We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Urbano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Urbano to your Saves list
Hotel Urbano
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33129 (Coral Way)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I were very satisfied with this lovely hotel. Great service, great food and felt like pool area belonged to us. Trolley was available to transport you to shopping areas at no charge. Noticed if there was a problem they would change rooms or give a free meal or drink.
M.Albert

Room Tip: Some rooms face a road. Might want to check if an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review - we apprecaite the time it takes to log into the site and do this while or after you are traveling - so thank you! The trolley is such a great addition to our neighborhood - and we're glad you had a chance to check it out - we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    166
    61
    14
    17
See reviews for
96
175
35
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

On the positive side, this hotel is in a good location in terms of the distance to downtown and Miami Beach. The pool is very nice, and the staff are friendly and helpful. I also had a nice breakfast at the hotel restaurant. On the negative side, the rooms are small and awkwardly laid out, and the hotel fronts Brickell and backs up to an elevated highway, both of which can get noisy. My main issue, however, is the price. It is just too expensive for what you get. It appears to be a nicely converted motel, but they certainly are not charging motel prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we appreciate it. We're so glad that you enjoyed our Bistro breakfast and found the location and staff high points of the visit! Regarding our rates, January through March is high season here in Miami - perhaps next time you visit you can stay again with us over the summer months when the rates are a little less. We apologize you found it too expensive in that regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel is near by city centre, about 30m from the bus stop (free public transport). Staff really friendly, nice pool open until 11:00 pm. Problem was in the room 314, you have the highway direct opposite the window (10m distance). But no problem to change the room.

Room Tip: Rooms 304-325 could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your review - we appreciate your visit and the time it takes to visit Trip Advisor. We're glad to hear you found the hotel staff freindly and our location to be a good one. I apologize that you expereinced some noise on the thrid floor, but am glad to hear we were able to change your room right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
295 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel seems to be a remodel of a Motel 6 facility with very small rooms, small closets, no HD TV, and average amenities throughout. We had to wait through several cycles to get a cup of coffee (they ran out twice in a 30 minute period). The pool, cabanas, waterfall and fireplace place area outside were nice but once you got inside, things were different. The common areas and rooms could have used a little more attention and a newspaper would have been a nice touch.

The two positive feature were: 1) the willingness of all of the staff members to make the stay comfortable. These folks were some of the nicest and sweetest people we have met in our travels. Very kind and most friendly, and 2) the location is in a nice residential area and close to downtown and all the fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to Hotel Urbano. We are sorry to hear that you found the hotel to be "average" as we certainly strive to be much more than that. We are a boutique hotel, so if you are used to the size and amenities of a larger chain hotel it is a different experience though, we do have newspapers in the lobby every morning in both Spanish and English languags.

On a positive note, we are delighted to hear that the staff was amoung the best you've encountered and found the location desireable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our first impressions were when we were greeted by a very friendly parking attendant that helped us with our luggage. The main lobby has a real cool funky look and there was a DJ playing on Friday night. From the people at the front desk to the bartender at the in-house bar and restaurant (available poolside), everybody was more than accommodating and friendly, and made us feel extremely comfortable.

This is a pet-friendly hotel that accommodated our big dog. All the staff were great with him, even bringing him treats!

The pool area is like your own private grotto with comfy couches under gazebos with an awesome outdoor gas fire pit.

South beach is a 15 minute car ride and a $25 cab ride away.

There is a free trolley service that stops right across the street that will take you right into the entertainment district for free and runs until 11 (but 10:30 the night we were out, you can walk back though in about half an hour).

We travel quite an bit and only stay 4-5 star and these guys are 4-stars, easy. It's almost like you live in a nice neighborhood of Miami.

Room Tip: Half of the rooms face pool and half face the road. Pick the pool ones as pool activity is pretty l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks so very much for such a fabulous and kind review of your first visit to Hotel Urbano! We love hearing that our staff made you feel welcome and "at home" - especially to your pooch! We also love that you felt like you were living in a nice Miami neighborhood - that's our goal and we're so glad you enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We liked the design element to this hotel - funky artwork a la Picasso and Dali dawning most of the walls... it really does make all the difference. Our room however was much smaller than expected and although a "pool view" room it mostly just looked out onto a concrete wall (it was at the corner of the building). We paid $300 per night (New Years prices we expect) which is more than we would ever spend anywhere else, so we had hoped it would be really nice - compared to those expectations, it was quite basic and cramped.

When we asked at reception for a taxi to Miami Beach the receptionist basically told us it would be impossible since it's such a busy night (new years eve) - he said he had called every company in town and that none were picking up. We weren't totally sold he was really trying though so we walked outside and asked the concierge guy, who had a cab waiting for us within 5 minutes... go figure. The same receptionist was quite useless the next day again when we asked for help... we had left some food in a plastic lunchbox in the fridge after checking out and had hoped to retrieve it, but he just checked the system, told us the room had already been cleaned, and that we had no chance. It would have been nice if he had checked with housekeeping, since it was in a tupperware tub so they may not have thrown it out... a bit frustrating by all accounts.

Miami beach was about a 15 minute cab drive away, traffic permitting. Not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, so chances are you'll be using the cabs (although apparently there is a trolley service nearby too - we didn't use that).

All in all, we would stay here again if it was the cheapest of the available decent options. If there were other good looking alternatives though we might try them, in the hope of a larger, better value room and perhaps better service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We so appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our hotel is boutique in size with only 65 rooms and are glad that you liked the design, decor and art work - we are very prooud of our art collections. As you mentioned, New Year's Eve is an extremly busy time in Miami so the rates to reflect that - and we are happy to hear that our staff was able to locate you a cab on short notice. Wishing you all the best for the new year and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend with my friends. Great location in downtown Miami, very close to everything. We were out partying every night, and needed a place to crash. This hotel worked out great for us.

Room Tip: They just renovated the hotel, so all rooms are pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbano33129, Director of Sales at Hotel Urbano, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words - we're glad you enjoyed your weekend in Miami and that you enjoyed the time you had at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Urbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urbano

Address: 2500 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coral Way
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Urbano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Urbano is a stylish, urban boutique hotel with a resort flavor, well situated within the active Brickell Avenue Business District. The eclectic and relaxing ambiance of the inviting pool deck and innovative, savory cuisine from Bistro Urbano & Bar with indoor and outdoor seating create the perfect setting for both guests and local residents to mingle and meet. Conveniently located minutes from downtown Miami, Key Biscayne, Coconut Grove along with many of Miami's famous attractions such as Miami Seaquarium, Vizcaya and Jungle Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Groupon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Urbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Urbano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.