We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Urbano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Urbano to your Saves list
Hotel Urbano
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33129 (Coral Way)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here on two consecutive weekends pre and post cruise. On both occasions, we had a fantastic experience. The staff were so very attentive and the hotel is immaculately kept. The rooms are bathrooms are spacious and beds were extremely comfortable. We hung out by the lovely pool on the first day, which was perfect, as we were escaping the cold winter we have had.

The has a small boutique feel with very personalized service. Joe, the General Manager was very present and helped us with some personal recommendations.

We had breakfast here and the service was fast and the breakfast was delicious!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Miami!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your kinds words! We too think our little hotel is perfect for a pre and post cruise stay! We hope the cruise was lovely and that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    149
    54
    12
    12
See reviews for
90
155
32
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had a very nice 5 night stay at the Hotel Urbano. The hotel is about half a mile from the Vizcaya train station so my wife and I took the orange line from the airport and walked over to the Hotel. The staff were very friendly from the time we checked in, showing a genuine interest in our visit and recommending things to see and do. The Urbano is not really within easy walking distance of any restaurants or grocery stores, but it is within 10 miles of Miami Beach, downtown Miami, Coconut Grove and Key Biscayne. We rented bikes and that allowed us to easily get all around the city - we were able to bring them up to our room when we weren't riding and store them on the balcony overlooking the pool. There is a free trolley service that runs right past the hotel, this runs the full length of Miami and has spurs to Coral Gables and Brickell Key. while it is free, it does not run on a specific schedule so don't plan on using it to get somewhere at a specific time. If you stay I would definitely recommend paying extra for the pool view rooms - it is a very nice view and feels very private.

Room Tip: The Pool view is worth the extra dollars. Don't be concerned if you get the last room near the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
It sounds like you had a great trip! We love riding bikes and are happy you were able to do that while visiting Miami. Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay - we certainly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Arques, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 hours as a base, whilst waiting for our London flight. The location, by a main road and flyover, is hardly ideal but both inside and outside the hotel you do not really notice. We received an indifferent welcome initially but the staff and, especially Katrina, warmed to us. Spacious room with very large walk in shower and good toiletries. Art around the hotel is colourful and modern but, overall, the decor seems rather dark.

The pool area is small but lovely - well kept, nice seating and covered gazebos and a good deal of space made this area very pleasant to pass some time. Bar prices are not cheap - 17$ for a glass of white wine - the same as the Ritz Carlton, Miami South Beach

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to review your short visit with us - we hope you had a nice flight back to the UK and that we have the chance to welcome you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Upon entering hotel staff was great, friendly & accommodating. The interior was undergoing renovations but they did not interfere with our stay. Rooms were clean & beds were comfortable. Outdoor pool/bar area was perfect for relaxing. Would recommend HUM to a friend & would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks so much for review your stay with us - we appreciate the feedback! Our hotel has not gone any renovations in the past month - perhaps we were making a small repair? We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We visited Hotel Urbano for a mini family reunion. It was a great experience for our 5 children and our families. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very accomodating and pleasing to communicate with. The bar area had delicious meal options and the service was great. The pool area was relaxing and peaceful. Our children enjoyed the pool to the fullest. In the evening they lit the firepit and it's the perfect way to end your night. Hotel Urbano is in a great location and very family friendly. We highly recommend this hotel for location and price for the area. We will definitely be visiting again. Thank you Hotel Urbano staff for a great weekend for our family and we look forward to our next visit!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! It's great to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy our lovely pool area - especially the kids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Out visit to Miami was fantastic and it all started with the wonderful staff at Hotel Urbano. They were friendly and helpful. Jerrell in particular stood out. He was extremely helpful in finding places to go. He even printed out directions and reviews from the Internet. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your kinds words! Jarrell is great, and we're so glad he was able to help you out - We appreciate your comments and hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Pool area is probably the highlight of this hotel, it's small but very attractive and well kept, and the fire pit is a nice touch.
The rooms are smallish, we only had a shower (no tub ) in ours and the bed was a little on the hard side; the aircon unit pretty much sounded like a small plane landing, but then lots of them do.
I'd requested a quiet room location as we're light sleepers and had deliberately chosen to be away from central miami / south beach to get away from the worst of the noise. The manager had kindly allocated us a room away from the expressway, although still road facing, and we didn't have any trouble with noise either from the road or within the hotel, although the A/C unit would probably have drowned quite a lot of that out anyway!

One big grumble though, is the way they handle parking. Like a previous reviewer, I don't believe in paying for hotel parking either (another reason for avoiding south beach) and I arrived armed with his tips for finding free street parking. When i told the lady on the checkin desk that we were planning to park on the street, she said something along the lines of it's a residential area and "they" tow parked cars away regularly. I said i was pretty sure there were areas which didn't need permits or decals, and she said *categorically* that this wasn't the case, everywhere did, and basically tried to scare us into using the valet service.

We said we'd drop the car on the way back from a beach trip, and duly went off to check out the nearby streets. Sure enough, there is a large section of S Miami Ave a short block away which is perfectly fine to park on; the top section near to the Brickell village DOES have signs up stating residential only, but the section near the hotel doesn't. We parked there for four days / nights with no issues, in fact we got the same parking space which was the physically nearest to the hotel probably 8 times out of 10 we returned. No other cars had decals, and I even checked the Miami Dade County parking website which told me that you can't be towed unless there are clear signs stating that you will be, who the operator is and how to recover the car.
Anyway I didn't really trust the staff after that. It'd be one thing to say that they just weren't sure whether decals were needed and we should be careful, but what we were told seemed like deliberate lies and scaremongering to get the extra money off us! Plus, the parking lot is directly behind the hotel so if it wasn't just a money grabbing exercise they could easily offer a reasonably priced self parking option.
There's also no breakfast provided (could be a coincidence that it's a long walk to the nearest alternative option, but based on the above i doubted it!) and although the food is fine, by the time you've included tax and tips you'll be looking at a $40-50 bill. After the first day we went to the Publix at Brickell Village and got a few yoghurts and muesli bars instead.

All in all, nothing special for the price, but this is a decent option for an area that's expensive to start with. I'd stay there again if i returned. But i'd have enjoyed it a lot more if they'd been more helpful about the parking, and provided at least free tea and coffee at breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us - we are very grateful for the feedback and are happy to hear you will return and stay with us again.

Regarding valet parking, it is certainly true that if you park (without decals, which we assume all visiting guests do not have decals) cars will be towed from those restricted residential areas. Because this has happened on occasion to our guests, we do not advise to park on the street for several days. We are confident our front desk staff was simply trying to make you aware of that, and not trying to scam you in anyway - dealing with a towing company is not a good experience!

Having said that, we're glad you did your research and found a spot on the street and that it all worked out in the best way possible.

Please drop us a line at sales@hotelurbanomiami.com next time you are heading to Miami, and we will be happy to assist in making your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Urbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urbano

Address: 2500 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coral Way
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Urbano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urbano is a stylish, urban boutique hotel with a resort flavor, well situated within the active Brickell Avenue Business District. The eclectic and relaxing ambiance of the inviting pool deck and innovative, savory cuisine from Bistro Urbano & Bar with indoor and outdoor seating create the perfect setting for both guests and local residents to mingle and meet. Conveniently located minutes from downtown Miami, Key Biscayne, Coconut Grove along with many of Miami's famous attractions such as Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Jungle Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Urbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Urbano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.