Urbano which is affiliated with Sterling Hotels. While the accommodations and the hotel grounds were very nice, the service is absolutely and undoubtedly subpar. We had difficulties from the time we arrived. Our reservation, which we had booked a month before directly through the hotel website could not be found. We did have a confirmation number and after some searching, it was located. We were told our room was not going to be ready until 3:00 pm (it was 1100am) but we could check in and leave our luggage. They swiped our credit card and all but they did not assign us a room. We came back to the hotel around 1100pm and were then told that one of the rooms was ready, but the other was not. For the other room not being available, several excuses were given. The first that it was not in the system (even though when it was finally found I did not have to provide my credit card or information again); the second, that we had shown up too late; the third, that they had water damage to some of the double rooms, that they had to be taken off line and that I would be given a room with a king sized bed and a sofa bed. When I expressed reservations about this arrangement, the front desk person simply said I could come and see the room and if was not to my liking I would be free to then make arrangements elsewhere. Seriously, at 1100 o'clock at night!! No apology was offered for the fact that if the rooms were truly out or order, it should have been mentioned at 1100 in the morning when we first arrived, not at 1100 o'clock at night. We were left wondering if the rooms were indeed out of order or if our room had simply been given away to someone else. My sister voiced a more forceful objection and they agreed to comp our breakfast the following morning. Between her and I, we switched rooms so my party of 3 went into the double room and her party of 2 took the king sized room. Sunday, the day of departure we stood in line for over 20 minuted to check out. The same guy from Friday night was there. When we reviewed the bill, we found we were being charged for valet on the bill for both rooms. We had traveled as a single party in one car even though we were split in 2 rooms. We explained this to the front desk person who did not take our word for it, but made us wait in line again until someone from valet came to vouch for our information. Check out took close to an hour!! Frustrated, my sister and I voiced our concerns regarding the poor organization and lacking customer service. The front desk employee became argumentative, deflected responsibility and we almost had to tell him to be quiet so he would listen to some constructive criticism we provided regarding how to make check in more streamlined for the customer as well as how to improve their customer service and customer experience. Although this hotel has good food, a great location and is nicely appointed, we will not stay there again and will not recommend it. Customer service is sorely lacking!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

The Hotel is excellent. Staff is wonderful and very attentive. The food at the restaurant is delicious. The room is very clean and modern. The bathroom is confortable, spacious and very clean. There is art everywhere. I had a wonderful time.

Tip: If you want to avoid parking charge, there is parking in the area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We're so glad to hear that you had a good experience...we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

A stylish boutique hotel in a quiet neighborhood, yet close to downtown and the causeway to Key Biscayne. Nice room overlooking the pool, friendly and helpful staff, and excellent menu served in a small dining room, at the bar, or outside next to the pool. I would highly recommend this hotel vs. the large, impersonal chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We're so glad to hear that you had a good experience...we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

I had an absolute great stay at Hotel Urbano! It could be a little closer to Mid-Town and SoBe but it was literally a $5-$10 cab ride. Just let them know you need a cab about 10 minutes before you need it.

As for the staff... SUPER FRIENDLY! Especially for Miami where we all know that hotel staff can be about as cold and stiff as any place in the world. They were coutreous, friendly, helpfull, and basically great.

I'd highly suggest staying here if you need to stay in Downtown Miami or are looking for a CLEAN and BEAUTIFUL little spot to stay just minutes from SoBe.

As for the Pool... no it's not that big but it's VERY nice and has great amenities. The rooms were super clean and decorated well. The bathrooms were very spacious as well. Over all, the hotel's decor was awesome. It's decorate dby local artists and the work for the most part is top notch.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We're so glad to hear that you had a good experience...we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

The hotel is new, and they are still working some kinks out, but we will definitely stay here again. Comfortably sized room, comfortable bed, great food, good staff.
Pros: food, bed, room, atmosphere, staff, pricing, comfort, location (if you do not want SoBe type atmosphere).
Cons: location is by the highway, and it can be noisy (not inside the rooms, though), still have some glitches to work out.

overall. we will return anytime to use this as a great place to see Miami!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We're so glad to hear that you had a good experience...we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Urbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urbano

Address: 2500 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coral Way
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Urbano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urbano is a stylish, urban boutique hotel with a resort flavor, well situated within the active Brickell Avenue Business District. The eclectic and relaxing ambiance of the inviting pool deck and innovative, savory cuisine from Bistro Urbano & Bar with indoor and outdoor seating create the perfect setting for both guests and local residents to mingle and meet. Conveniently located minutes from downtown Miami, Key Biscayne, Coconut Grove along with many of Miami's famous attractions such as Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Jungle Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Urbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Urbano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.