We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Vistas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleta River State Park

Oleta River State Park
3400 NE 163rd St, Miami, FL 33160
305-919-1846
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Type: Parks, Biking Trails, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These trails, built on flat land, are full of technical challenges.
North Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful Vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

In the beginning of June 2014, my girlfriend and I came to Oleta to have some good outdoor fun. Recently moving into the area, we wanted to see if this Park was worth coming to.

Oleta offers Mountain Biking trails - 15 miles of them we were told. You can rent the bikes from the park at a reasonable rate. Note: You can also rent beach cruisers, but the available riding area is pretty limited.

In addition to the biking, you can rent Single and Tandem canoes. These are rented hourly, and there are a number or little streams you can paddle through which lead to the inter-coastal waterway.

Many pavilions are available for having an outdoor gathering - some nestled back into the mangroves, others right on a small beach swimming area.

Overall, the park was pleasant - albeit a bit loud with the weekend festivities that were taking place at the pavilions. I would suggest taking a ride by Oleta if you're within 45 miles for a good day in the outdoors.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    75
    18
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“sunday nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

my husband and I went to oleata river state park today (sunday) to paddle board because it was recomended by several friends.I done have any positive feedback, none at all. It is super crowed with people, boats, jetskis, low music, awfull smell, garbage all over the beach and the island, and the cherry on top of the cake "blue moon" charges you very expensive rentals, more then 70 Usd for 2 SUP.just to finish a lady that seamed to be the managr or the owner as very rude with us, when asked ffor directions.I DO NOT RECOMEND THIS AT ALL even if it was for free.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend birthday getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I rented a cabin for the weekend of May 16, 2014 and we really enjoyed it. I am not an outdoor person but the water was so calm and nice that I decided to do some kayaking and absolutely loved it. The cabin itself was very cozy, clean and had a great A/C.
It was a great camping experience and I strongly recommended to everyone. Oleta is close to Miami but once you are inside the park, it seems that you are in another world. Piece, quiet and nature don't even begin to describe it........

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Peddle Board Rent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Oleta River offers a number of different rental options - bikes, kayaks, peddle boards etc. I rented everything and would like to say that peddle board was my best choice. I just loved this experience! I will highly recommend trying peddle board - this is one of my favorite water activities now!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for a Family Outing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spontaneous kayaking trip at Oleta with a few friends. Rental is cheap if you split the tandem and there's a park admission fee . Our kayaking trip only took us 1.5 hours from starting point, across the instracoastal, rest stop at an island beach and back to starting point. Dolphins can be spotted if you're lucky.

The park was packed on Memorial Day so be sure to arrive early if you'd like to find good parking and/or BBQ spot on a holiday.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleta River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oleta River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleta River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.